Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Photo Software

Photo Software Discussions of all the photo software - except scanning software which is in the forum with scanners.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Adding Film Metadata In Lightroom 6
Old 12-20-2017   #1
Moto Mark
Registered User
 
Moto Mark's Avatar
 
Moto Mark is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ft. Worth, Texas / Porano (TR) Italy
Posts: 72
Adding Film Metadata In Lightroom 6

Right up front I think there's not a way to do what I'm after but here goes...

I've got back into shooting film recently and have been scanning my negatives and editing them in Lightroom (version 6.14). I would like to add the camera/ lens and exposure info, similar to my field notes, to the metadata when I import the images.

I've gone into the presets panel in LR but there's not a category that fits what I'm after.

The workaround I have come up with is to create a template in Text Edit and copy/paste the info to the 'Caption' section of each image after they are imported. That works, and the metadata stays with the image when they leave LR, but it there another way that I can use that's a bit more automated ?

Does anyone else have a similar situation I'm in ?
__________________
May You Always Be The Person Your Dog Thinks You Are
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-2017   #2
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is offline
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 12,941
I use Marc Rochkind's little Mac application ExifChanger. It can edit the EXIF metadata in the image file, and is able to do this on a batch basis as well as individual files.
http://basepath.com/new/detail-ExifChanger.php
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-2017   #3
Chriscrawfordphoto
Real Men Shoot Film.
 
Chriscrawfordphoto's Avatar
 
Chriscrawfordphoto is online now
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 43
Posts: 8,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug View Post
I use Marc Rochkind's little Mac application ExifChanger. It can edit the EXIF metadata in the image file, and is able to do this on a batch basis as well as individual files.
http://basepath.com/new/detail-ExifChanger.php
That looks very useful! Thanks!
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-2017   #4
Moto Mark
Registered User
 
Moto Mark's Avatar
 
Moto Mark is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ft. Worth, Texas / Porano (TR) Italy
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug View Post
I use Marc Rochkind's little Mac application ExifChanger. It can edit the EXIF metadata in the image file, and is able to do this on a batch basis as well as individual files.
http://basepath.com/new/detail-ExifChanger.php
That looks very promising, I’m going to check it out.
__________________
May You Always Be The Person Your Dog Thinks You Are
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-2017   #5
shimokita
白黒
 
shimokita's Avatar
 
shimokita is offline
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Japan, Tokyo
Posts: 750
I am using 'ExifTool', in my case on a windows platform in command mode (line editor). Works in batch mode and I have set up some command lines for common edits.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-21-2017   #6
willie_901
Registered User
 
willie_901's Avatar
 
willie_901 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,296
Why not use keywords? Keywords can be exported in XMP sidecars. With OS X I see the keywords in the IPTC fields for exported JPEG files. There is no separate XMP file.

Or, under IPTC you could use (repurpose) the "Categories" and "Other Categories" Fields.
__________________
Basically, I mean, ah—well, let’s say that for me anyway when a photograph is interesting, it’s interesting because of the kind of photographic problem it states—which has to do with the . . . contest between content and form.
Garry Winogrand
williamchuttonjr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-21-2017   #7
j.scooter
Registered User
 
j.scooter's Avatar
 
j.scooter is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto-ish
Posts: 1,281
I use keywords on import to my main machine. When I copy the files to my backup drive the keywords do not transfer over. But I am probably doing something wrong....
I would like to have the keyword data become exif data. Will look at the options above.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2018   #8
webOSUser
Registered User
 
webOSUser's Avatar
 
webOSUser is offline
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 217
There is an ExifToolGUI that I have found to be useful. It is a GUI frontend to ExifTool that is easy for me to use.

Steve W
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-2018   #9
jbhthescots
Registered User
 
jbhthescots's Avatar
 
jbhthescots is offline
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.scooter View Post
I use keywords on import to my main machine. When I copy the files to my backup drive the keywords do not transfer over. But I am probably doing something wrong....
I would like to have the keyword data become exif data. Will look at the options above.

To keep the keywords, you first need to create in Lightroom a catalogue and regularly update it - then, if needed on a new machine or HD, you can unpack it along with the photos and everything will be there. Works for me - but there may be an easier way someone else knows of.
__________________
JOHN B. HENDERSON
Blog: http://jbhthescots.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 21:14.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.