How to get the rich blacks and good contrast
Old 01-27-2013   #1
mmartin09

How to get the rich blacks and good contrast

I'm pretty new to doing my own bw and was hoping someone could give some advice for getting richer blacks and more contrast. I know a good amount of this is in camera, and lighting, etc... but some of it is in the development, correct? My current setup is Tri-X shot at 400 and processed in HC-110. I'm getting decent results, but it seems it could be better. Mostly, it seems a little flat and to lack good contrast. Any advice?

Attaching an example from my last roll. Its a straight scan from my epson v750.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 50mm-test065.jpg (119.6 KB, 182 views)

Old 01-27-2013   #2
FrankS

If your negs are properly exposed and developed, once they are scanned, simply make adjustments to brightness and contrast using an image processing program.

photography makes me happy

Old 01-27-2013   #3
FrankS

I added contrast to your image using the Snapseed program available for iPad. I think I like the delicate tones in your version better. But is this the effect you're looking for?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (93.8 KB, 163 views)

Old 01-27-2013   #4
mmartin09

With this image, I don't think there are a lot of blacks so it was a poor choice on my part for an example. I meant for that to me a more general question, and not one focused so much on one particular image. Looking back at it, I dont think I phrased my question very well.

Old 01-27-2013   #5
FrankS

Regardless, the brightness and contrast of an image is under your control. No need to accept without adjustment what your scanner gives you.

Old 01-27-2013   #6
mfogiel

If you want a look like this:

20103719 by mfogiel, on Flickr
Take a slower film (APX 100), expose at ei 200, use red filter and push in Rodinal,

however, you can get a perfectly good tonal range from Tri X in HC 110 - I usually rate it at EI 250 to get more shadow detail: