Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > SLRs - the unRF

SLRs - the unRF For those of you who must talk about SLRs, if only to confirm they are not RF.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

get a winder?
Old 06-20-2013   #1
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 49,132
get a winder?

if my xd11 advance lever is problematic...would using a winder help?

one of my xd11 bodies has a problem with double exposure/needing to be wound twice occasionally to advance the film one frame...would using a winder side step that issue?
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2013   #2
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac's Avatar
 
farlymac is online now
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 6,149
You would think that a motor winder would cure something like that. But something else might be in play here. A worn spring could be letting the film transport not advance due to a catch pawl not locking into place. Most of that takes place at the top of the camera, with the shutter works being at the bottom.

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2013   #3
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 49,132
..A worn spring could be letting the film transport not advance due to a catch pawl not locking into place...
say wha?

i am not a handy guy...lol!
the camera had a recent cla but the lever advance had something not repairable about it...to quote, ' winding lever latch control is broken and cannot be repaired.'
my understanding about that was the advance lever did a complete return to the body and would not stay in an away position, at the ready.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2013   #4
nikon_sam
Shooter of Film...
 
nikon_sam's Avatar
 
nikon_sam is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 4,941
For the going price of a winder it's worth trying...

Been thinking of getting one for my Canon A-1 just to protect the nice clean bottom...
__________________
Sam
"tongue tied & twisted
just an earthbound misfit...I..."
pf
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2013   #5
pakeha
Registered User
 
pakeha is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Pacific
Posts: 901
This may or may not help.
I picked up two Minolta x series cameras from the local thrift store.Both of them had wind on problems.I discovered that the build quality of the lever and key that the lever locks into was pretty average.The lever would not 'lock' into the 'cutout' as the square section was badly worn.It would occasionally wind on fully but mostly not.In the end I made a new lever for one of them which solved problem..since on sold.
Take the lever off and see if it is seating correctly on the top of the shaft. Its a one screw removal job I believe.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2013   #6
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 49,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikon_sam View Post
For the going price of a winder it's worth trying...
cheap on eBay but they get you on shipping!
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2013   #7
nikon_sam
Shooter of Film...
 
nikon_sam's Avatar
 
nikon_sam is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alta Loma, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 4,941
Shipping to Canada can get pricey...
__________________
Sam
"tongue tied & twisted
just an earthbound misfit...I..."
pf
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2013   #8
oftheherd
Registered User
 
oftheherd's Avatar
 
oftheherd is offline
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by pakeha View Post
This may or may not help.
I picked up two Minolta x series cameras from the local thrift store.Both of them had wind on problems.I discovered that the build quality of the lever and key that the lever locks into was pretty average.The lever would not 'lock' into the 'cutout' as the square section was badly worn.It would occasionally wind on fully but mostly not.In the end I made a new lever for one of them which solved problem..since on sold.
Take the lever off and see if it is seating correctly on the top of the shaft. Its a one screw removal job I believe.
If that is the problem a machine shop might be able to make the part for not too much money.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-21-2013   #9
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 6,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
one of my xd11 bodies has a problem with double exposure/needing to be wound twice occasionally to advance the film one frame...would using a winder side step that issue?
I never had a Minolta other than the SRT and CLE. But in general, YMMV. If having to wind a second time is due to wear or dirt in the lever gearing (and the XD11 should be modern enough to use a direct winder drive independent of the lever gears), a winder might help. If the issue is somewhere closer to the shutter or take-up spool and affects both lever and winder transport, chances are that the camera will be even worse off on the winder, as that will at the very best light up a error lamp, and won't cheat and wind a second time like you do by hand.

Overall I've had more cameras which I eventually had to use without motor/winder when they developed reliability problems than vice versa - but that may be due to the fact that my heavy use cameras were predominantly worn out using a motor, not the lever.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-21-2013   #10
Sarcophilus Harrisii
Brett Rogers
 
Sarcophilus Harrisii is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
if my xd11 advance lever is problematic...would using a winder help?

one of my xd11 bodies has a problem with double exposure/needing to be wound twice occasionally to advance the film one frame...would using a winder side step that issue?
Some topical discussion here regarding winder and double exposures Joe. The comments made seem to suggest the answer to your question might be "yes".

From a quick look through the (detailed, and informative) repair manual linked from the above page (pdf here) I would not have thought replacing the relevant parts to actually fix the problem should be a big deal, or a time consuming job, for a competent technician.

They're very very different under the top cover from the SRT I repaired last week. Chalk and cheese.
Cheers,
Brett
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 19:29.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.