Ableism in camera manufacture rant

Phil_F_NM

Camera hacker
Local time
4:36 PM
Just like the title of this thread states, I want to bring up ableism in photography, particularly camera manufacture and support. I just finished a conversation with a Nikon rep who was happy to sell me a camera but couldn't do anything to suppply me with a few buttons for a point and shoot.
Backstory: I am in the final few months of my master's degree, studying Art Therapy and Counseling, and I'm a clinical intern at a rehabilitation hospital. Most of my patients have survived spinal cord injuries, stroke, or traumatic brain injury. These injuries leave people with not only outwardly apparent disabilities but also with a dimished ability to communicate and express themselves. That said, more often than not, the desire for expression is there, communication is a human social perogative. The "voice" however it is expressed, wants to be heard as we are all social animals.