is it me or the xe3?
Old 02-13-2018   #1
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
is it me or the xe3?

i use the xe3 on a daily basis...lately when i turn it on and check that no dials have moved, i have noticed that some menu settings have changed...like, which iso it's set for, or what film simulation is set...
any one else going through this?
am i missing a lock feature or have my electronics started to go?
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #2
Larry H-L
Registered User
 
Larry H-L is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 449
Do you use the "custom dial" settings?

Sometimes I change a custom setting on the fly, and then forget to "save" the changes to the custom setting before I shut the camera off.

Then, when I turn my camera back on, the settings revert to the previously saved custom settings.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #3
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry H-L View Post
Do you use the "custom dial" settings?

Sometimes I change a custom setting on the fly, and then forget to "save" the changes to the custom setting before I shut the camera off.

Then, when I turn my camera back on, the settings revert to the previously saved custom settings.
i don't use the custom settings often...
on another forum someone did a complete reset and then input his settings and that seems to work.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #4
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,638
How many menus have changes? Same ones every time? Back to factory settings or other values?

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #5
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
went from acros red to colour...
changed from one iso to another...3 different auto iso setups...
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #6
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,638
It's your dog.......

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #7
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillBingham2 View Post
It's your dog.......

B2 (;->
yes, yes it is...
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #8
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,638
On a more serious note it's strange that only a few go wonky. I'm wondering if there are other forums/sites that might have a larger number of XE-3 users. Is there a user-support-forum from Fuji that you could post a question to?

She's all solid state memory and worked fine for a while before. Spinning disk I could see dropping a bit here or there, but not solid state after working.

Any XE-3 users out there have something like this happening?

Anyone else have a very cute loving dog with a wickedly rye sense of humor?

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #9
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
i'm going to try a complete reset, maybe tomorrow if i have time to set it up again.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-2018   #10
gavinlg
Registered User
 
gavinlg's Avatar
 
gavinlg is offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wellington NZ
Posts: 4,961
Sometimes these cameras have an internal battery that keeps charge when the main battery is charging, and when the button style battery runs flat they lose settings when the main battery is out. Worth checking to see if it does have an internal battery?
__________________
NO PRAISE
@gavinlagrange
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #11
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinlg View Post
Sometimes these cameras have an internal battery that keeps charge when the main battery is charging, and when the button style battery runs flat they lose settings when the main battery is out. Worth checking to see if it does have an internal battery?
a good (but frustrating) idea...i'm assuming that i would have to send the body off to fuji for a battery replacement.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #12
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
went for my walk earlier and all was good, nothing changed on it's own. i did not alter my behaviour in any way.
weird...
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #13
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
a good (but frustrating) idea...i'm assuming that i would have to send the body off to fuji for a battery replacement.
My New-To-Me XE-2 is back at KEH as it came with a dead internal battery. I's somewhere in the process, but everything went back to factory setting, date, time, all settings.

My guess is that the XE-3 would have the same basic design.

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #14
ptpdprinter
Registered User
 
ptpdprinter is online now
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 984
Do I remember correctly that this is your XE3 that overheated in your camera case when you first got it? If so, the internal battery circuit could have been damaged and is acting up intermittently. I would have expected that it would reset everything, however, rather than just random settings.
__________________
ambientlightcollection.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #15
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptpdprinter View Post
Do I remember correctly that this is your XE3 that overheated in your camera case when you first got it? If so, the internal battery circuit could have been damaged and is acting up intermittently. I would have expected that it would reset everything, however, rather than just random settings.
not the same body...the dealer traded me for a new one.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #16
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillBingham2 View Post
My New-To-Me XE-2 is back at KEH as it came with a dead internal battery. I's somewhere in the process, but everything went back to factory setting, date, time, all settings.

My guess is that the XE-3 would have the same basic design.
Doubt they actually use an internal battery for settings storage. Flash memory is cheap and prevalent now (and also built into many microprocessors). Flash memory has no need for an internal battery. Internal battery is likely just for the clock.

The camera will reset all settings if it thinks its internal memory is corrupted. Also if you change settings and then pull the battery without shutting it off the camera won't have saved your changes so your settings go back to where you were when the camera was turned on. At least the XP2 does this, haven't tried it on the XE2.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #17
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
Doubt they actually use an internal battery for settings storage. Flash memory is cheap and prevalent now (and also built into many microprocessors). Flash memory has no need for an internal battery. Internal battery is likely just for the clock.

The camera will reset all settings if it thinks its internal memory is corrupted. Also if you change settings and then pull the battery without shutting it off the camera won't have saved your changes so your settings go back to where you were when the camera was turned on. At least the XP2 does this, haven't tried it on the XE2.

Shawn
well, that complicates things a bit more...
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #18
Darthfeeble
But you can call me Steve
 
Darthfeeble's Avatar
 
Darthfeeble is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Logtown, California, USA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,272
It lives!! My creation Lives!!! Oh wait, that's not photography..... Sorry Joe.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-14-2018   #19
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
Doubt they actually use an internal battery for settings storage. Flash memory is cheap and prevalent now (and also built into many microprocessors). Flash memory has no need for an internal battery. Internal battery is likely just for the clock.

The camera will reset all settings if it thinks its internal memory is corrupted. Also if you change settings and then pull the battery without shutting it off the camera won't have saved your changes so your settings go back to where you were when the camera was turned on. At least the XP2 does this, haven't tried it on the XE2.

