Monopod & Air Travel

Flyfisher Tom

Well-known
Local time
4:09 PM
Since 2001, has anyone had trouble with CARRY-ON of a monopod during air travel?

I never travel with checked luggage, and don't wish to show up at the airport only to have to check the monopod.

Thanks in advance.

Another reason to get a telescoping walking stick. Fake a limp. Nobody's gonna make you check your walking stick, are they?

If a person uses a walking aid such as a cane, he or she will be permitted to bring it on board. The cane is checked carefully by security, to make sure it is not a sword-cane, and I don't know what they will do if they discover a threaded mount for the tripod bush on the stick. I have had to use a cane at various times, due to a skin disease, and I used to travel for a living. A cane is ok.

Best Regards,

Bill Mattocks

bmattock said:
If a person uses a walking aid such as a cane, he or she will be permitted to bring it on board. The cane is checked carefully by security, to make sure it is not a sword-cane, and I don't know what they will do if they discover a threaded mount for the tripod bush on the stick. I have had to use a cane at various times, due to a skin disease, and I used to travel for a living. A cane is ok.

Best Regards,

Bill Mattocks
On the Tracks Sherlock, the walnut knob on top screws onto the threaded mount. I'm not sure what one could do about the metal spike underneath the rubber foot, however.

richard_l said:
On the Tracks Sherlock, the walnut knob on top screws onto the threaded mount. I'm not sure what one could do about the metal spike underneath the rubber foot, however.

Yeah, I suspect that might be a problem. They did put my cane through the x-ray, everytime. One guy nearly destroyed my cane by twisting on the handle, trying to 'take it off' to remove what he thought was a hidden compartment.