Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc

Hardware / Computers / Drives / etc This is the place to discuss the hardware to keep your digital pics more than just memories.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 10-09-2019   #41
bayernfan
Registered User
 
bayernfan's Avatar
 
bayernfan is offline
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by krötenblender View Post
At some point, the effort will become just too high... Feasible? maybe. Worthwhile? Not really.

At least for almost all users.

E.g. what stops Adobe from denying the activation of that SW online...?
A legal battle. If you paid money for a non-subscription software, there should be absolutely no reason you cannot use it indefinitely.
__________________
M_V instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-2019   #42
krötenblender
Registered User
 
krötenblender's Avatar
 
krötenblender is offline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayernfan View Post
A legal battle. If you paid money for a non-subscription software, there should be absolutely no reason you cannot use it indefinitely.
I think, the technical preconditions to get that far, are already totally offtopic to the initial question of the thread and its last two words: „without problems“

However: so you propose to sue a multi-billion SW-company with more lawyers than I know people at all with a claim, that you used a hacked or tricked installer to install an outdated software on an officially unsupported platform (as probably stated in the license agreement, that you agreed to...) and demand that they have to make that work for you?

Good luck with that...

Most of the technical solutions in this thread already miss the preconditions of the OP, but this one by far. I really don‘t want to defend Adobes subscription model and I stopped using their SW because of that some time ago and I‘m very happy with that decision. BUT for the technically inexperienced „just want to use that program“-type of user, all that is much worse than just to pay Adobe-Tax for the next years.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-2019   #43
splitimageview
Registered User
 
splitimageview is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayernfan View Post
Interesting. Are you saying that the install would be initialized on a 32-bit compatible VM (Mojave), and the install file destination is on Catalina?
Yes. Would be simple to confirm if this works or not. Happy to test it, if anyone wants to send me the installer.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-2019   #44
bayernfan
Registered User
 
bayernfan's Avatar
 
bayernfan is offline
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitimageview View Post
Yes. Would be simple to confirm if this works or not. Happy to test it, if anyone wants to send me the installer.
edit: here is the installer:

http://prdl-download.adobe.com/Light...oom_6_LS11.dmg

the link is from this page:

https://helpx.adobe.com/download-ins...-download.html
__________________
M_V instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-2019   #45
bayernfan
Registered User
 
bayernfan's Avatar
 
bayernfan is offline
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by krötenblender View Post

However: so you propose to sue a multi-billion SW-company with more lawyers than I know people at all with a claim, that you used a hacked or tricked installer to install an outdated software on an officially unsupported platform (as probably stated in the license agreement, that you agreed to...) and demand that they have to make that work for you?
No, what I am saying is that if down the road one decides to reinstall Lightroom 6.14 on the OS for which it is intended, there should be nothing preventing it. That is, Adobe should never be able to pull the plug on activation (preventing use of software), claiming the software is no longer supported.

I thought this was the potential scenario you were suggesting. It seems you were actually suggesting that Adobe may have (or may create) a method for detecting when software is running on an unsupported OS (via authentication) to prevent the use of it. I think this would be a dick move on Adobe's part.
__________________
M_V instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-2019   #46
jarski
Registered User
 
jarski's Avatar
 
jarski is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayernfan View Post
A legal battle. If you paid money for a non-subscription software, there should be absolutely no reason you cannot use it indefinitely.
does Adobe still sell non-sub version of Lightroom (cannot follow their product naming, is LR "Classic" same as former 6.x)?

if they still sell it and it doesn't work in new OS, would be pretty odd.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-09-2019   #47
dourbalistar
Registered User
 
dourbalistar's Avatar
 
dourbalistar is offline
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarski View Post
does Adobe still sell non-sub version of Lightroom (cannot follow their product naming, is LR "Classic" same as former 6.x)?

if they still sell it and it doesn't work in new OS, would be pretty odd.
B&H still sells it, but you have to have a US address to activate:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._download.html

I'm actually in a similar boat, running LR 6.4 on Mojave 10.14.5. I may eventually bite the bullet and subscribe, but I'll ride this boat until it sinks. Or until it reaches Catalina Island, or something like that.
__________________
I like my lenses sharp as a tank and built like a tack.

flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-2019   #48
splitimageview
Registered User
 
splitimageview is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayernfan View Post
I'll try this out later today...
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-2019   #49
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saul View Post
It's is much simpler than you're making it: just subscribe, stay up-to-date, ignore the version number, and use the software as it works very well.
It requires your machine talk to their servers on a regular basis to vet and authenticate, and there's no guarantee that the rendering qualities from one revision to the next, remain the same. Remember that non-destructive, parametrized raw rendering is an interpretive process ... as the process is upgraded there's no way to assert that it will always produce the same results.

