Pakon 135 non-plus
Old 09-04-2019   #1
Solvstrom
Registered User
 
Solvstrom is offline
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 11
Pakon 135 non-plus

I've been looking to get a Pakon for a while now. I'm starting to get more and more annoyed with the scanning process. I have a few questions about the non-plus model, as it seems to be the cheapest and easiest to get your hands on.

I've read that due to the same CCD element, the non-plus can scan at 2000x3000 with a TLXclient demo software. Is that true, and is that easy to setup? Does it add extra steps in the scanning process, or is it just a different scanning software?

Will that software be able to run in a VM WinXP on a Mac?

I would love to hear what peoples experience are with this setup? It's important that I can scan in the higher resolution (2000x3000)

Thank you
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-2019   #2
ColSebastianMoran
( IRL Richard Karash )
 
ColSebastianMoran's Avatar
 
ColSebastianMoran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,367
I have a 135 Plus. The easiest workflow is with the standard software, the Plus does 6MPx with the standard software. I think TLX Client Demo is somewhat more awkward but adds some additional flexibility and delivers 6MPx on the non-Plus model.

Pro: Excellent color, very good production rate.
Con: 6MPx, negatives only, no slides.
__________________
Col. Sebastian Moran, ret. (not really)

In Classifieds Now: Nothing.
Use this link to leave feedback for me.

Named "Best heavy-game shooter in the Eastern Empire." Clubs: Anglo-Indian, Tankerville, and Bagatelle Card Club.
Sony E/FE, Nikon dSLR, and iPhone digital. Misc film.
Birds, portraits, events, family. Mindfulness, reflection, creativity, and stance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-2019   #3
ColSebastianMoran
( IRL Richard Karash )
 
ColSebastianMoran's Avatar
 
ColSebastianMoran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,367
I say get a Win XP laptop for this. Many have success with VM approaches, many have problems.
__________________
Col. Sebastian Moran, ret. (not really)

In Classifieds Now: Nothing.
Use this link to leave feedback for me.

Named "Best heavy-game shooter in the Eastern Empire." Clubs: Anglo-Indian, Tankerville, and Bagatelle Card Club.
Sony E/FE, Nikon dSLR, and iPhone digital. Misc film.
Birds, portraits, events, family. Mindfulness, reflection, creativity, and stance.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-2019   #4
Montag
Registered User
 
Montag is offline
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solvstrom View Post
I've been looking to get a Pakon for a while now. I'm starting to get more and more annoyed with the scanning process. I have a few questions about the non-plus model, as it seems to be the cheapest and easiest to get your hands on.

I've read that due to the same CCD element, the non-plus can scan at 2000x3000 with a TLXclient demo software. Is that true, and is that easy to setup? Does it add extra steps in the scanning process, or is it just a different scanning software?
Yes. If you think VMWare is easy then yes, it's fairly easy. I don't know on extra steps. TLX is pretty simplistic software.

Will that software be able to run in a VM WinXP on a Mac?
Yes.

I would love to hear what peoples experience are with this setup? It's important that I can scan in the higher resolution (2000x3000)
See below - 3000 x 2000 is a definite yes.

Thank you
I had Pakon non plus and it was easy once set up.

I used a VMware Fusion install of Win XP and then TLX Client demo on WinXP.

After a time I came to prefer running PPRC from a Terminal command line to get 'flatter' files to import and edit in Lightroom.
But the hard-baked Kodak files you get direct from TLX are ready to go as is if you prefer that look - i.e.; 'the special sauce' I think the Pakon is renowned for.

I'd refer to the Facebook group as a primary information source - you will get more information than you could ever want there, plus all the necessary software and other software users have developed/adapted themselves.

I would say there's no need to get the Plus model if you are comfortable with a little fussing to get it all set up intially. TLX runs from a GUI, there's only like 3 settings you need to amend first time then you click 'Scan'. Good luck (I added more direct comments to your quote.) The easiest solution is always never to scan anything of course.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-18-2019   #5
Solvstrom
Registered User
 
Solvstrom is offline
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 11
Thanks a lot! This is super helpful. I think i'll try and find a non-plus. They seem to be more than half the price of a plus model. So thank you
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 19:13.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.