First 50mm lens decision, help!
Old 06-06-2017   #1
Cabledog

First 50mm lens decision, help!

So I'm waiting on my M4 to arrive and need to buy my first lens. I'm new to the leica world of lenses and perhaps people could help me decide. I have the option to get a summicron m 50 for the same price as a zeiss planar. I just sold my hasselblad 501cm and I miss the creamy tones and pop from my cf lenses. Do zeiss lenses for the leica give similar tones? Should I go summicron? I've been researching for hours and my head is going to pop from information overload.

For $1,000 or less which would you guys choose?

Old 06-06-2017   #2
Cabledog

I've also been researching the 50mm c biogon because it's slightly more compact but I'm seeing things like focus shift and CA coming up frequently but overall people like it. Thoughts?

Old 06-06-2017   #3
michaelwj
----------------

Thoughts?
They're all good and it really comes down to other things. Leica and Voigtlander lenses have 1/2 stop aperture rings, while Zeiss have 1/3 stops. Zeiss have a little focus nub, while the others either have a full tab (v4 summicron) or nothing (v5 summicron). Other things like filter size and the like could sway you if you're going to build a system.
Also you should take a serious look at the Voigtlander lenses, they are excellent, especially at their price.
Above all else, if you get the Zeiss, will you still wonder about the Leica?

Old 06-06-2017   #4
Rayt

Do you have a budget for the lens? It is a personal choice but for creamy tone I would go a lower contrast vintage Summicron preferably a DR.

Old 06-06-2017   #5
bayernfan

post a link to some of your favorite images shot in the past with a 50mm equiv and i'll give you the best insight i can on the lens to purchase.

Old 06-06-2017   #6
WJJ3

Tough dilemma! For a thousand bucks you could get a 5cm Elmar and a 50mm Nokton and explore classic and modern lenses.

Flickr

Old 06-06-2017   #7
Cabledog