Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Olympus RF

Olympus RF This forum is for the Olympus rangefinders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Olympus 35 LE
Old 07-15-2007   #1
howpow
Registered User
 
howpow's Avatar
 
howpow is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 82
Smile Olympus 35 LE

Hi Folks. I just picked up a Oly 35 LE. It appears to work OK but the vierwfinder is very cloudy. My problem is that I cant see how to remove the top as the shutter button is in the centre of the advance lever and I cant work out how to remove it. Also any info on this camera would be appreciated as they are fairly rare and there is not much info on Google.
Thanks, Howard
__________________
Howard
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-15-2007   #2
Trius
Waiting on Maitani
 
Trius's Avatar
 
Trius is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rochester, NY & Toronto area
Posts: 8,253
Howard: I think Rich Silfver may have an LE, so you may want to send him an email. (He hasn't posted here since March, so may not be monitoring the site.) I have an LC that is jammed so I may have to take it apart; if that yields any clues I will let you know.
__________________
My Gallery Flickr
Fine grain is a bourgeois concept

Happiness is APX100 and Rodinal 1:100

A bunch o cameras. Does it really matter?
And NOW ... Fuji X-Pro1 w/ 18-55, 18/2 & adapted Zuikos and Hexanons
http://zuikoholic.tumblr.com
https://www.instagram.com/e.r.dunbar/
http://weedram.blogspot.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-15-2007   #3
howpow
Registered User
 
howpow's Avatar
 
howpow is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 82
Hi Trius. Thanks for the reply. I'll drop him an e-mail. Intersting camera!
Howard
__________________
Howard
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-16-2007   #4
shadowfox
Darkroom printing lives
 
shadowfox's Avatar
 
shadowfox is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,804
Howard, if you managed to rig the battery for this camera from a commonly available substitutes, please inform me about it.

About removing the top, just in case you haven't check, this forum is very helpful:

http://www.kyphoto.com/cgi-bin/forum/discus.cgi
__________________
Have a good light,
Will


  Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-2007   #5
howpow
Registered User
 
howpow's Avatar
 
howpow is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 82
Hi Shadowfox. I have traced an apparent replacement battery. It is a A1PX. I've ordered a couple through the mail and when they arrive I'll test them and post my findings. BTW I managed to remove the top OK. I had to improvise with bike tube rubber and pliars but it all worked out OK.
regards, Howard
__________________
Howard
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-01-2007   #6
howpow
Registered User
 
howpow's Avatar
 
howpow is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 82
Just a follow up. I received the A1PX battery and although it fits perfectly the results are massive overexposure. However I tried putting a PC640A and a PX625A (total of three volts) which combined are the same size as the A1PX and the results look as if they are pretty close. I will put a film through it in the next few days and let you know how it goes.
__________________
Howard
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-09-2007   #7
howpow
Registered User
 
howpow's Avatar
 
howpow is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 82
Hello again. I have tried every battery combination from 1.5V through 3 V and on to 4.5 volts and have run a couple of films through it but the exposures are all over the place. Some are exposed perfectly, others are underexposed by many stops and sometimes the shutter hasn't opened at all. I might pull it apart sometine but for now it can sit on the shelf and look pretty. Perhaps I can turn it into a 6 transistor radio?
__________________
Howard
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-2008   #8
tomperson
Registered User
 
tomperson is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Could you please tell me if the Olympus 35 LE works in full manual mode without batteries? Or is it just an auto camera that needs batteries?

THANKS
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-2008   #9
shadowfox
Darkroom printing lives
 
shadowfox's Avatar
 
shadowfox is offline
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,804
It won't work without batteries.
__________________
Have a good light,
Will


  Reply With Quote

Old 12-06-2015   #10
180photos
you only live twice
 
180photos's Avatar
 
180photos is offline
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
LOT OF INFO ABOUT OLYMPUS 35 LE:

http://www.collection-appareils.fr/x..._appareil=3003
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Olympus 35 RD sticky shutter! Spider67 Olympus RF 15 12-08-2010 08:34
Need help - aperture blades on Olympus 35 RC ISO Repair / Camera Care 2 05-12-2007 12:55
Olympus 35 SP DaveW Olympus RF 5 05-03-2007 19:02
batterie issue for Olympus 35 SPn Henryzx Other RF 1 10-31-2006 10:59
Olympus 35 RC question TVphotog Other RF 4 10-23-2006 19:26



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:52.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.