Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Fuji X Series > Fuji X-Pro Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

X-Pro2: Saving to Cards 1 and 2 Problem
Old 11-06-2016   #1
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
X-Pro2: Saving to Cards 1 and 2 Problem

My three-month-old X-Pro2 is acting up.

Simply put I have the camera set up to save sequentially on cards 1 and 2 as JPEGs. After taking about 50 shots while in Paris last week, on replay to review the images, I found that card one was showing the ‘! 1 NO IMAGE’ message; all my shots on card one had been deleted and the camera had switched by itself to card two.

Presently I can save to card two only. If I switch slots to card one the camera just reverts back to card two.

I’ve checked the Internet and can find one other reference to this issue and but no resolution. I’m thinking of a ‘reset’ and maybe updating to the latest firmware.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #2
Highway 61
Revisited
 
Highway 61's Avatar
 
Highway 61 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,548
Wouldn't the Card 1 parameters set so that it's here to save the RAW files only because of this setting so deeply buried in the menu (something the Fuji are famous for) that you haven't paid attention to it ?
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #3
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
Thank you Highway61, for your response.

Unless I have missed something, no.

The saving mode is set to sequential JPEG (Save Data Set-up>Card Slot Setting (Still Image)>Sequential. Switch Card Slot reads (Sequential).

Images save to card two only; I can’t save to card one. If I change to card slot one the camera automatically changes saving to card slot two.

The camera has been working, saving JPEGs sequentially, perfectly well until Monday when it deleted images arbitrarily on card one and now only saves to card two.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #4
Bob T
Registered User
 
Bob T is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Have you tried a different card in the card 1 slot? I've had cards go bad and cause strange problems.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #5
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
Yes, Bob T.

Various cards (sizes, makes) all formatted in the X-Pro2.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #6
Highway 61
Revisited
 
Highway 61's Avatar
 
Highway 61 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Atherton View Post
The camera has been working, saving JPEGs sequentially, perfectly well until Monday when it deleted images arbitrarily on card one and now only saves to card two.
Do you mean that some files were deleted out of the blue, and therefore, lost ?

Have you since explored that SD card with a computer and tried to recover the files using a recovery software ?
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #7
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
Yes Highway 61, all card one images deleted and lost… and I’ve checked on the computer though I haven't tried any recovery software. Scary, isn’t it?

At first I thought I had maybe inadvertently pressed buttons with the camera on my hip, deleting the card one images or accidentally formatting card one, but I have the camera set with the rear buttons locked.

Thankfully, for the rest of Paris trip I saved to card two, which has been working fine.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #8
Peter Wijninga
Registered User
 
Peter Wijninga's Avatar
 
Peter Wijninga is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,281
You are aware that the first card slot on the X-pro2 is UHS-II and the second is type UHS-I?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2016   #9
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Wijninga View Post
You are aware that the first card slot on the X-pro2 is UHS-II and the second is type UHS-I?
Yes, Peter. Camera was working fine until Monday.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-07-2016   #10
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,662
Sadly it sounds as though your camera has failed.

For memory cards the most common failure mode involves some sort of blockage or damage to the female card connector. So check out both connectors visually and see if you notice any difference. A different approach would be to 'reset' the camera's CPU just in case there was a firmware glitch.
__________________
“To see what is in front of one’s nose needs a constant struggle.” George Orwell

williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-07-2016   #11
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by willie_901 View Post
Sadly it sounds as though your camera has failed.
My conclusion too, William.

Last night I exploded other saving modes; with the same SD cards the camera saves perfectly as ‘Backup’ and ‘RAW/JPEG’ modes, just refuses to save ‘Sequentially’.

Currently I’m using the camera in ‘Backup’ mode. When I’ve time maybe later this week I’ll contact Fuji UK and seek advice.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-07-2016   #12
HenryN
Registered User
 
HenryN is offline
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
I had the same problem last week when I was on vacation in South Korea. When walking around and the camera in playback mode, I think the joystick was jostled and changed the saving of my jpegs all to card 2. I was unable to change back even though I tried.

After reading your post here I set the file mode back to Raw + jpeg and selected Raw on card 1 and jpeg on card 2. Took a picture and then changed the setting back to jpeg fine only and selected card 1 and sequential.

That did the trick. Now I can save sequentially on card 1. Should work for you too.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-08-2016   #13
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
A brief update: I was advised to 'RESET' the 'SHOOTING MENU RESET', which I've done.

Sequential saving has been restored, although given my experience of arbitrarily losing my images, I'm reluctant to use this method. For now I'm sticking to 'Backup' mode.

Hope this helps anyone else in a similar situation.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-05-2016   #14
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
My apology for not tidying up this thread sooner. On 21 November I received the following via email from Fujifilm:

Dear Brian,

Thank you for your reply and we apologise for the delay in replying to you.

Thank you for the additional information. We would advise updating the camera to the latest version of the firmware at the following link and the lenses if required.. Please note, should the issue persist then please visit the following link to prebook your camera. We will send you prepaid packaging to return the camera only with a copy of proof of purchase to our service department free of charge and please visit the following link to register your camera for a repair.

http://repair.fujifilm.co.uk/

Please update the camera body first and then the lenses. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
X-Pro2
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi...ro2/index.html

XF23mm F1.4 R
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi...3mm/index.html

F35mm F2 R WR
http://www.fujifilm.com/support/digi...mf2/index.html

The Fujifilm X World Team
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-05-2016   #15
Lss
Registered User
 
Lss is offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,755
Any explanation what happened to your images? Were you able to recover?
__________________
Lasse
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-05-2016   #16
Brian Atherton
Registered User
 
Brian Atherton's Avatar
 
Brian Atherton is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Based in Blighty
Posts: 454
No idea, and Fuji has not commented or given me an explanation, Lss. Fuji just requested I email them all of my camera settings and brand and size of the SD cards used (Sandisk 32GB Extreme 90MB/sec).

The SD card from slot 1 is empty and in the camera shows ‘! 1 NO IMAGE’. On my computer the card shows as being empty, I haven’t been able to recover any files.

On the day the problem occurred, over about an hour I had taken around fifty Acros images and occasionally checked them on playback on the rear screen, the time I checked the last shot I had just taken the screen then showed ‘! 1 NO IMAGE’.

Since resetting the camera I have had no further problems. However, I no longer use the ‘Sequential’ save setting but use ‘Back up’.

At present I haven’t updated the software as Fuji suggest, but I will do this maybe at the weekend when I have spare time.

Hope this helps anyone unfortunate to find themselves in the same position.
__________________
Brian

"Maintenant, mon ami !"
http://www.asingulareye.wordpress.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 00:35.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.