Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Photography General Interest

Photography General Interest Neat Photo stuff NOT particularly about Rangefinders.

Is it Me or The Technology? [long]
Old 02-06-2013   #1
CK Dexter Haven

Is it Me or The Technology? [long]

I'm 45. I got semi-serious about photography when my father let me borrow his Minolta XG-M my last day of high school, freshman year, when i we were about to move out of state. Shortly thereafter, he bought me my own Minolta, and i started shooting for the new high school's newspaper and yearbook. Learned BW developing in the school's darkroom. This was all just after discovering Fashion photography *first, by Richard Avedon and Irving Penn, and then guys like Bruce Weber, Steven Meisel, Herb Ritts, and Peter Lindbergh captured my attention. I left high school still with that Minolta (that i never really liked i coveted a Nikon....), planning to be a fashion photographer.

In the years after college, in NYC, i tried to shoot fashion toward building a portfolio. I bought (consumed) ever issue of Vogue and Bazaar, and knew all the photographers, their equipment, and could easily recognize their work.

Later, the internet came into being, and later still, sites like Flickr stole a lot of my time, as i was constantly finding more and more images to inspire me. I wasn't limited to print magazines anymore. I could obsess over countless images from amateurs and pros from all over the world, every day, all day. And, i did.

Then, something odd happened. Digital photography took over. It became easier for amateurs to get great results. It made it easier to eliminate technical issues in lighting and composition (just reshoot, on the spot), processing and printing (WYSIWYG, on the spot). It democratized the process. There were MORE images to see. All technically 'perfect.'