Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Zeiss Contax

Zeiss Contax Forum for the classic Zeiss Contax I, II, III, IIa, IIIa , G series, and if you want to push it, the nice Contax point and shoots. Some spill over from the Kievs, the Soviet copy of the Contax II/III can also be expected. Plus the ONLY production camera ever made in classic Zeiss Contax Rangefinder mount WITH TTL metering ... the Voigtlander Bessa R2C.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Strange Contax G2 shutter release problem
Old 08-23-2007   #1
akptc
Shoot first, think later
 
akptc's Avatar
 
akptc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kansas. OMG. Kansas.
Posts: 1,687
Strange Contax G2 shutter release problem

My spare G2 has developed a shutter release problem. It looses acquired focus just before firing and about 10% of the time pressing the shutter will not cause it to fire. About 95% of the time I can focus with the thumb button on the back of the camera and press the shutter release and it works but sometimes it does not fire either. I tested it with my "good" lenses that work OK on my other G2 but it seems it's not the lens problem. Has anyone ever encounter such a behavior of the G2 shutter? Thanks a bunch for any feedback.
__________________
Andy K
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-2007   #2
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 8,265
Not had this happen on mine. You know TOCAD repair?
http://www.tocad.com/contact.html

They do very good work.
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-2007   #3
Bob Michaels
nobody special
 
Bob Michaels's Avatar
 
Bob Michaels is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Apopka FL (USA)
Age: 75
Posts: 3,721
I've used G2 and a G1 body for about six years and never seen this when the viewfinder glass is clean. Now a thumbprint on the finder glass will mess up the autofocus in ways some cannot imagine.

I have not had need for Tocad service (knock on wood) but I hear that they are as good as Contax service ever was.
__________________
http://www.bobmichaels.org
internet forums appear to have an abundance of anonymous midgets prancing on stilts
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-2007   #4
akptc
Shoot first, think later
 
akptc's Avatar
 
akptc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kansas. OMG. Kansas.
Posts: 1,687
Thanks guys, I emailed TOCAD to get an estimate. Just hate being without my gear...
__________________
Andy K
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-2007   #5
jaap
Jaap
 
jaap's Avatar
 
jaap is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 55
Posts: 306
If I may say, try a fresh pair of batteries. A G camera can act strange when the batteries are getting low. (even if the battery low indication is not on) Try before you ship your gear !
__________________
2 Contax G2 with 21;28;35;45;90
Contax RX with 35mm f1.4 ASPH. FL. EL; 50mm f1.4 ; 85mm f1.4; 85mm f2.8; 35mm f2.8
Canon EOS 400 with 18-50mm f2.8 sigma

Traditional darkroom printer
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-25-2007   #6
akptc
Shoot first, think later
 
akptc's Avatar
 
akptc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kansas. OMG. Kansas.
Posts: 1,687
Well, I tried it with fresh batteries (same advice I got from TOCAD on the phone) but it seems the shutter release mechanism needs some attention. The G2 is on its way to TOCAD, crossing my fingers...
__________________
Andy K
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-26-2007   #7
sepiareverb
genius and moron
 
sepiareverb's Avatar
 
sepiareverb is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Johnsbury VT
Posts: 8,265
Sounds like our G2's are reaching middle age?
__________________
-Bob
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-26-2007   #8
jaap
Jaap
 
jaap's Avatar
 
jaap is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 55
Posts: 306
I've never had trouble with mine (vingers crossed) Otherwise I have to buy a other one. My second G2 (as new) I bought for 270 euro.
__________________
2 Contax G2 with 21;28;35;45;90
Contax RX with 35mm f1.4 ASPH. FL. EL; 50mm f1.4 ; 85mm f1.4; 85mm f2.8; 35mm f2.8
Canon EOS 400 with 18-50mm f2.8 sigma

Traditional darkroom printer
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-26-2007   #9
akptc
Shoot first, think later
 
akptc's Avatar
 
akptc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kansas. OMG. Kansas.
Posts: 1,687
THis is the 1st time I've encountered a problem with a G2 or a G1. After some detective work, I think I know why the shutter release is sometimes non-responsive. The previous owner used this G2 in CH mode pretty much all the time, with his heavy finger continuosly pushing on the trigger. I bet this has resulted in some contact wear, causing the current fault. But, the good news, this sounds like a simple fix.
__________________
Andy K
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-06-2019   #10
modulor
Registered User
 
modulor is offline
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
i have the exacr same problem with my g2! do you ever solved this problem?
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-06-2019   #11
akptc
Shoot first, think later
 
akptc's Avatar
 
akptc is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kansas. OMG. Kansas.
Posts: 1,687
My G2 was fixed by TOCAD over 10 years ago.. they replaced an assembly for I think just under $200. Not sure who fixes these cameras today...
__________________
Andy K
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-2019   #12
frank-grumman
Registered User
 
frank-grumman is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SoCal/PA
Posts: 256
FWIW, my G2 showed similar behavior when there was insufficient vertical lines in the scene which I was attempting to film. When I found some "verticality," I focused and recomposed and shutter operated as expected. Selling G2 and a virtually complete set of G2 lenses was one of the more stupid moves I've carried out in my life. Anyways, I hope this is helpful information.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to find a replacement screw-in shutter release for a type 119? landsknechte Kodak Retina and Ektra Rangefinders 0 08-07-2007 22:32
hexar help -- shutter release problem broadie Point-N-Shoot 35mm Cameras 16 06-21-2006 00:03
Bessa R problem: shutter stuck halfway jonasv Voigtlander Bessa Leica Mount Cameras 17 05-19-2006 09:10
Bessa R3a shutter release button sanardo22 Voigtlander Bessa Leica Mount Cameras 0 03-15-2006 16:26
Shutter release blues... lawrence FSU Former Soviet Union RF 7 11-17-2004 02:06



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 18:22.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.