Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Help / Feedback forum

Help / Feedback forum This area should address site improvements and help with the forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Getting logged out
Old 05-21-2018   #1
flyte
Registered User
 
flyte is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Getting logged out

Hi everyone, I recently joined and have a very noobie question, I keep getting logged out after a few minutes, I've looked through userCP etc but cant find a way to change it, what am I doing wrong ?
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #2
css9450
Registered User
 
css9450's Avatar
 
css9450 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,948
That happens to me too. I'll log on so I can make a post, but before I finish typing it, it has logged me out.



You can click on "Remember Me" and it'll keep you logged on each time you visit, but who knows whatever else it might do or track what you do.
__________________
Nikon S2, S3, F, F2, F3, FM2, FA, N90S, D80, D7000, D750, Sony a6000, Canon IIf, Leica CL, Tower type 3, Zorki 4, Vito B, Perkeo II, Rollei 35....
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #3
oftheherd
Registered User
 
oftheherd's Avatar
 
oftheherd is offline
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by css9450 View Post
That happens to me too. I'll log on so I can make a post, but before I finish typing it, it has logged me out.



You can click on "Remember Me" and it'll keep you logged on each time you visit, but who knows whatever else it might do or track what you do.
For years I have checked the box for keep me logged on. Convenient as any time I return, I am automatically logged in. And I don't get kicked out after a few minutes.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #4
Steve M.
Registered User
 
Steve M. is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,382
I never thought about the tracking angle. Duh. I stay logged in on google gmail, my other email, eBay, and other stuff besides RFF just out of convenience. Guess everyone knows everything about me at this point, so after many years may as well leave it be :]
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #5
flyte
Registered User
 
flyte is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Hi guys and thanks but I cant find either of those options, cant see "remember me" or "keep me logged in". Its also glitchy when I try to go to home or forums page, I seem to get different pages sometimes. Starting to wonder if its a problem at my end, might try a different browser.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #6
rfaspen
Registered User
 
rfaspen's Avatar
 
rfaspen is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 1,683
Not sure what's happening on your end with the odd pages and glitches, etc.

BUT, I also would get logged out after a short while. I have no idea why, but I check the "remember me" box when logging in and that did solve the problem.

So, when you sort things out enough to see the "remember me" option, it should fix the logging-out problem.

And, once you fix that, you will likely enjoy RFF very much.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #7
seany65
Registered User
 
seany65 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,086
flyte, the 'remember me' box is right next to the bit where you write your name and password, or at least it is with Firefox and Opera.

When logging-out I always have to log-out twice, dunno if anyone else has to.
__________________
An ever-growing amount of photo-stuff and a never-growing amount of photo-talent.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #8
halfaninchawater
Registered User
 
halfaninchawater is offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 23
You might check to see if you have turned off "cookies" in your browser settings. It may even be a function of your browser security settings. I believe that when you log in the RFF website it creates a cookie that remembers you, providing you have clicked the appropriate box as described above.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #9
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac's Avatar
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 6,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by seany65 View Post
flyte, the 'remember me' box is right next to the bit where you write your name and password, or at least it is with Firefox and Opera.

When logging-out I always have to log-out twice, dunno if anyone else has to.

Yeah, I do the double log out. I think what happens when you log in is it connects to the Forum page first, then the Home page. And yes, one does have to select the Remember Me box when logging in. Supposedly the new version of the software will address these issues. There was at least one other forum I belonged to that you had to select Remember Me, but that was long ago, and it doesn't exist anymore.


PF
__________________
Waiting for the light
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2018   #10
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is offline
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 13,055
To add to the above, the choice of browser can make a significant difference. Firefox and Google Chrome work well, Safari is ok, MS Explorer is not ok.
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-2018   #11
flyte
Registered User
 
flyte is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 8
Uhhhh....still trying to solve this, I'm on a few forums and have no problems, tried opera today but its the same so I'm guessing its a problem at my end, maybe an old add blocker I had trouble with and keeps reappearing. I did a full virus scan and ran malwarebytes last night, found nothing.....damn stupid computers thingies.


EDIT....... ok I think I fixed it ! the adblocker hadn't uninstalled properly, now its gone and I'm staying logged in.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2018   #12
Erik van Straten
Registered User
 
Erik van Straten's Avatar
 
Erik van Straten is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,546
I have Firefox, but it is not OK.


Every time I am logged out. Drives me crazy.


Erik.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2018   #13
CameraQuest
Head Bartender
 
CameraQuest is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: over the hills from Malibu
Posts: 5,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik van Straten View Post
I have Firefox, but it is not OK.


Every time I am logged out. Drives me crazy.


