Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Fuji X Series > Fuji X-100 Series

Fuji X-100 Series This forum is for fans of the rangefinder retrostyled Fuji X Series of digital cameras.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

FujiFilm X100F
Old 05-30-2018   #1
thawkins
Registered User
 
thawkins's Avatar
 
thawkins is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 70
Posts: 392
FujiFilm X100F

Any of you forum members have experience with this particular camera? Thinking about getting one.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2018   #2
Fjäll
Registered User
 
Fjäll's Avatar
 
Fjäll is offline
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 262
You should look through these threads:

https://www.rangefinderforum.com/for...hp?forumid=159
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2018   #3
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 46
Posts: 20,008
Yeah, I use one frequently along with a few other Fuji's cameras. Any particular questions?
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2018   #4
stompyq
Registered User
 
stompyq is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
Yeah, I use one frequently along with a few other Fuji's cameras. Any particular questions?
Please don't get John started on all things Fuji
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2018   #5
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 46
Posts: 20,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stompyq View Post
Please don't get John started on all things Fuji
Quiet yourself...
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-2018   #6
thawkins
Registered User
 
thawkins's Avatar
 
thawkins is offline
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 70
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fjäll View Post
You should look through these threads:

https://www.rangefinderforum.com/for...hp?forumid=159
Thanks. Answered all my questions.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-26-2018   #7
shimokita
白黒
 
shimokita's Avatar
 
shimokita is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Japan, Tokyo
Posts: 817
I have been attracted to the x100f since it was introduced (I am a x100t user), mainly because of the external ISO dial... However when I was looking at the display model at one of the big electronic shops in Shinjuku, Tokyo...

To set the ISO you are instructed to lift up on the outer ring and rotate, however with the display model the ISO -and- the shutter speed both rotated at the same time (without lifting the external ring). The in store Fuji rep said it was because of repeated use by customers and a new camera would not do that... so I asked what happens over time... mmmmmmm

Maybe it's not a real life problem, but...
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-27-2018   #8
Archlich
Registered User
 
Archlich is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimokita View Post
I have been attracted to the x100f since it was introduced (I am a x100t user), mainly because of the external ISO dial... However when I was looking at the display model at one of the big electronic shops in Shinjuku, Tokyo...

To set the ISO you are instructed to lift up on the outer ring and rotate, however with the display model the ISO -and- the shutter speed both rotated at the same time (without lifting the external ring). The in store Fuji rep said it was because of repeated use by customers and a new camera would not do that... so I asked what happens over time... mmmmmmm

Maybe it's not a real life problem, but...
Personally I find the lifting the dial design cumbersome on digital cameras. It's not like film cameras with which you'd change the ISO once per roll at most. And there's so much values from the from ISO 100 to 25600 - all cramped up there, making rotating the dial a chore.

The dedicated dial on the X-T2 is much better. Or just assign it to the front dial, or just use the menu assigned to one of the many (almost too many) FN buttons - all faster.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-27-2018   #9
shimokita
白黒
 
shimokita's Avatar
 
shimokita is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Japan, Tokyo
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archlich View Post
Personally I find the lifting the dial design cumbersome on digital cameras.
Thanks for that observation...

For normal shooting with my x100f the ISO is set to automatic (within a specified range), in my case the external dial of a x100f would only come into play when using ND Grad filters on a tripod, which I shoot in full manual mode (e.g. fixed at ISO 200). So not heavy use, but convenient when setting up the shot.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-27-2018   #10
Archlich
Registered User
 
Archlich is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimokita View Post
Thanks for that observation...

For normal shooting with my x100f the ISO is set to automatic (within a specified range), in my case the external dial of a x100f would only come into play when using ND Grad filters on a tripod, which I shoot in full manual mode (e.g. fixed at ISO 200). So not heavy use, but convenient when setting up the shot.
In that case, storing the ISO value into one of the Custom Settings, which in turn is assigned to a FN button, would be the fastest way. One click and one turn you're there, without any scrolling, browsing and lifting.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-27-2018   #11
shimokita
白黒
 
shimokita's Avatar
 
shimokita is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Japan, Tokyo
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archlich View Post
In that case, storing the ISO value into one of the Custom Settings, which in turn is assigned to a FN button, would be the fastest way.
Thanks for the suggestion... not exactly as convenient as e.g. Canon 5DII C1-C2-C3, but worth a try.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-31-2018   #12
Rangefinder M-P
Registered User
 
Rangefinder M-P is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
When my favorite Leica lens need to go back to the factory, I knew it would be gone for months. I had a seven-week trip to Alaska coming up with no wide angle lens. I purchased the Fuji X100F, skimmed over the owners manual and hit the road. The camera performed quite well and, despite a few errors, I got along very well with it.


Mike
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-01-2018   #13
narsuitus
Registered User
 
narsuitus's Avatar
 
narsuitus is offline
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,276
Quote:
Originally Posted by thawkins View Post
Any of you forum members have experience with this particular camera? Thinking about getting one.
It is a very good camera unless you need interchangeable lenses.

