Egypt Trip Lens Advice

Listak

Spastic Rookie
Local time
6:09 PM
Gents,

I'm off this November for the trip of the lifetime taking a boat up the Nile to see the sights and I just realized today that I only have a 50mm 1.4 ASHP for my MP. Being a rookie I haven't collected another lens yet. Given that most, if not all of you, have more time behind a Leica than I do, do you think I should invest in a 35mm for this trip? I envision great shots of Pyramids and temples as well as close up shots of wall paintings.

To date I've used my MP for one other trip in Hong Kong. I took great street shots and skyline shots and didn't feel restricted by my 50mm but this is a little different.

Just looking for groups collective advice.

As a fan of both rangefinders and"Evil SLR's", I recommend in addition to your MP you take along a SLR and telephoto for shots along the banks of the Nile from your boat. I took my Bessa R2 with 35mm Skopar and a Nikon SLR with 70-300mm zoom on my Egypt trip 2 years ago and could not have gotten the great (to me) shots of life along the river w/o the zoom. Good shooting!

I'd get a Heliar 15mm lens - greal lens one should never leave home without! (takes some practice though)

I recommend a 24-35-50 combination. You have a fast lens already, so the 24/35 don't have to be fast lenses. A small P&S with a sharp lens is useful too. Egypt is a wonderful land to visit and to photograph. I may get such a chance next year.

For outdoor shots, 50 and 90 are fine, 135 in place of the 90 is good too.

For shots inside the pyramids and temples, a 24 mm is recommended, along with high speed film as flash is not allowed.

Cover every lens with a filter, it's dusty!

Polarizer is a must to get deep blue skies as a background for the pyramids.

Incident light meter could be useful in case desert is too bright and fools your built-in meter.

Be prepared with lots of baksheesh.

Last edited: