Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Olympus RF

Olympus RF This forum is for the Olympus rangefinders.

how do you use olympus rc with flash at 1/500?
Old 09-24-2008   #1
gerbilthemistake

how do you use olympus rc with flash at 1/500?

Hey everyone,
i've got an oly rc and some no name flash and was interested in pairing them up together. i read that when you set the aperture ring to flash mode that the shutter speed should be set at 1/60 and the aperture is automatically selected depending on point of focus. What do you do though if you want to set the shutter speed at a different speed and still get correct exposure? I have no knowledge of flash photography so any help would be appreciated.

Old 09-24-2008   #2
kully
Happy Snapper

When you set the aperture ring to the flash symbol and set the GN dial to the GN of the flash you are using the RC stops down the aperture according to the distance you have focussed at.

If your flash has a metering cell, see what aperture you should be using from the back of the flash - it will tell you and then set that aperture, you can then set whatever speed you like on the speed dial.

The RC does look quite odd with a big Vivitar 285 on it

I sold my RC a while back, I can't remember whether I had to use a PC-sync cord or it had a hot-shoe...

Old 09-24-2008   #3
KoNickon
Nick Merritt

Here's a Wikipedia writeup of the basic rules on the relationship among aperture, distance to the subject, and the power (guide number) of the flash unit: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guide_number

The trick is knowing what the guide number is of the flash you have -- and that may prove difficult to figure out if it's a no-name flash. Is there any kind of exposure table on the flash itself? If so, I'd stick with the recommended flash coverage distances and apertures provided there.