Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Photography General Interest

Photography General Interest Neat Photo stuff NOT particularly about Rangefinders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

The lowest ISO setting on your camera?
Old 09-17-2019   #1
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,872
The lowest ISO setting on your camera?

So I just found out (!) about Kodak 2254 with its ISO rating of 1.6.
1.6 means in blazing daylight you can shoot wide open AND have a low enough shutter speed for motion blur.
I was looking to see what gear I have that can meter at that level (w/o using a separate hand held meter) and found that my Leica M7 can be set to ISO 6, then 2 stops of exp compensation can be dialed in so it actually can be set to ISO 1.5!
My Nikon F6 can also be set to ISO 6, but its not with me at the moment so I'm not sure if I can set that too at 1.5. The thought of using Sigma Art lenses with that film is quite delicious!

I'm assuming there are other kameras out there that can be set to 1.5 (using exp compensation dial). What are they?
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #2
css9450
Registered User
 
css9450's Avatar
 
css9450 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,975
My N90S can meter at ASA 6 and it has plus or minus 5 stops of compensation.... I'm not even sure what that would be on the low end. Or even if it would be accurate. I recently shot some Adox CMS 20 film and the recommendations I read for metering and processing were ALL over the map!
__________________
Nikon S2, S3, F, F2, F3, FM2, FA, N90S, D80, D7000, D750, Sony a6000, Canon IIf, Leica CL, Tower type 3, Zorki 4, Vito B, Perkeo II, Rollei 35....
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #3
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by css9450 View Post
My N90S can meter at ASA 6 and it has plus or minus 5 stops of compensation.... I'm not sure what that would be on the low end.
But can you set it at +5 (or +2) at ISO 6? With some cameras when you hit either end of the ISO setting range you cannot dial in exp compensation to go beyond it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #4
css9450
Registered User
 
css9450's Avatar
 
css9450 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
But can you set it at +5 (or +2) at ISO 6? With some cameras when you hit either end of the ISO setting range you cannot dial in exp compensation to go beyond it.

Good question; I'll have to give it a try!
__________________
Nikon S2, S3, F, F2, F3, FM2, FA, N90S, D80, D7000, D750, Sony a6000, Canon IIf, Leica CL, Tower type 3, Zorki 4, Vito B, Perkeo II, Rollei 35....
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #5
Takkun
Ian M.
 
Takkun's Avatar
 
Takkun is offline
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sunny South Seattle
Posts: 792
My Bronica SQ with SQ-i back goes down to ISO 25, with -2 stops exposure compensation on the back, plus an additional -2 stops on the SQ-i prism. However, for whatever reason, the exposure starts climbing back up when I set it to that. More experimentation necessary...
__________________
Ian M., Seattle
Current bag contents: Just a Fuji GX680iii. Nothing else will fit.

--
my infrequently updated blog
Finally on Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #6
dourbalistar
Registered User
 
dourbalistar's Avatar
 
dourbalistar is offline
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,489
The Leica M5 meter goes down to ASA 6. No (dedicated) exposure compensation, but I guess you could achieve ASA 1.5 by underexposing two stops?
__________________
I like my lenses sharp as a tank and built like a tack.

flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #7
css9450
Registered User
 
css9450's Avatar
 
css9450 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by dourbalistar View Post
...I guess you could achieve ASA 1.5 by underexposing two stops?

I would think so. That's probably true of a lot of cameras; best accuracy would be obtained if the needle readout in the viewfinder has a scale marked with stops (not all do).
__________________
Nikon S2, S3, F, F2, F3, FM2, FA, N90S, D80, D7000, D750, Sony a6000, Canon IIf, Leica CL, Tower type 3, Zorki 4, Vito B, Perkeo II, Rollei 35....
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #8
mpaniagua
Registered User
 
mpaniagua's Avatar
 
mpaniagua is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
Age: 46
Posts: 1,099
Leica M6 lowest is ISO 6.

On my SL35E, 25 ISO. It has +/-2 Exposure compensation, so aroung ISO 6 as well.

Marcelo.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #9
shimokita
白黒
 
shimokita's Avatar
 
shimokita is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Japan, Tokyo
Posts: 820
Nikon F3P

Lowest setting is ISO 12
Compensation at ISO 12 is -2 to +1⅓
in "A" mode the shutter speed reflects the compensation setting

Highest setting is ISO 6400⅓
Compensation at ISO 6400⅓ is -1 to +2

Normal compensation is 2
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #10
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,872
Funny thing I used to wonder why it went so low
with some cameras.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #11
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimokita View Post
Nikon F3P

Lowest setting is ISO 12

Compensation at ISO 12 is -2 to +1⅓
in "A" mode the shutter speed reflects the compensation setting

Normal compensation is 2
Hmmm so w comp u can set it to ISO 6
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #12
mpaniagua
Registered User
 
mpaniagua's Avatar
 
mpaniagua is offline
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
Age: 46
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
Hmmm so w comp u can set it to ISO 6
umm probably a bit lower, since 12 ISO - 2 Stops = 3 ISO? I'm I wrong?

Marcelo
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #13
shimokita
白黒
 
shimokita's Avatar
 
shimokita is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Japan, Tokyo
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huss View Post
Hmmm so w comp u can set it to ISO 6
Example exposure at f5.6

ISO 12 = 1/8 second
with +1 = 1/4 second (ISO 6 equivalent)
with -2 = 1/30 second (ISO 50 equivalent)

Correct me if I am wrong
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-2019   #14
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,872
Ok just checked my F6. Lowest ISO setting is 6, but I can then dial in +3EV! So it will automatically meter down to ISO 0.75.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 15:48.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.