Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Rangefinder Photography Discussion

Rangefinder Photography Discussion General discussions about Rangefinder Photography. This is a great place for questions and answers that are not addressed in a specific category. Take note there is also a General Photography forum.

Why? Street
Old 04-24-2017   #1
B-9
Devin Bro

Why? Street

You know what frustrates me?

"It's not good for shooting street"

"I only shoot street"

"Street photography"

"It will be great for those who do street"

It sounds rediculous!

Hello, My name is Devin, I'm a street carpenter, I only work with wood on the street, my Estwing 16oz hammer is ideal for street carpentry, but my sledge is just to bulky and people really notice how large it is when I'm hammering wood in the street.

--

I love my cameras (tools) and taking photos is the product of my love. I couldnt care less about anyone's opinion of my photos. I am not a photographer! I am an Artist with many tools.

Why is this such a fad these days? "Street"

RangefinderGuy @ Instagram

Old 04-24-2017   #2
skopar steve

Because rangefinder cameras are good tools for street photography?

Old 04-24-2017   #3
kxl
Social Documentary

To borrow the words of US SC Justice Potter Stewart in Jacobellis v. Ohio, 378 U.S. 184 (1964):

"I shall not today attempt further to define the kinds of material I understand to be embraced within that shorthand description; and perhaps I could never succeed in intelligibly doing so. But I know it when I see it..."

IMHO, people in general (I won't say all) have a desire to categorize things to make them easier to describe or explain. I consider "street photography" as such a category.

"... I thought the only way to give us an incentive, to bring hope, is to show the pictures of the pristine planet - to see the innocence.” ― Sebastiao Salgado

Old 04-24-2017   #4
Arbitrarium