Oh Man! Plaubel Makina III! Back to RF.

Nokton48

Mentor
Local time
5:39 AM
I've been collecting and using the Plaubel Makiflex LF SLR for thirty years. I have always wanted a nice Makina III (the film backs holders and some other accessories are interchangeable between the two cameras). These are not the modern black Makinas, that seem to get all the attention. In it's day this was an expensive luxury product, and not too plentiful. Built like a Leica, but a very old one.

Here is what I just bought. Can anybody help me identify the actual model I have? Is it a III or IIIR? Where can I get an original instruction book? Any other tips? A folder will be cool to easily carry around, can't do that with the Makiflexes! :eek:

Here is my new to me Makina III: http://www.ebay.com/itm/391232755405?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Thanks Guys! Can't wait to get it. This will open some interesting options for me.

Crumbs haven't looked at these for years... but from memory, the flash sync connector at the bottom right side of the front panel (as you gaze upon your latest love, and not as point her at somebody else) and a compur rapid shutter with 1/400 top speed is a IIIR. (But its saturday night, so don't take that as gospel).

Instructions.... http://www.cameramanuals.org/prof_pdf/makina.pdf

As we say in Hong Kong.... please enjoy!

OK Thanks for that.
My shutter goes to 1/200, I'm thinking it is a Makina III not IIIR?
I am good with having a III.
The 100mm F2.9 lens has no red dot, so not coated?

This will be fun to use.
I know some people don't like the rendering of the 100mm lens but I have seen some wonderful work done with them.

Ah yes,... yours has a compur shutter ("compur" on the front panel). So it's a III. See bottom page 6 in the instructions. Apologies, but can't help on the lens coatings

Ah yes,... yours has a compur shutter ("compur" on the front panel). So it's a III. See bottom page 6 in the instructions.