Since I need interchangeable lenses, I use a Fuji X-Pro2 with a 23mm f/2 lens.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-01-2018   #14
DennisM
Registered User
 
DennisM is offline
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 57
A comment on using the Fuji X100F. I have one and enjoy it. One thing I've found is that more than once, I've inadvertently moved the exposure compensation dial to either some overexposure or underexposure. I'd caution users to make sure the dial is on "zero" before shooting if no exposure compensation is desired.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-2018   #15
kshapero
Leave the lights on
 
kshapero's Avatar
 
kshapero is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Florida, USA
Age: 70
Posts: 9,857
I'm Happy.
__________________
Akiva S.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kshapero

Cameras, Lenses and Photos
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-2018   #16
Beemermark
Registered User
 
Beemermark's Avatar
 
Beemermark is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimokita View Post
I have been attracted to the x100f since it was introduced (I am a x100t user), mainly because of the external ISO dial...
...
Don't know squat about the X100F but I have the X-Pro2 with the same ISO dial. When I bought it I thought it was way cool. But as others have pointed out in real life it is a PIA. There are a zillion buttons you can customize but nothing for ISO, you must use the dial. There is a klutzy work around to add auto ISO to a function button but not very quick in use.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-2018   #17
Beemermark
Registered User
 
Beemermark's Avatar
 
Beemermark is offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by DennisM View Post
A comment on using the Fuji X100F. I have one and enjoy it. One thing I've found is that more than once, I've inadvertently moved the exposure compensation dial to either some overexposure or underexposure. I'd caution users to make sure the dial is on "zero" before shooting if no exposure compensation is desired.
The exposure compensation dial is the same as the X-Pro2 with the same problem, moves way, way too easily.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #18
kshapero
Leave the lights on
 
kshapero's Avatar
 
kshapero is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Florida, USA
Age: 70
Posts: 9,857
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemermark View Post
Don't know squat about the X100F but I have the X-Pro2 with the same ISO dial. When I bought it I thought it was way cool. But as others have pointed out in real life it is a PIA. There are a zillion buttons you can customize but nothing for ISO, you must use the dial. There is a klutzy work around to add auto ISO to a function button but not very quick in use.
I guess we are all different. The ISO dial allows me to see what I am changing the ISO to. Very handy. works w/o looking up at the body. Same on the exposure compensation dial. Oh well.
__________________
Akiva S.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kshapero

Cameras, Lenses and Photos
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #19
peterm1
Registered User
 
peterm1's Avatar
 
peterm1 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by kshapero View Post
I guess we are all different. The ISO dial allows me to see what I am changing the ISO to. Very handy. works w/o looking up at the body. Same on the exposure compensation dial. Oh well.
I guess if someone were not used to using film cameras using dials instead of buttons might seem odd and unintuitive. As for me I like them too.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #20
kshapero
Leave the lights on
 
kshapero's Avatar
 
kshapero is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Florida, USA
Age: 70
Posts: 9,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterm1 View Post
I guess if someone were not used to using film cameras using dials instead of buttons might seem odd and unintuitive. As for me I like them too.
Using the X100F reminds of a Nikon FM2 but also with all the digital bells and whistles most of which I haven't gotten around to using.
__________________
Akiva S.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kshapero

Cameras, Lenses and Photos
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #21
Out to Lunch
Registered User
 
Out to Lunch's Avatar
 
Out to Lunch is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vietnam
Posts: 5,507
In short, you can't go wrong.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #22
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwolf View Post
...
Are you all happy with the current X-Trans BW rendering (from raw)? Maybe I'm seeing things, but my X-Pro1 BW output seems nicer to me.

John
My experience is with the X-Pro 2. The sensor and data pipeline is essentially identical to the X-100F

I often render B&W from raw files. I am happy with the rendering in LR Classic CC. However, I use very different rendering parameters than I did with X-100.

I think the X-100 has a higher read noise level than the X-100F. This would affect shadow region rendering at ISO 800 (where noise is dominated by photon noise) and below and the image in general above ISO 800. Perhaps the noise rendering difference is responsible for what you observe?

Occasionally I use Silver Efex Pro 2 for X-Pro 2 B&W raw rendering.
__________________
Basically, I mean, ah—well, let’s say that for me anyway when a photograph is interesting, it’s interesting because of the kind of photographic problem it states—which has to do with the . . . contest between content and form.
Garry Winogrand
williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #23
davhill
Canon P
 
davhill's Avatar
 
davhill is offline
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Boston
Posts: 121
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by narsuitus View Post
Since I need interchangeable lenses, I use a Fuji X-Pro2 with a 23mm f/2 lens.
Only the one lens? Tell me again why you need interchangeable lenses?

<<ok, ok, stop hitting me>>
__________________
Blinded by the Light...
* Film: Canon P (LTM)~Zeiss Ikon Ikonta35~Nikkormat FTN~Nikon FM~Olympus OM~
* Digital: Fuji X100~Olympus E-PL3 (m4/3)~
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:05.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.