Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder

Epson R-D1 Leica M mount Digital Rangefinder A dedicated forum to the first Digital Leica M mount rangefinder camera.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

"Aperture" for mac
Old 11-01-2005   #1
Rocamadour
cronopio
 
Rocamadour's Avatar
 
Rocamadour is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 27
"Aperture" for mac

Just wanted to know if anyone have tried (or uses regulary) the knew "Aperture" for mac? (Designed for Professional Photographers... )

Does it accept the RAW-files from the R-D1, how is the workflow, etc.?

I'm sur its not bad, but is it good enough?
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=1540'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2005   #2
Warren G
Registered User
 
Warren G is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 9
Apples New Photo Image management software ' Aperture' is not yet available.

I beleive that it will be available in 2-3 weeks time at a cost of £350 ( approx)

The product has a raw file converter similar to the one in Adobe Photoshop CS2 and will take DNG ( Digital negative ) file format. It will also take other file formats as well. It does so much more though than just convert raw data, it also allow you full picture selection,database retrival and archiving.

I strongly beleive that this software will have a huge impact on the professional photographic market. There are 5 quicktime movies on Apples website that demo the software very well.

Best,

W
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=2127'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2005   #3
jlw
Rangefinder camera pedant
 
jlw is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocamadour
Does it accept the RAW-files from the R-D1, how is the workflow, etc.?
Nobody knows yet whether or not the final release product (which isn't available yet) will accept files in the R-D 1's raw format.

The R-D 1 does not appear on the list of cameras for which Aperture offers "enhanced" support, but neither do various other cameras the raw files of which are simply listed as "supported."
__________________
"Never trust a graph without error bars."
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2005   #4
photodog
Registered User
 
photodog is offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 242
You should not consider Aperture unless you own or intend to buy a G5 computer. Aperture will not work on a PC or a G4.
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=1618'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2005   #5
ulrik
Registered User
 
ulrik is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: copenhagen, denmark
Posts: 63
Works on 15" and 17" powerbooks 1.25mhz and above.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2005   #6
kaiyen
local man of mystery
 
kaiyen's Avatar
 
kaiyen is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Age: 40
Posts: 2,196
If they're recommending at least a 1.8GHz iMac G5, I would think any powerbook is going to chug at least a bit on aperture. but if it runs, it runs.

I am even considering buying a mac just to run it.

allan
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-2005   #7
brightsky
Registered User
 
brightsky's Avatar
 
brightsky is offline
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 168
If anyone decides to pre-order Aperture, Amazon has it listed for $449

CM
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2005   #8
mfs
Registered User
 
mfs is offline
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 85
I saw the demo at the Photo Expo in New York. It was very impressive. The concept is that all of the manipulations are made to the RAW file. The original file is never altered so that it is always available if the workflow needs revision.

There is a fast interconnection to PS so any manipulations not supported by Aperture can be easily performed in PS, and then the file can be brought back into Aperture with just one click of the mouse.

The only downside is the need for a G5 based desktop, or a fast G4 laptop with at least 1 Gbyte of fast memory.

Martin
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=87'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2005   #9
iUser
Registered User
 
iUser's Avatar
 
iUser is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, England.
Age: 45
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw
Nobody knows yet whether or not the final release product (which isn't available yet) will accept files in the R-D 1's raw format.

