Kodak Pakon 135 + and Bulk Film
Old 11-23-2014   #1
yanchep_mike
Always Trying
 
yanchep_mike's Avatar
 
yanchep_mike is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 63
Posts: 273
Kodak Pakon 135 + and Bulk Film

Hi all, Just got a Pakon 135 + scanner and i have a question regarding Bulk Film, the scanner comes up with all sorts of errors when scanning film without numbering, i have the latest (last) software drivers and use native XP. It just don't like PolypanF and also spits the Dummy on other Black&White film. Maybe i do something wrong or what ever. Please if you got this thing going please share it.
Thank You
__________________
-----------
"mk"
-----------
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-23-2014   #2
ringolam
Registered User
 
ringolam is offline
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Hi Mike, I have not a Pakon scanner, but perhaps your film has been processed too thin to scan? I met almost same problem with 4000ED last week, and fixed it by overturn the film, multi exposure.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-23-2014   #3
yanchep_mike
Always Trying
 
yanchep_mike's Avatar
 
yanchep_mike is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 63
Posts: 273
Thank you for reply, Neg is not thin, tried with different film, sometimes it will scan 18-20 frames and then stop, other times only 1 or 2 frames, i believe it has to do with the indexing system.
mike
__________________
-----------
"mk"
-----------
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-23-2014   #4
ringolam
Registered User
 
ringolam is offline
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
another way: Perhaps you need to clean the film-loading or transferring sensors
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-23-2014   #5
Dante_Stella
Rex canum cattorumque
 
Dante_Stella's Avatar
 
Dante_Stella is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,754
Indexing runs off the DX coding, and if there is none, the machine falls back on auto-detect. Thin b/w negatives can cause it to go crazy.

Dante
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-24-2014   #6
yanchep_mike
Always Trying
 
yanchep_mike's Avatar
 
yanchep_mike is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 63
Posts: 273
Thanks for your replies, I will try a couple of different films still, i got 90 day warranty so if something is not right i will get it fixed.
ringolam> I really don't want to take it apart as yet, so the cleaning might have to wait.
Dante> I believe you used to have one or still have one of this type of scanners, just a question if it falls back to some sort of auto-detect is the scanner looking for the frame numbers or the frames? It is just strange that the errors are not consistent.

Thanks again
Mike
__________________
-----------
"mk"
-----------
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-03-2014   #7
rolfe
Registered User
 
rolfe's Avatar
 
rolfe is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Egremont, MA
Posts: 389
Make sure the leader is trimmed to a couple of mm, or about the same distance between frames. This seems to help with the autodetect for frame start. Non-coded film generally doesn't cause any problem -- you just click "index all" to number the frames starting at the first when done. It sounds like you have some other issue -- it seems that failure to complete a roll is often related to memory issues since the scanner is essentially scanning the whole roll at once.
__________________
My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-03-2014   #8
yanchep_mike
Always Trying
 
yanchep_mike's Avatar
 
yanchep_mike is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 63
Posts: 273
Thank You for the advise, you are right it seems that the start of the the strip is important, after many trials i can scan 2 or 3 strips of 6 frames without problems. When i try to scan a whole film i get into trouble after about half a roll or so. Will keep trying.
Thank You
__________________
-----------
"mk"
-----------
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-06-2014   #9
joeswe
Registered User
 
joeswe is offline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanchep_mike View Post
Thank You for the advise, you are right it seems that the start of the the strip is important, after many trials i can scan 2 or 3 strips of 6 frames without problems. When i try to scan a whole film i get into trouble after about half a roll or so. Will keep trying.
Thank You
Have you set up an unformatted partition "N" to the recommended size per instructions? Sounds as if you were running out of buffering space. I'm no expert, just guessing.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-06-2014   #10
scholzj1
Registered User
 
scholzj1 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25
I had a similar problem running unmarked bulk film through my pakon. It would scan 1 or 2 frames and then stop and throw all sorts of errors. With the help of the Pakon Facebook group I was able to work around the problem. When ever it has a problem scanning if you switch to blue mode by pushing the button in the top left corner that looks like two windows, one grey and one blue. It will ask for a password, just click ok. Scan in blue, simple mode and then switch back to grey mode to edit and save. It has worked every time for me. Don't give up on the Pakon, it can be finicky but once you figure it out it is really nice.
Good luck.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-06-2014   #11
yanchep_mike
Always Trying
 
yanchep_mike's Avatar
 
yanchep_mike is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 63
Posts: 273
Thank You for the tip, and it makes a difference when i tried the "blue mode" and yes i have less and less problems after getting used to the interface. The LEDs on the scanner are importent too, and cutting the strips right seems to make a big difference too. The scanner is faster then any other scanner i have and if i need more pixels i can use the Plustek.
__________________
-----------
"mk"
-----------
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-08-2014   #12
ronw
Registered User
 
ronw is offline
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by scholzj1 View Post
I had a similar problem running unmarked bulk film through my pakon. It would scan 1 or 2 frames and then stop and throw all sorts of errors. With the help of the Pakon Facebook group I was able to work around the problem. When ever it has a problem scanning if you switch to blue mode by pushing the button in the top left corner that looks like two windows, one grey and one blue. It will ask for a password, just click ok. Scan in blue, simple mode and then switch back to grey mode to edit and save. It has worked every time for me. Don't give up on the Pakon, it can be finicky but once you figure it out it is really nice.
Good luck.
i was using ilford fp4+ with dx code and the pakon was spot on for the framing. since have started scanning tri-x and was <50/50 for getting the framing right. the above however is 100% with tri-x now too. thanks!
__________________
MP/M3 - 50 Lux-ASPH/35 Cron-ASPH
IIIf - 50 Summitar/35 Summaron
Mamyia 7ii - 43 and 80
toyo 45a
iwolfe.tumblr.com
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-08-2014   #13
yanchep_mike
Always Trying
 
yanchep_mike's Avatar
 
yanchep_mike is offline
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Perth Western Australia
Age: 63
Posts: 273
Yes getting better results all the time, This thing is fast!
Just a frame from my testing the scanner, no post processing, crop or what ever, just file trim to below 400k.




regards
Mike
__________________
-----------
"mk"
-----------
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-2014   #14
Tijmendal
Young photog
 
Tijmendal is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Age: 28
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by scholzj1 View Post
I had a similar problem running unmarked bulk film through my pakon. It would scan 1 or 2 frames and then stop and throw all sorts of errors. With the help of the Pakon Facebook group I was able to work around the problem. When ever it has a problem scanning if you switch to blue mode by pushing the button in the top left corner that looks like two windows, one grey and one blue. It will ask for a password, just click ok. Scan in blue, simple mode and then switch back to grey mode to edit and save. It has worked every time for me. Don't give up on the Pakon, it can be finicky but once you figure it out it is really nice.
Good luck.
That's good to hear! Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 19:11.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.