Erik.
its probably some add on you have

firefox generally works great for RFF
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-30-2018   #14
rfaspen
Registered User
 
rfaspen's Avatar
 
rfaspen is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 1,683
Yes. I use Firefox and all seems OK. I do have to check the "remember me" box or I definitely get booted after a short while. I have no idea what causes that, but at least the solution works.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-2018   #15
Erik van Straten
Registered User
 
Erik van Straten's Avatar
 
Erik van Straten is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfaspen View Post
Yes. I use Firefox and all seems OK. I do have to check the "remember me" box or I definitely get booted after a short while. I have no idea what causes that, but at least the solution works.

Hmm, the "remember me" box seems to work. Thank you, rfaspen.



But why? Nothing changed at my end afaik.


Another strange "new" effect is the extra interline I get in my text every time I save it.



Erik.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-2018   #16
Bill Clark
Registered User
 
Bill Clark's Avatar
 
Bill Clark is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minnetonka, Minnesota
Age: 71
Posts: 2,538
If my mostly rudimentary knowledge of web pages html is correct, there is a little piece of info from web sites you and I visit that’s put in an electronic folder on yours and my computers browser folder called “cookies.” They are used to feed your computer when it gets hungry. When you check the box, “keep me logged in” that sends the smarty pants computer of yours or mine some cookie dough that’s been installed and have it baked by the server, telling it that it’s ok to let me in each time I visit a web site. Like here!

I wonder where the server farms are located for this web site? Maybe a turkey or chicken farm here in Minnesota! I’ve been informed some are located in Oklahoma.

What’s kind of scary, most everything I do and you do is being electronically stored and can be eventually looked at with, I believe, relational data base software.

Our web activity is getting planted at a server farm, mostly just watered and grown, stored in a silo and to be eventually used to do things like sell you stuff, like photography related things, rangefinder cameras, film, software that we seem to like cuz we enjoy visiting places like here on rangefinder. It happens when you, say go to another site like Facebook and things start rising, like cookie dough, in with your page you’ve clicked, tempting you to click and look at and buy products and services offered on other web sites. As an example, Amazon and B&H are good at this.

If you have trouble getting to sleep some evening take a look at this stuff, as it’s far better than any pill you could swallow or drink you could put down the hatch:

https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/mathematical-algorithms/

This info of ours can be mined in various ways from server farms and used for finding out other things as well.

At any rate, I’m hungry and I’m going to eat my bowl of breakfast cereal now!
__________________
I make photographs as a return ticket to a moment otherwise gone.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2018   #17
madNbad
Registered User
 
madNbad's Avatar
 
madNbad is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 672
In the last few months I have had problems with both logging in and staying logged in. I use Safari and have tried Firefox but experienced the same problems both times. Normally when logging in I use Password 1. It's a password vault and it offers a automatic fill and log in feature. It has been a great resource which not only allows you a place to consolidate all of your passwords but also offers a password generator. Today, when I was logging in, I had checked the Remember Me box and started to log in using Password 1. As the log in was starting I noticed the check mark in the Remember Me box was no longer there. Next I tried logging in by entering my user name, password and then clicking on the log in box. I was in and haven't experienced any of the previous problems.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2018   #18
Steve M.
Registered User
 
Steve M. is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,382
You're using software to hold your passwords on your computer? Not a very secure idea. What if you get a virus or get hacked? I have all my passwords written in a book by my computer. Someone would have to break into my place to get them. If that happened I would know about it immediately. If you keep them on your computer they could get copied w/o your knowledge.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2018   #19
madNbad
Registered User
 
madNbad's Avatar
 
madNbad is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 672
The software is designed to scramble any data accessed without proper authorization. It's more likely to have your identity stolen by someone rooting through the recycling bin.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2018   #20
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is offline
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 13,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by madNbad View Post
... Today, when I was logging in, I had checked the Remember Me box and started to log in using Password 1. As the log in was starting I noticed the check mark in the Remember Me box was no longer there. Next I tried logging in by entering my user name, password and then clicking on the log in box. I was in and haven't experienced any of the previous problems.
And, since then, Password 1 automatically entering the log-in info has worked well?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madNbad View Post
The software is designed to scramble any data accessed without proper authorization. It's more likely to have your identity stolen by someone rooting through the recycling bin.
And then best to pass anything with identifiable personal information through the shredder on the way to the recycle bin!
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-2018   #21
madNbad
Registered User
 
madNbad's Avatar
 
madNbad is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 672
Once I disabled the auto submit, 1 Password will fill the username and password, I can check the Remember Me box and click log in. It hasn't been perfect, not showing I'm logged in or not logging in on the first try but definitely better than what I had been experiencing.
One of the tricks the identity thieves use is to find something with your name and address, then submit a forward to this address form with the post office. Then they can pick what to steal from the comfort of their own home.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:19.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.