The R-D 1 does not appear on the list of cameras for which Aperture offers "enhanced" support, but neither do various other cameras the raw files of which are simply listed as "supported."
As far as I know EPSON USA and Apple have a great working relationship so Iím sure the R-D1 will be added.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2005   #10
Marc
Registered User
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Marc is offline
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SoCal
Age: 50
Posts: 20
Beware of "The MAC" influence. I wasn't paying enough attention about four years ago and was sucked into the Apple world by their (Apple's) ability to turn everyday tasks into something fun to do. Your wired life will become much more easy and enjoyable. You just might find yourself smiling as you wile away the hours in front of your Mac, instead of cursing your Wintel "Blue Screen of Death". Not exactly on topic, but as an extremely happy Apple user and a VERY happy Apple stock holder, I felt the need to share............yes, it was a lousy pun.
__________________
<a href='http://www.rangefinderforum.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=1903'>My Gallery</a>
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2005   #11
ulrik
Registered User
 
ulrik is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: copenhagen, denmark
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiyen
If they're recommending at least a 1.8GHz iMac G5, I would think any powerbook is going to chug at least a bit on aperture. but if it runs, it runs.

I am even considering buying a mac just to run it.

allan
Apeture runs on Core Graphics, it's not just processor power. I can't wait.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2005   #12
004540
Registered User
 
004540 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Aperture is only $249 with an Apple Education Discount http://store.apple.com/AppleStore/We...plm=MA155Z%2FA
__________________
Leitz, camera, ACTION!
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2005   #13
agoglanian
Reconnected.
 
agoglanian's Avatar
 
agoglanian is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 33
Posts: 923
I get apple's student prices, so if anyone is intersted in the discount, you can get it through me.
i am interested in getting it as well. i run a 17" g4 powerbook @ 1.5ghz and it should run. BUT! i have my eye on a G5.

if anyone wants the discount when it's out. email me.

agphotography at gmail.com
__________________
- Abram

M-A | M10 | 500CM | P67II

Instagram. | Website.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2005   #14
004540
Registered User
 
004540 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by agphotography
I get apple's student prices, so if anyone is intersted in the discount, you can get it through me.
i am interested in getting it as well. i run a 17" g4 powerbook @ 1.5ghz and it should run. BUT! i have my eye on a G5.

if anyone wants the discount when it's out. email me.

agphotography at gmail.com
All student discounts on software have to be done online and when you use the student discount online they don't verify if you're a valid student, so anyone can use the discount. Go to the Apple Store then click on the Education link on the right column, then the College or university student link then search for college near your area.

Before my wife graduated college I would do all of her student purchases for her online and they never verified if she or I was a student.
__________________
Leitz, camera, ACTION!
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2005   #15
DanK
Registered User
 
DanK's Avatar
 
DanK is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Westchester NY
Posts: 23
Be careful with that though. I know with FCP it was a standalone. You couldn' t upgrade the student version later.
__________________
My Flickr
My Mac.com Gallery pages
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2005   #16
004540
Registered User
 
004540 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanK
Be careful with that though. I know with FCP it was a standalone. You couldn' t upgrade the student version later.
That's weird because I bought FCP years ago and have always been able to upgrade. hmmm...
__________________
Leitz, camera, ACTION!
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-10-2005   #17
Donald Mann
Registered User
 
Donald Mann is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lanark, ON, Canada
Posts: 50
Does Aperture handle jpegs? I get the impression that it only accepts RAW input?
__________________
Leica M8; Leica M4; Epson RD-1
Summicron f2 35mm and 50mm DR; Leica WATE; Voigtlander 12mm
Leica V-Lux1; Leica D-Lux
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2005   #18
wiley_hodges
Registered User
 
wiley_hodges is offline
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
I'm using Aperture and I own an R-D1. I'm sorry to say that there is no RAW support for the R-D1 in Aperture as yet. It is working well w/ my Canon DSLRs , though...

Aperture reads JPEGs, single-layer PSD files as well as the TIFFs that the Epson RAW converter spits out, so I still use it with files from the R-D1, just not the ERFs.

--Wiley
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2005   #19
ulrik
Registered User
 
ulrik is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: copenhagen, denmark
Posts: 63
You can convert the .ERF to .DNG to make Apeture read the files ... but it still only reads the .jpg inside the .DNG. No use as .ERF converter yet, even if converted to .DNG first.

Last edited by ulrik : 12-04-2005 at 10:30.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:16.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.