Another Sigma DP-1 Review: Shutterbug

bmattock

Mentor
Local time
8:03 PM
http://www.shutterbug.com/equipmentreviews/compact_digicams/052908sigma/index.html

Sigma DP1; A Compact “Full Spec” Camera

George Schaub, May, 2008

A funny thing happened to me while I was shooting and reviewing the new Sigma DP1 compact camera in New Mexico. I had taken a lunch break in a local taqueria and in came a couple that sat down at the next table. Next to the guy’s backpack and hat he set down the Sigma DP1. I did a double take, and asked him how he liked it. “Great,” he said, “the picture quality is terrific, although it does make you think.”

Click the link to read the rest.

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif].......Because the lens is fixed focal length there is no vignetting problem......[/FONT]

You can learn a lot from the article

Not half as puzzled as I am, and I've been writing for 'em for 20 years. My wife's response is the same: this is a very strange comment. She's been writing for them since '92.

Cheers,

Roger

It's "Bob Shell Derangement Syndrome". The man is no longer the editor. I don't hold his it against those who work there for the sins of a former editor.

Dear Al,

Bob photographed young women (very rarely under 18, because of US law -- the paedophilia charge is nonsense). Although Bob is a dear friend, I have to admit that I preferred almost all his other pictures to his nudes (and, far more usually, semi-nudes).

Besides which, there were really very few of Bob's nude pics in the magazine. Anyone who was offended by them would have had to WANT to be offended, and to look quite hard to find enough pics to be offended by them.