what is happenig in my scanner
Old 01-17-2008   #1
xavi
Registered User
 
xavi is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
what is happenig in my scanner

Hi,
I'm traying to scann my slides with a "new" scanner, Dimage Elite 5400 II, but in the imeges appears this strange colors that you can see, specially in the dark parts.
Any suggestion?. Is the scanner broken or it's any problem with the software?
thank's a lot
best regards
xavi
Attached Images
File Type: jpg borregos2.jpg (288.8 KB, 52 views)
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2008   #2
foto_fool
Registered User
 
foto_fool is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 733
Don't think it is a scanner problem. It just looks to me like you need to pull back the contrast a lot, and balance highlights/midtones and RGB a little. What software?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2008   #3
xavi
Registered User
 
xavi is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
Thank's for your opinion john
i'm using it's own software, the dimage scan elite 5400 II, without any modification in the levels, just as it appears in the "easy scann" option.
regards
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2008   #4
aad
Not so new now.
 
aad is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,231
Looks like a good start-bring the image into Photoshop or Elements, youcould just try auto-color correction, should straighten it right out. My experience with 3rd party software and Minolta scanners indicated I was wasting a lot of time.

If you're scanning a whole lot, you can try some of the color correction tools in the Minolta software so you don't have to edit each one.
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=3426'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2008   #5
foto_fool
Registered User
 
foto_fool is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 733
xavi - I have never used the Minolta software so I can't comment on how to adjust the settings, but AFAIK all film scanner packages have tools for these adjustments. You probably have the option of some sort of "professional" or "advanced" mode instead of "easy scan".

I'm using an old version of PS (ver. 6) and hate the auto-levels for color - it gives me weird results every time. I always tweak color settings before the scan (i'm using Silversast Ai or EpsonScan). Auto-contrast works better in PS but I still try to get the contrast close to perfect on the preview before the final scan.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 21:06.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.