Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > 120 / 220 film RF's

120 / 220 film RF's 120 / 220 format rangefinders including Fuji, Koni-Omega, Mamiya Press, Linhof 6x7/6x9 cameras, Mamiya 6/7 among others, but excluding the 120 folders and the Voigtlander 667 cameras that have their own forums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Shutter won't fire on Mamiya 7
Old 10-23-2011   #1
scottyb70
Registered User
 
scottyb70 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 211
Shutter won't fire on Mamiya 7

just recently purchased a Mamiya 7 with 43mm lens. I had it CLA'D and calibrated. The circuit board was replaced. I received it back and installed a fresh battery and a roll of film and the shutter won't fire. I removed the film and tried it again, same thing happened. The shutter curtain is open, I went over everything and read the manual. The battery reads 6.25v on my meter. I tried dry firing with the back door open and it works perfect. Is there something I am doing wrong.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #2
newsgrunt
Registered User
 
newsgrunt's Avatar
 
newsgrunt is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,157
is the self timer on by any chance ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #3
scottyb70
Registered User
 
scottyb70 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 211
How can I tell if the self timer is on?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #4
JayC
5 kids,3 dogs,only 1 wife
 
JayC's Avatar
 
JayC is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 531
Probably needs a new shutter release magnet.
__________________
my Flickr photostream
my blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #5
scottyb70
Registered User
 
scottyb70 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 211
Still playing around with it, no success. Thanks for help.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #6
scottyb70
Registered User
 
scottyb70 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 211
I am curious why they didn't see this when I had sent it in for a complete overhaul. I paid big bucks for the CLA.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #7
Bob Michaels
nobody special
 
Bob Michaels's Avatar
 
Bob Michaels is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Apopka FL (USA)
Age: 75
Posts: 3,735
I always am hesitant to risk insulting someone's intelligence but is there a chance the curtain to change lenses is closed? I know that will keep the shutter from firing.
__________________
http://www.bobmichaels.org
internet forums appear to have an abundance of anonymous midgets prancing on stilts
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #8
scottyb70
Registered User
 
scottyb70 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 211
Curtain is open. Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #9
Bob Michaels
nobody special
 
Bob Michaels's Avatar
 
Bob Michaels is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Apopka FL (USA)
Age: 75
Posts: 3,735
The shutter will not fire until the film is completely advanced to the first frame as I remember. Could this interlock possibly be the problem?
__________________
http://www.bobmichaels.org
internet forums appear to have an abundance of anonymous midgets prancing on stilts
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #10
scottyb70
Registered User
 
scottyb70 is offline
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 211
I did go to the first frame,number 1. red light on in corner not blinkung, getting fstop read out,but no shutter fire.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-23-2011   #11
JayC
5 kids,3 dogs,only 1 wife
 
JayC's Avatar
 
JayC is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 531
I had the same issue. Shutter magnet.
__________________
my Flickr photostream
my blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-2011   #12
EdSawyer
Registered User
 
EdSawyer is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 163
Who did the CLA? Let us know how it works out. For those who have had the shutter magnet fixed - is that in the lens or the camera? is it a big job?

haven't heard about that issue before...

thanks
-ED
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-2011   #13
JayC
5 kids,3 dogs,only 1 wife
 
JayC's Avatar
 
JayC is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 531
It is inexpensive. Maybe $50 or so if I recall correctly. Also (iirc) it is on the body. It is a tiny magnet about the size of screw head. It communicates to the camera that the shutter has been fired. When you click the shutter button, it clicks but the camera doesn't realize that, so it won't let you wind on.
__________________
my Flickr photostream
my blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-2011   #14
john_s
Registered User
 
john_s is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayC View Post
It is inexpensive. Maybe $50 or so if I recall correctly. Also (iirc) it is on the body. It is a tiny magnet about the size of screw head. It communicates to the camera that the shutter has been fired. When you click the shutter button, it clicks but the camera doesn't realize that, so it won't let you wind on.
Do you know where it is and if it's difficult to repair?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-2011   #15
RF4Fun
Registered User
 
RF4Fun is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayC View Post
It is inexpensive. Maybe $50 or so if I recall correctly. Also (iirc) it is on the body. It is a tiny magnet about the size of screw head. It communicates to the camera that the shutter has been fired. When you click the shutter button, it clicks but the camera doesn't realize that, so it won't let you wind on.
I am curious. if it's the shutter magnet issue, why the OP can dry fire it w/ the back open?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-2011   #16
Chaser
Registered User
 
Chaser's Avatar
 
Chaser is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: forest grove, OR
Age: 36
Posts: 623
I had a similar problem before sending a 7 off for a cla a few years back. You might try opening and closing the lens change shutter a few times. If that safety switch is going, sometimes you can get the camera to fire after opening and closing the lens change shutter a few times. If that lets you shoot intermittently, then it is a simple fix. Like JayC said about $50.
__________________
My blog

My Gallery

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-2011   #17
john_s
Registered User
 
john_s is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 845
I have a Mamiya 6 body that needs repair. The magnet can be made to work by releasing the lens mount and then extending it again. There is an audible click when it works.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:15.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.