Color Tint in TRI-X by accident?
Old 01-09-2017   #1
Moogie77

Color Tint in TRI-X by accident?

Dear forum friends,

I am seeking for help from you.

Just recently I got two of my pictures deleted from a B&W group on flickr as one of the moderators claimed them to be color tinted.

However I did not color tint anything. It was pure TRI-X developed in HC-110 and also in Lightroom I did not add any color or something...

Don't know how exactly this happened as I am still a beginner in film but I did not modify it in any way...

Just added a bit of contrast...

Also in Silverfast I selected TRI-X as scanned film and scanned with Plustek 8200i.

Anyway I like the results but also I am wondering what do you think? Do they really look color tinted or is just the special tri-x look?

As I am still kind of new to film I am absolutely clueless how to interpret this.

I hope maybe you have some comments which can help me to understand?

Thanks to all of you, Miguel

And here the two concerned images:

[IMG]Exhaust_Reflection_1 by Miguel Buschhauer, on Flickr[/IMG]

[IMG]Simon_after_D3_7 by Miguel Buschhauer, on Flickr[/IMG]

Last edited by Moogie77 : 01-09-2017 at 07:29. Reason: corrected typing errors

Old 01-09-2017   #2
mpaniagua

ummm Same thing happens to me when I left the defaults setting on. Just reduce the saturation parameter to 0 and you will get more pure black and white. Yeah, I suppose it could count as Color Tint, done unaware but still tint. I

Old 01-09-2017   #3
mpaniagua

Here some "tint" from Kentmere 400, when I was new to Silverfast:

Kinda yellowish I suppose.

Old 01-09-2017   #4
sevo
Fokutorendaburando

All black and white films contain dyes - most notably sensitizers, anti-lightpiping and anti-halation dyes. Not all of them will wash out in the processing - negatives usually will have a blue, green or pink stain. If you colour print or scan them, that will show up in the final result...

Old 01-09-2017   #5
Moogie77

Hi mpaniagua and sevo,