I don't like such things. I also don't like paying every month for something on a continuous, ongoing basis. I do it when I have to ... I don't have to in this case unless I value their software more than others that do the same job.

Never mind that there have been some interesting reported inconsistencies in the operation of the varies different Lightroom flavors that have surfaced since the subscription model was created. My original interest in LR was that it was simple, did most of what I needed, and was focused on that without all the complexities of a bazillion different processing add-one, plug ins, and versions that permitted different capabilities, etc. Those qualities of the LR environment seem to have gone by the wayside.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-2019   #50
Ted Striker
Registered User
 
Ted Striker's Avatar
 
Ted Striker is offline
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by dourbalistar View Post
B&H still sells it, but you have to have a US address to activate:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._download.html

I'm actually in a similar boat, running LR 6.4 on Mojave 10.14.5. I may eventually bite the bullet and subscribe, but I'll ride this boat until it sinks. Or until it reaches Catalina Island, or something like that.

I'm still running LR 5. I wonder if upgrading to LR6 will buy me anymore time with the lifetime license format.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-2019   #51
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 49,191
does this have any impact on the owner of photoshop elements 19?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-2019   #52
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Striker View Post
I'm still running LR 5. I wonder if upgrading to LR6 will buy me any more time with the lifetime license format.
I can't recall the details differences between LR 5 and LR 6, but I know I need LR 6.1x for Leica CL raw compatibility. (Earlier versions will open the files but the Adobe Standard camera calibration profile isn't there and the embedded profile is pretty bad, IMO.)

Again, I don't know what LR 6.4 or 6.7 might be ... they're not the same as what Adobe says is the final LR 6.14 perpetual license version, which is what I'm running. The wall in front of us on macOS Catalina is full 64-bit compatibility, and I know 6.14 is missing some of that in some piece or another.

If you're running pre-Catalina macOS, I can't see as it's a bad idea to get to the final perpetual license version.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-10-2019   #53
bayernfan
Registered User
 
bayernfan's Avatar
 
bayernfan is offline
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitimageview View Post
I'll try this out later today...
I appreciate it and look forward to your findings.
__________________
M_V instagram
  Reply With Quote

How far can I update OSX and still run LR6.7 without problems?
Old 10-12-2019   #54
571514m3
Registered User
 
571514m3 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cyprus and Australia
Posts: 51
How far can I update OSX and still run LR6.7 without problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
I can't recall the details differences between LR 5 and LR 6, but I know I need LR 6.1x for Leica CL raw compatibility. (Earlier versions will open the files but the Adobe Standard camera calibration profile isn't there and the embedded profile is pretty bad, IMO.)

Again, I don't know what LR 6.4 or 6.7 might be ...

G

My original version was LR5, bundled with the camera. My licence code is a 6*4digit=24digit code and I did have to register with Adobe. I upgraded to 6 when that came out. Upgrade was 6.7 for some reason. Only when asking the original question did I realise that 6.14 is the latest version. Adobe website has a link to download this lates. I did that and it worked a charm. Also updated to Mojave. All is working fine. To be honest, it seems that 6.14 is the same as 6.7, but then I only use one camera and maybe it refers to compatibility as G said. Now I still have to download a boot version of Mojave on a memory stick as a safeguard. And yes, I use time machine back ups. I don't really know what I'm doing just following instructions ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
__________________
egonbernhard.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-2019   #55
jarski
Registered User
 
jarski's Avatar
 
jarski is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,592
been using Catalina now for few days. I had Lightroom installation ready, before doing the OS upgrade. seems to be running fine except Map and Web modules (rarely used those so no biggie personally).

am planning to gradually phase out LR and find replacement. its the big catalog that needs attention, so it will be usable also in post-LR days.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-14-2019   #56
krötenblender
Registered User
 
krötenblender's Avatar
 
krötenblender is offline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarski View Post
been using Catalina now for few days. I had Lightroom installation ready, before doing the OS upgrade. seems to be running fine except Map and Web modules (rarely used those so no biggie personally).
Map is the one thing, that I was missing, when I left LR for Capture One. Doesn‘t it work at all anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarski View Post
am planning to gradually phase out LR and find replacement. its the big catalog that needs attention, so it will be usable also in post-LR days.
That also was my biggest concern, that I had, when I switched to C1. But C1 imported my catalogs perfectly with tens of thousands of pictures, all the keywords and changed metadata were kept, as far as I concerned.

