Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Gearhead Delights > DIYS Modifications

DIYS Modifications DIYS aka Do It Yourself Projects - mostly gear modifications

3D Printed Double Accessory Shoe
Old 12-21-2016   #1
Steevo

3D Printed Double Accessory Shoe

Dear RFF Community:

As a rangefinder enthusiast, I have collected quite a bit of photographic "do-dads", thing-a-ma-bobs", and miscellaneous camera accessories for my rangefinders. (I love them all.) The one accessory that I have not acquired has been the "double accessory shoe". This is in due in part to their rarity and also due to their price!

So, since I got a 3D printer last week, I thought that I would put the printer through its paces by creating my own double accessory shoe - a good first project. My day job is as a furniture designer and I am very familiar with 3D modeling software, but I have never prepared a 3D design for printing.

To make a long story short....I am very pleased with how the prototype has worked out. It fits perfectly into the cold shoe on my Leica IIIc, my M3, and on my Nikon S3 (See image.) and holds the accessory viewfinders and meter - which is the configuration that I will use the most.

The benefits seem quite obvious:

- Low cost
- Strong / Durable (ABS plastic).
- Allows for greater convenience for using a meter.

I'm thinking that I will explore any other accessories that could be created with the 3D printer.

Thanks! Feedback welcome!

Steve
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shoe x 2 bb.jpg (42.4 KB, 195 views)
Olympus XA, Stylus, Stylus Zoom
Panasonic GH-1 (with Nikon / Leica Adapter)

Do something NEW with those cameras!

Old 12-21-2016   #2
Jake Mongey

My god would I love one, could you potentially make one for the canon model 7 simular to the canon accessory coupler. I purhcased and actual one for £100 and lost it the week before finally getting my 28mm lens and finder and dont want to buy another one

Old 12-21-2016   #3
Alfasud
Old Toys

Steve,