Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > FSU Former Soviet Union RF

FSU Former Soviet Union RF This forum is for the Former Soviet Union rangefinder cameras, especially the many and various Fed, Zorki, and Kiev.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Zorki 4 noob question(s)
Old 04-05-2013   #1
Kenj8246
Registered User
 
Kenj8246's Avatar
 
Kenj8246 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: College Station TX
Age: 72
Posts: 806
Zorki 4 noob question(s)

Just received a Zorki 4 without a takeup spool. Should I be able to test fire the shutter without this? Also, the shutter speed dial doesn't seem to be able to point at the faster speeds? I 'sorta' searched for this but the search function here mystifies me...can't tell if I've found what I wanted.

Kenny

ps The frame advance never stops turning...I understand that it is supposed to stop, indicating a new frame has been advanced and the shutter is cocked.
__________________
______________________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bykenny
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #2
texchappy
Registered User
 
texchappy is offline
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 316
The fact the I couldn't remember the answer to your question means it's been too long since shooting this camera.

Here's a video that might help with things...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4o4mpvy_H4
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #3
KoNickon
Nick Merritt
 
KoNickon is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hartford, CT USA
Age: 61
Posts: 3,107
Sounds like you have a problem. The film wind should stop when the shutter is cocked and the film is advanced. And when the shutter is cocked, you should be able to change the shutter speeds.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #4
greyelm
Malcolm
 
greyelm's Avatar
 
greyelm is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,360
You can download a manual here : http://www.butkus.org/chinon/russian/zorki/zorki.htm

Always cock the shutter before changing the speed or you will cause damage.

You don't need the take up spool to test the shutter. You may be able to get a spool on eBay.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #5
wolves3012
Registered User
 
wolves3012's Avatar
 
wolves3012 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Age: 62
Posts: 2,815
It could well be that the speed dial is loose or has been re-fitted in the wrong position. ALWAYS cock the shutter before changing speeds. When cocked, can you lift and turn the dial and get different speeds? What speeds can you get that the dial will indicate and do they sound right? Being unable to set higher speeds when the slow ones work (maybe incorrectly) suggests the mechanics have been tangled up by altering the dial with the shutter un-cocked. A common problem.

The frame-counter advances one frame every time you cock the shutter but it'll roll around back to zero and start again, is this what you mean? If so, it's correct because it goes to 39 and you're unlikely to get more frames from a 36-roll. If you mean it's loose and spins freely, that is not correct. In fact, the frame counter has only 3 parts, the dial, a springy washer and the retaining screw. If they are all in place it's impossible for it not to work.

And no, you don't need a spool to test the shutter. However, if the camera works and you need a spool, you must get the right sort. There are 2 pins inside the correct one, they engage on the shaft guides. Some spools don't have those pins and will not work.
__________________
Zorki: 1e (x2), 2C, 3M, 4, 4K, 5, 6
FED: NKVD, 1g, 2e
Kiev 4, 4A
Leica IIIC
Yashica Minister III
Zenith C, Zenit C, Zenit E
Minolta XG-M, XD-5
Nikon P50
Panasonic Lumix G2, 14-42 Kit lens + 45-150mm

"The way to see by faith is to shut the eye of reason." - Benjamin Franklin
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #6
Kenj8246
Registered User
 
Kenj8246's Avatar
 
Kenj8246 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: College Station TX
Age: 72
Posts: 806
As best I can explain it, the shutter does not cock, as the 'winder' just keeps winding. Pretty sure this one has major problems in that area. Thanks for your replies; this is the first FSU RF that hasn't worked. And, I have several good ones that came directly from the FSU. Law of averages, maybe?

Kenny
__________________
______________________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bykenny
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #7
Ron (Netherlands)
Registered User
 
Ron (Netherlands)'s Avatar
 
Ron (Netherlands) is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,917
1. how does the shutter curtains look, are they closed or open?
2. is the film advance knob running freely in both directions?
3. is there a black cover plate at the bottom of the camera (after you have taken off the back cover), if yes, you can screw it off by unscrewing the two screws. Underneath should be a round disk that runs agains a flat spring: can you see the disk and spring? From you description there is a chance that the disk (it is called the 'second curtain brake') might be missing. Actually more stuff might be missing but hard to say which ones.