I even wrote my own LR metadata exporter script, but never needed it, because I was just fine. Of course, the image manipulations change a little, because Adobe implementation of clarity, for example, is unique and other programs can only try to come near. But it was good enough and sometimes even better in C1. Simple things like crop/rotate/... are the same, of course.

So, don‘t worry too much about your catalogs.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2019   #57
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by krötenblender View Post
Map is the one thing, that I was missing, when I left LR for Capture One. Doesn‘t it work at all anymore? ...
The backend SPI for the Map module changed some time back due to a change at Adobe, and Adobe will not update Lightroom 6 perpetual license to be compatible. I've disabled the module in my configuration long since.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2019   #58
krötenblender
Registered User
 
krötenblender's Avatar
 
krötenblender is offline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
The backend SPI for the Map module changed some time back due to a change at Adobe, and Adobe will not update Lightroom 6 perpetual license to be compatible. I've disabled the module in my configuration long since.

G
Thats sad. I guess I have to make my own then. I liked to have images overlays with some maps in my travel-blogs. And the Map module was easy to use when assigning and synchronizing GPS-data.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2019   #59
Ted Striker
Registered User
 
Ted Striker's Avatar
 
Ted Striker is offline
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by krötenblender View Post
Thats sad. I guess I have to make my own then. I liked to have images overlays with some maps in my travel-blogs. And the Map module was easy to use when assigning and synchronizing GPS-data.

Just another reason to never support Adobe. A more cretinous organization is hard to imagine.


I sure wish Apple had the stones to stick with Aperture. Sigh.....
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2019   #60
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Striker View Post
Just another reason to never support Adobe. A more cretinous organization is hard to imagine.

...
I sure wish Apple had the stones to stick with Aperture. Sigh.....
I have a different attitude towards this. It's just obvious to me from what Adobe is doing with their business that they don't want me as their customer, that's all. They're focused on where they make money ... full time shops that use their software commercially and constantly. That doesn't describe me. Hobbyists and part-time-fine-art-photographers they're not really all that interested in far as I can see.

Similarly with respect to Apple: They stepped away from Aperture and iPhoto in order to focus development efforts on Photos and its ecosystem of functionality across all their OS platforms (macOS, iOS, and now iPadOS). As time goes on, more and more functionality is being put into Photos, both management and editing -wise, and it's becoming a pretty good multi-platform solution integrated across the board on all their systems. Aperture really addressed only a smallish percentage of their audience and was a big development and support cost for ongoing maintenance. Photos' audience is literally the space of all Apple users, at some level or another. So they went the way of developing the broader audience's tools and nixed the pro app ... I suspect mostly because although they now have a lot of money, there simply aren't infinite numbers of the kind of people that can 'do the right thing' with respect to these development projects.

Photos coupled with RAW Power for the higher end processing capabilities seems a pretty good system nowadays. I've taken pains to be sure that MOST of my original image library can be moved from one toolset to another with minimum pain, and my finished image library is just that: finished and can be managed/used by anything that can handle industry standard TIFF and JPEG files with IPTC data embedded in them.

I'll likely experiment with Catalina next week, when I have a little more time.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-2019   #61
Ted Striker
Registered User
 
Ted Striker's Avatar
 
Ted Striker is offline
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
I have a different attitude towards this. It's just obvious to me from what Adobe is doing with their business that they don't want me as their customer, that's all. They're focused on where they make money ... full time shops that use their software commercially and constantly. That doesn't describe me. Hobbyists and part-time-fine-art-photographers they're not really all that interested in far as I can see.

Similarly with respect to Apple: They stepped away from Aperture and iPhoto in order to focus development efforts on Photos and its ecosystem of functionality across all their OS platforms (macOS, iOS, and now iPadOS). As time goes on, more and more functionality is being put into Photos, both management and editing -wise, and it's becoming a pretty good multi-platform solution integrated across the board on all their systems. Aperture really addressed only a smallish percentage of their audience and was a big development and support cost for ongoing maintenance. Photos' audience is literally the space of all Apple users, at some level or another. So they went the way of developing the broader audience's tools and nixed the pro app ... I suspect mostly because although they now have a lot of money, there simply aren't infinite numbers of the kind of people that can 'do the right thing' with respect to these development projects.

