Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Zeiss Contax

Zeiss Contax Forum for the classic Zeiss Contax I, II, III, IIa, IIIa , G series, and if you want to push it, the nice Contax point and shoots. Some spill over from the Kievs, the Soviet copy of the Contax II/III can also be expected. Plus the ONLY production camera ever made in classic Zeiss Contax Rangefinder mount WITH TTL metering ... the Voigtlander Bessa R2C.

New Contax User
Old 11-28-2018   #1
markjwyatt

New Contax User

Hello All:

I just joined the forum and thought I would introduce myself here, since it is the Contax (and a Kiev) that ultimately led me here.

In summary, I am an old time photographer mainly using 35mm SLRs and medium format TLRs in the past. I restarted seriously into photography this year with a Fuji XT-2, but also want to shoot film. I picked up a nice looking Kiev 4a, which I ran some film through. It more or less works but has some film advance issues. I then ended up winning an auction for a Contax iia on ebay. I had the camera CLA'd by Ross Yerkes, and it is working beautifully. I look forward to discussions about these cameras here. Here are pics of my Kiev and Contax.

Kiev 4A Type2 (Black) by Mark Wyatt, on Flickr

Here are some images from both these cameras: https://www.flickr.com/search/?user_...ax%20OR%20Kiev
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Contax_iia.jpg (36.6 KB, 41 views)

Last edited by markjwyatt : 11-28-2018 at 09:28. Reason: add line

Old 11-28-2018   #2
xayraa33
rangefinder user and fancier

Welcome to the forum.

The Contax RF cameras and their lenses are great pieces of engineering.

The same can be said for their Kiev cousins, not as glamorous as the Contax but equally fun in actual use.

Old 11-28-2018   #3
markjwyatt

Quote:
Originally Posted by xayraa33 View Post
Welcome to the forum.

The Contax RF cameras and their lenses are great pieces of engineering.