SD Card problem with M9
Old 05-15-2011   #1
hugivza
Registered User
 
hugivza's Avatar
 
hugivza is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 76
Posts: 428
SD Card problem with M9

I took my new M9 out for a "test drive" over the weekend. It took me a while to work out that the 8Mb SD card was not storing images (I plead the geriatric defence to taking time to recognise the problem). I replaced it with a 4Mb card from my Dlux 3 which worked perfectly. Here is the rub - the 8Mb card worked in the Dlux without any problem. Has anyone else had this problem, or is it a case of technophobic incompetence on my part?
__________________
Contax IIIa, IIa, Leica M 240, M Mono, MP, X1, DLux 109, Sony A7r, Lumix GH-3.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2011   #2
segedi
RFicianado
 
segedi's Avatar
 
segedi is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,233
Try formatting in the M9 and see if that solves it.
__________________
-----------------------

Segedi.com

Flickr

Twitter
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-2011   #3
hugivza
Registered User
 
hugivza's Avatar
 
hugivza is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 76
Posts: 428
Thanks I will give it a try
__________________
Contax IIIa, IIa, Leica M 240, M Mono, MP, X1, DLux 109, Sony A7r, Lumix GH-3.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-16-2011   #4
hugivza
Registered User
 
hugivza's Avatar
 
hugivza is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 76
Posts: 428
I think that the card must be stuffed. I tried formatting in the M9, then on the computer, and back to the M9 to no avail. Interestingly, the card in question is an 8 GB Sandisk Ultra (15 MB/s) card. Perhaps the transfer rate is incompatible. Cards which work in the M9 are all of the "cooking" variety. Perhaps the lesson is to stay down market.
__________________
Contax IIIa, IIa, Leica M 240, M Mono, MP, X1, DLux 109, Sony A7r, Lumix GH-3.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-16-2011   #5
250swb
-
 
250swb is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Peak District, United Kingdom
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugivza View Post
Cards which work in the M9 are all of the "cooking" variety. Perhaps the lesson is to stay down market.
I don't think that is in the least bit true. I've been using Sandisk 16gb Extreme III cards in my M9 for over a year now and without any problems at all.

Steve
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-2011   #6
hugivza
Registered User
 
hugivza's Avatar
 
hugivza is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 76
Posts: 428
Steve - the truth of my experience is beyond doubt, the reasons for it may be occluded such as a defective card. I have dumped the card and life continues.
__________________
Contax IIIa, IIa, Leica M 240, M Mono, MP, X1, DLux 109, Sony A7r, Lumix GH-3.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-18-2011   #7
Paul Luscher
Registered User
 
Paul Luscher is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 649
Happened to me when I first got the M(. bought a set of cheap Chinese SD cards, the camera couldn't seem to read them. Bought me a set of Sandisk cards and everything worked out fine....
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 22:57.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.