Ultrafine Xtreme Black & White Film ISO 400
Old 06-01-2018   #1
kshapero
Photog

Question Ultrafine Xtreme Black & White Film ISO 400

Price is right, but I have no experience with this film. Anyone using this film? Comments, please?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/kshapero

Cameras, Lenses and Photos

Old 06-01-2018   #2
MaxElmar

I would just give 'em a call and ask about who manufactured the stuff. You can get some real info then. Pretty sure they didn't make it.

Still Photographically Uncool
https://www.flickr.com/photos/xenotar/

Old 06-01-2018   #3
mpaniagua

I'm using it. It pretty good for the price. Some people compare it to HP5+ but I think its different:

Will develop a 120 roll this weekend, which I exposed at 800 ISO. Lets see how it comes out.

Bought a 100ft of it and been playing with it with different developers. At the moment, settled for Rodinal at 1/25, 17min with slight agitation each minute. Seems to be longer than the recommended time but I like the results.

I think it worth trying it. Not a bad film if that's what you are asking. Acetate base seems a bit thin negatives (although I haven't had big scratch issues).

Regards

Marcelo

Old 06-01-2018   #4
sepiareverb
genius and moron

I believe it is Kentmere 400. A friend just gave me a couple of rolls to try but I've not shot it yet.

Old 06-01-2018   #5
mpaniagua

Quote:
Originally Posted by sepiareverb View Post
I believe it is Kentmere 400. A friend just gave me a couple of rolls to try but I've not shot it yet.
Umm Could be. Close relative at least. Different base through. Kentmere dries quite flat and Xtreme curls a little.

Quite like Kentmere 400 though, 100 not so much.

Regards

Marcelo

Old 06-01-2018   #6
Ko.Fe.
Me. Write ESL. Ko.

Boris Kireev, prolific street shooter and bw modern films review author based in Moscow, send me this film as Kentmere 400 once (as the gift).
I just haven't open it yet.

Old 06-01-2018   #7
Steve M.