How do Leicas break?
Old 11-30-2019   #1
IIIg

How do Leicas break?

I've owned, and used, Wetzlar Leicas since 1963 (a nice IIIc at first, with a Serenar 50/1.8) and have since acquired other Barnack jewels, some M series beauties, and some Leica reflexes (my comments today go only to the Leicaflex SL2 -I'll leave the properties of the Leica "R"'s for some other time).

I state this to present my credentials and suggest that I have a bit of practical experience with Leica hardware.

Let me begin-

1) I have some 50 years experience with Barnack Leicas. Ignoring gummy shutter escapements (old age and airborne oxygen, not a Wetzlar-origin problem); my experience is that when my Barnacks have failed, the problem was crinkly/cracked shutter curtains or flakes of trash from the internal anti-relection coating on the VF walls obscuring the VF/RF. Never had any of the basic camera mechanicals go wrong here including my Barnack IIIAs.

It is all to easy to wind film slivers, flakes, into a Barnack Leica shutter - especially if one is trimming the film leader freehand. When I knew the culprits were there, I've removed the slivers with a pair of gas pliers (best thing I had in my meager tool kit).

That being said, the camera coverings often flake and fall off. Easily remediated - "Camera Leather" has a fix and Youxin does a fine job.

2) With my Leicas M3s, the common problem has been broken springs. These have been in the self timer (which I seldom use) or the frame counter which I use all the time. After 70 years, when my DS M3s are in for service, I'll have the springs replaced as a matter of course.

The covering on a Leica M3 can also crumble to dust. Repeating myself here, see Cameraleather or let Dag or Youxin provide a replacement.

3) Leicaflex, Leicaflex SL, Leicaflex SL2.

The self timer seems to be weak on these. I pay for repairs because I enjoy using the original Leicaflex; your opinion will vary.