Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Plustek Opticscan 120 - can't get it to bulk scan either 120 or 135
Old 07-31-2019   #1
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 1,043
Plustek Opticscan 120 - can't get it to bulk scan either 120 or 135

I bought this on the recommendation of a photographer friend and from the beginning I've never been able to do more than one image at a time, whether set to scan, bulk scan, or either after a preview. I use Silverfast 8 which came with it.

I love the quality, which is much better than my Epson V800 (although I have to use that for large format until I master digital camera scanning), and would dearly love to get this scanning in bulk, as I haven't the time to cut negative strips into strips of 2, then take them out and re-do.

Any help would be very much appreciated!
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-31-2019   #2
Ted Striker
Registered User
 
Ted Striker's Avatar
 
Ted Striker is offline
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlesDAMorgan View Post
I bought this on the recommendation of a photographer friend and from the beginning I've never been able to do more than one image at a time, whether set to scan, bulk scan, or either after a preview. I use Silverfast 8 which came with it.

I love the quality, which is much better than my Epson V800 (although I have to use that for large format until I master digital camera scanning), and would dearly love to get this scanning in bulk, as I haven't the time to cut negative strips into strips of 2, then take them out and re-do.

Any help would be very much appreciated!

Silverfast has to be one of the worst pieces of software ever written. It is an appalling pile of garbage that literally ruins the scanning experience.


You can do bulk scans, but I can't recall how to do it from memory. Hopefully someone here can be more accurate than I am.


From my rusty memory, you have to create your list of thumbnail images first. Click on the ones that you want to scan and center as appropriate. This will create a second list of thumbnails. With this list you click on each one, and then make your scanning adjustments. Once you have gone through the list, then you click the play button and the scanner will then go through each frame, make the scan and then create the file.


There's a lot more detail than this, but that is the general overall process.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-31-2019   #3
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Striker View Post
Silverfast has to be one of the worst pieces of software ever written. It is an appalling pile of garbage that literally ruins the scanning experience.

I couldn't have put it better myself!

Hopefully there will be people with knowledge of the bulkscan function along soon.
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-31-2019   #4
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 1,043
Quick bump
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-2019   #5
fs999
Registered User
 
fs999's Avatar
 
fs999 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 16
This is not possible with this scanner as it uses fixed length holders. So you have to cut your film.
You have to do it for archiving, so where is the problem ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-2019   #6
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 1,043
I cut it in to lengths of six, but it will only scan negative 1, hence having to cut it into strips of 2, so I can scan one, then reverse it to scan the other.
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-2019   #7
hanskerensky
Registered User
 
hanskerensky's Avatar
 
hanskerensky is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Limburg, The Netherlands
Posts: 719
Opticscan 120 ??
Do not now that scanner but on a OpticFilm 120 you have to use the "Overview" button and then select frames and then (from memory) "add all" .
Will have a look at it this evening to see the exact names.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Visit my Flickr Collections!
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-05-2019   #8
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 1,043
Opticfilm - apologies! That would be extremely helpful, thank you!
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-2019   #9
hanskerensky
Registered User
 
hanskerensky's Avatar
 
hanskerensky is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Limburg, The Netherlands
Posts: 719
Well, one evening too late but just had a look.
First you hit the "overview" button which is situated at the bottom of the vertical "commands" column.


A pop-up "Overview dialog" screen appears and the scanner will start a preview run of all the frames.
At the end of that run all found frames are displayed as small thumbnails.
With the small left right buttons underneath each thumbnail you can give for that frame a scanner offset if desired.


By default each displayed thumbnail is selected (blue border), however you can deselect a frame by clicking on it (border turns white).


Next click "Add selection" and a pop-up screen of the "Jobmanager" opens.
In this Jobmanager it is possible to copy certain parameters of a frame to the other ones by clicking on the "double folder" icon just next to the thumbnail.


Of course there is much more to it then this short description as Silvefast is indeed not the simplest of tools as stated here in the comments before.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Visit my Flickr Collections!
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-2019   #10
CharlesDAMorgan
Registered User
 
CharlesDAMorgan is offline
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: South East UK
Posts: 1,043
thanks very much! I have some scanning to do today so I'll give that a whirl.
__________________
Film amateur with a few rangefinders - Leica III, M2/M3, Werra 3 and Zeiss Super Ikonta 534/16 medium format.

Apart from that have a Rolleiflex 3.5F, the odd Minolta XD7, Hasselblad 500cm, a Topcon Super D and an Intrepid 5x4 large format (not the half of it but I am clearing them out, honest).

I do all my own black and white developing at home.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 18:27.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.