stitching DP2m

Dan Daniel

Well-known
Local time
4:32 AM
Been playing with stitching together DP2m (and DP1m) images. THis is four vertical frames, shot on a tripod and rotated with overlap. This is just the out of camera jpgs; I've done some X3Fs converted to tiffs and stitched, which lets me pull the sky back in and leads to silly levels of detail, something you'd never see on the internet.

28742868172_be9e05480a_o.jpg

Great. Clearly one of the potentials for Foveon files is to emulate the big negatives of much bigger cameras.

I have not ventured into stitching territory except with actual needle/thread on torn pants. Would you mind describing your process, in SPP and whatever you use for tiffs?

I second that. Give us a rundown on your process if you don't mind. I'll break out my DP3M and try to follow along.

Well, I'll try. I am new to this so there are things I am still trying to understand.

Camera in Manual mode. Watch the metering over the scene to see the lightest area. Take images in simple sequence, moving camera maybe half a frame or a bit less coverage per shot. I think Photoshop recommends 40% overlap.

Be certain to overshoot, meaning go a half frame or more outside of where you think the image is. Stitching leads to some weird warps and bends and I'm finding that it's much better to have too much and crop than end up trimming off a tree or building because of the stretches and such.

Things I do not understand yet: Should I lock white balance? Since I am going to B&W I haven't worried about this. I have noticed color variations between frames, but when stitched this seems to be lessened.

I also don't understand changing exposure in a series. I need to get a handle of this. When the sky is in the frame and there are trees in shade, I can end up with a +2.0 to -1.7 range in the recommended metering. I need to test how the stitching handles exposure variations.