Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > Other RF

Other RF Forum for the many Rangefinder cameras that do not have a dedicated RFF forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Minolta Hi-Matic 7s II aperture funny?
Old 07-15-2015   #1
Vintage35
Registered User
 
Vintage35's Avatar
 
Vintage35 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Phoenix, Oregon
Posts: 142
Minolta Hi-Matic 7s II aperture funny?

Let me see if I can describe this without confusion... The aperture on AUTO seems like many other cameras, except the aperture is closed down to f/16, then as you press the shutter button, the aperture opens up to it's determined setting. Ok, Opposite of normal cameras but it works.

In MANUAL however, the aperture is always at f/8 (unless you have it set to f/11 or f/16) if you have it set to, lets say, f/4 (or whatever larger than f/8) as you press on the shutter button it too opens to the desired aperture setting. This seems weird to me especially at f/1.7, it doesn't quite open all the way, you can still see the edges of the blades, not so much from the back of the camera but definitely from the front.

Is this how your 7s II works or is mine weird?
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-15-2015   #2
Oren Grad
Registered User
 
Oren Grad is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 267
I have my own 7SII in hand. I can't speak to auto mode, because I don't use it and don't have a battery in the camera. But as far as manual mode, mine works the same, except that the diaphragm opens all the way when set to f/1.7.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-15-2015   #3
Vintage35
Registered User
 
Vintage35's Avatar
 
Vintage35 is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Phoenix, Oregon
Posts: 142
I'm glad of the construction and operation seems to be correct, but not glad of the f/1.7 news. Just now as I was holding down on the shutter button, I slid my finger off of it sideways so as to let the button pop up on it's own and the next try it opened fully, but only for a few tries so a cleaning is in order. perhaps when I take the top off to clean the RF/VF optics I can check the linkage.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:08.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.