Can you show a picture of the internals of the cam?
__________________
__________________
When day is done......

Leica: IIa synch conversion, IIIb, M6 TTL Millenium, 2x Rolleicord Vb, 2x Rolleiflex 3.5F white face, Rolleiflex 2.8A, 5x ICA Tropica

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #8
greyelm
Malcolm
 
greyelm's Avatar
 
greyelm is offline
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenj8246 View Post
As best I can explain it, the shutter does not cock, as the 'winder' just keeps winding. Pretty sure this one has major problems in that area. Thanks for your replies; this is the first FSU RF that hasn't worked. And, I have several good ones that came directly from the FSU. Law of averages, maybe?

Kenny
The collar around the shutter release may well still be screwed down (the film rewind position) which will decouple the wind on knob. Make sure the collar is in the up position by turning it anti-clockwise (counter clockwise for N.America)
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #9
fidget
Lemon magnet
 
fidget's Avatar
 
fidget is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern England
Posts: 1,341
Doesn't the shutter release button lock down on the Zorki 4? When locked down (push and turn) it will never cock or stop. Has caught me out once, but was it a Zorki?
__________________
(Almost) Too many cameras.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #10
Kenj8246
Registered User
 
Kenj8246's Avatar
 
Kenj8246 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: College Station TX
Age: 72
Posts: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron (Netherlands) View Post
1. how does the shutter curtains look, are they closed or open?
2. is the film advance knob running freely in both directions?
3. is there a black cover plate at the bottom of the camera (after you have taken off the back cover), if yes, you can screw it off by unscrewing the two screws. Underneath should be a round disk that runs agains a flat spring: can you see the disk and spring? From you description there is a chance that the disk (it is called the 'second curtain brake') might be missing. Actually more stuff might be missing but hard to say which ones.

Can you show a picture of the internals of the cam?
Hi, Ron. Thanks for your reply.
1. Curtains are closed.
2. I've only tried it in the required direction, so don't know.
3. Yes to the plate. I will not attempt a repair myself. Eyes are not that good, parts, i.e., screws, etc. are exceedingly small and my hands are just too large. I'm not ham-fisted but just know better than to try to fix it myself.

Kenny
__________________
______________________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bykenny
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #11
Kenj8246
Registered User
 
Kenj8246's Avatar
 
Kenj8246 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: College Station TX
Age: 72
Posts: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by greyelm View Post
The collar around the shutter release may well still be screwed down (the film rewind position) which will decouple the wind on knob. Make sure the collar is in the up position by turning it anti-clockwise (counter clockwise for N.America)
Doesn't seem to matter where that collar is...shutter just doesn't want to cock.

Kenny
__________________
______________________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bykenny
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #12
Kenj8246
Registered User
 
Kenj8246's Avatar
 
Kenj8246 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: College Station TX
Age: 72
Posts: 806
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidget View Post
Doesn't the shutter release button lock down on the Zorki 4? When locked down (push and turn) it will never cock or stop. Has caught me out once, but was it a Zorki?
You are the second to mention that. I will have another look at that when I get home from work.

Kenny
__________________
______________________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bykenny
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #13
Kenj8246
Registered User
 
Kenj8246's Avatar
 
Kenj8246 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: College Station TX
Age: 72
Posts: 806
Kudos and many thanks to Malcolm Smith (greyelm)--and anyone else who may have suggested it and I missed it--for the tip about the collar on the shutter release. As soon as I backed that off, the shutter cocked and fired successfully. Several times, in fact.

Now, I just need the missing takeup spool to arrive and I can load it up and have a proper go at it.

Kenny
__________________
______________________________
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bykenny
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-05-2013   #14
pakeha
Registered User
 
pakeha is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Pacific
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by greyelm View Post
You can download a manual here : [URL="http://www.butkus.org/chinon/russian/zorki/zorki.htm"]http://www.butkus.org/chinon/russian/zorki/zorki.htm[/url]

Always cock the shutter before changing the speed or you will cause damage.

You don't need the take up spool to test the shutter. You may be able to get a spool on eBay.
I have high lighted the important info.
I always check out manuals first - but that is just me.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 17:28.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.