Canon 9000F MKii Colours `Off`
Old 11-27-2016   #1
Jake Mongey
Registered User
 
Jake Mongey's Avatar
 
Jake Mongey is offline
Join Date: May 2016
Age: 19
Posts: 467
Canon 9000F MKii Colours `Off`

Hey,
Ive made a post about this before but wasnt able to come to an answer as i thought my scanner just couldn't tolerate ektar however upon scanning more rolls of colour film my scanner produced images with completely off colors and huge amounts of noise. This example from a roll of kodak gold 200 shot in iceland and lab developed produced perfect prints but here`s what i got when scanned:

This happens with every other type of colour film I have put through it and i was wondering if anyone knows what is causing this. I have contacted canon just now but I just wanted to see what you guys have to say about it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20161127_0001.jpg (25.8 KB, 45 views)
__________________
Should probably spend less time talking more time shooting but unfortunately I dont have to leave my desk to talk
www.jmongeyphoto.co.uk
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-27-2016   #2
Bille
Registered User
 
Bille's Avatar
 
Bille is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Age: 41
Posts: 752
What software are you using? Could you possibly scan raw?

Read also: http://tedfelix.com/Photography/ColorNegative.html
__________________
www.endzeit.de
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-27-2016   #3
Prest_400
Multiformat
 
Prest_400's Avatar
 
Prest_400 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sweden/Spain
Posts: 899
I don't know much about Canon flatbeds but for Epson, I have a v550.
First off, a lot about scanning is Software and Workflow. The learning curve is steep. I've got OK results but am no master of it.

In Epson Scan first off I hit autoexposure, which gets the color roughly there. Afterwards it's time to put black and white points in the histogram (leaving some headroom). By then, the image may be flat but decent in colour. Epson Scan I find gets cool/cyan scans out of Color Negative (Portra).

Scanning as TIFF (you want to manipulate that), afterwards it's time to load into LR. I use RawTherapee, which is free software and does about the same. There goes the fine tuning of exposure-Curves-Levels, contrast and color correction (WB) & Sharpening. Exporting the final file to a Jpeg.

I may recommend the very helpful guide written by Colton Allen. Google it around the forum and there should be a link.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:56.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.