Shawn
In speaking with KEH it seems that Sony is a bit more famous for having the problem with internal batteries going bad. Low cost bidder is such a wonderful thing.

CMOS batteries in computers are used to keep not only the clock running but basic hardware configuration used for booting.

While it's possible to write a bit of code that would reset memory to factory settings if the system thinks it corrupted. That's a pretty big level of smarts for a small embedded system. You need to have a battery to keep the time/date current so I doubt they will go through the added expense.

I wonder what the high end digital camera makers do?

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-15-2018   #20
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillBingham2 View Post

While it's possible to write a bit of code that would reset memory to factory settings if the system thinks it corrupted. That's a pretty big level of smarts for a small embedded system. You need to have a battery to keep the time/date current so I doubt they will go through the added expense.

I wonder what the high end digital camera makers do?

B2 (;->
Not really, just a checksum is all it would take. A couple of lines of code is less expensive than hardware to supply a battery to memory to just keep settings current. And it would still want to have a checksum to make sure settings are valid and not corrupted by a brownout.

The X Pro 2 had a bug where it would wipe its settings occasionally. Many had the same thought about a 'bad battery.' Firmware v1.01 fixed it which confirms a battery wasn't the problem.

The other way you can tell it is likely using flash memory to save settings.... the camera doesn't save the settings till you turn it off. It loads settings into ram to run and adjusts those settings while you are using the camera. When you switch the camera off it updates the stored settings. Probably to reduce the number of writes to the internal flash memory which has a finite number of write cycles. (In the thousands at least) If you pull the battery the camera will loose any changes you made during that run cycle.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2018   #21
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 44
Posts: 19,024
This camera is trying very hard to make you hate it Joe...
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2018   #22
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
This camera is trying very hard to make you hate it Joe...
i wonder that sometimes...

i have 2 xe3 bodies, a black and a silver...the silver works fine the black has a mind of it's own. even when set the same way the black body screen does not show all that the silver body does.

good thing i like the pics they both make.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2018   #23
benlees
Registered User
 
benlees is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Age: 46
Posts: 1,345
It's like that old saying: if you have one watch you know what time it is, if you have two you're never quite sure...
__________________
flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2018   #24
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by benlees View Post
It's like that old saying: if you have one watch you know what time it is, if you have two you're never quite sure...
ha!


.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2018   #25
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
i wonder that sometimes...

i have 2 xe3 bodies, a black and a silver...the silver works fine the black has a mind of it's own. even when set the same way the black body screen does not show all that the silver body does.
Press the disp(lay) button on the rear to switch between different displays.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-16-2018   #26
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
i don't think that's it...on my black body nothing i have done gets me the 'touch screen' symbol while on the silver one it is there...and both cameras are set the same.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-2018   #27
tbhv55
Registered User
 
tbhv55 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 62
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
on my black body nothing i have done gets me the 'touch screen' symbol
I'm going to risk asking an obvious question here, but presumably you've checked the box for "TOUCH SCREEN MODE" (under the "DISP. CUSTOM SETTING" menu) ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-2018   #28
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbhv55 View Post
I'm going to risk asking an obvious question here, but presumably you've checked the box for "TOUCH SCREEN MODE" (under the "DISP. CUSTOM SETTING" menu) ?
Yep...


.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-2018   #29
tbhv55
Registered User
 
tbhv55 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Age: 62
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by back alley View Post
Yep...
I thought you would have - however, I thought it worth asking. After all, just occasionally the dumb questions actually do turn out to be worth asking!

I must say that while Fuji make great cameras, there are quirks, nonetheless. Mine regularly decides to stop displaying the battery gauge... then, a while later, it mysteriously reappears, for no obvious reason.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-2018   #30
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbhv55 View Post
I thought you would have - however, I thought it worth asking. After all, just occasionally the dumb questions actually do turn out to be worth asking!

I must say that while Fuji make great cameras, there are quirks, nonetheless. Mine regularly decides to stop displaying the battery gauge... then, a while later, it mysteriously reappears, for no obvious reason.
i don't feel so alone now...

i both checked and unchecked the display box and got the same result...
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-2018   #31
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 44
Posts: 19,024
Saw a few people complaining of this on the various Fuji related FB groups.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-2018   #32
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
Saw a few people complaining of this on the various Fuji related FB groups.
i saw that too...one person had the camera do a complete reset.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-2018   #33
oltimer
Registered User
 
oltimer is offline
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 76
Posts: 394
Following your problem closely as I have 2 Fuji's, with one being like yours. Was your batteries fully charged when all this happened? The reason I ask, is the charger I got with my XE3 was acting up, but the Wasabi Charger I got charges very well. Maybe it's the wrong question here, but I notice no mention of the condition of your batteries in this thread.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-2018   #34
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by oltimer View Post
Following your problem closely as I have 2 Fuji's, with one being like yours. Was your batteries fully charged when all this happened? The reason I ask, is the charger I got with my XE3 was acting up, but the Wasabi Charger I got charges very well. Maybe it's the wrong question here, but I notice no mention of the condition of your batteries in this thread.
using 126s batteries in both bodies...usually fully charged in a known charger before i head out.
as for the mystery...it has not done it this weekend at all.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-2018   #35
back alley
IMAGES
 
back alley's Avatar
 
back alley is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: true north strong & free
Posts: 48,860
btw...i'm hoping for a software fix once fuji gets enough complaints and sorts it through.
__________________
heart soul & a camera
xe3...
16/18/23/23/27/35/50/56/60/15-45/55-200
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:10.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.