Photos coupled with RAW Power for the higher end processing capabilities seems a pretty good system nowadays. I've taken pains to be sure that MOST of my original image library can be moved from one toolset to another with minimum pain, and my finished image library is just that: finished and can be managed/used by anything that can handle industry standard TIFF and JPEG files with IPTC data embedded in them.

I'll likely experiment with Catalina next week, when I have a little more time.

G
27 years ago my company had nothing but Macs in their graphics department. Later, Apple *created* the entire concept of digital asset management for creative professionals. This was long before Adobe's Lightroom ever existed.

Apple owned this industry and then flushed it all down the toilet.

They also made the most advanced and powerful graphics computers at the time. Again, flushed all down the drain in 2013.

Creatives kept Apple alive and solvent during their darkest times.

Apple rewarded that loyalty with a kick and a push out the door.

Apple at one point had 280 BILLION dollars in cash doing nothing but sitting there. Today they have ONLY 200 billion.

Apple could have kept Aperture alive, along with the Mac Pro with 0.0001% of that money.

The ONLY reason Apple let this huge, massive lead disintegrate is the astonishing lack of vision and creativity of the current management team.

Photos- is an absolute joke of a program. An embarrassment to a company that once led with cutting edge software.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-2019   #62
571514m3
Registered User
 
571514m3 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Cyprus and Australia
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted Striker View Post
The ONLY reason Apple let this huge, massive lead disintegrate is the astonishing lack of vision and...... An embarrassment to a company that once led with cutting edge software.
+1
So much utility has been lost for now gain.

Yesterday I wanted to do a selective screen capture, you know the simple shift+fn+ctr+comd+4, and Mojave now makes me go through a 3 level menu to do the same. I think they should call this and similar features 'complicationism'.

Also Mojave warnings are coming up that various programs will not work on future OSX. I am happy with Office 2008 for example, and paid for it. It works so why upgrade? But why should stuff not continue to work anyway, new OSX can surely build in ways to deal with primitive software.

Like others I'll stay with Mojave as long as I can and maybe there will be open source options in the future. I now donate regularly to Wikipedia and should probably start that for others.
__________________
egonbernhard.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-2019   #63
splitimageview
Registered User
 
splitimageview is offline
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by 571514m3 View Post
maybe there will be open source options in the future.
Virtual Box is now, and Open Source. Set up a virtual machine and continue to run 32 bit apps.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-2019   #64
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,193
Thank you all for your opinions.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #65
jarski
Registered User
 
jarski's Avatar
 
jarski is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,592
btw. can someone answer to this: my Lightroom license type says (on Adobe site) its for multiple platforms. does this mean I can use same license key for both Windows and Mac versions of the LR 6?
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #66
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarski View Post
btw. can someone answer to this: my Lightroom license type says (on Adobe site) its for multiple platforms. does this mean I can use same license key for both Windows and Mac versions of the LR 6?
Yes. The perpetual license versions of LR allow two simultaneous, activated copies of the app to be running, whether on macOS, or Windows, or both.

You need to download the correct installer for the OS that you are installing on, of course.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #67
jarski
Registered User
 
jarski's Avatar
 
jarski is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
Yes. The perpetual license versions of LR allow two simultaneous, activated copies of the app to the running, whether on macOS, or Windows, or both.

You need to download the correct installer for the OS that you are installing on, of course.

G
ok thanks, this was good news
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #68
jarski
Registered User
 
jarski's Avatar
 
jarski is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,592
am bumping this thread once more, on a related photo editing issue. seems that Catalina orphaned also Spyder color calibration utility, up until latest version 5 (which has received 64bit update). (link)
  Reply With Quote

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #69
robert blu
quiet photographer
 
robert blu's Avatar
 
robert blu is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Italy
Age: 70
Posts: 5,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarski View Post
am bumping this thread once more, on a related photo editing issue. seems that Catalina orphaned also Spyder color calibration utility, up until latest version 5 (which has received 64bit update). (link)
I'm still using with satisfaction Spyder 4 PRO for which there will be no 64bit software (customer service confirmed this).
I do not like the idea to buy a new Spyder but...

I plan not to upgrade to Catalina soon but I know sometimes I'll have to do it. I m now slowing preparing myself downloading printer, scanner and other necessary 64bit sw.

At my age time is preciuous and even if it is a cost I prefer to have all my tools working properly
__________________
Remember: today is the Day !
from Ruth Bernhard recipe for a long and happy life

my quiet photographer's blog

My RFF photos and my albums on RFF
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 18:25.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.