Replacing M3 sync
Old 08-08-2014   #1
Dez
Bodger Extraordinaire
 
Dez's Avatar
 
Dez is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota North Woods
Posts: 1,531
Replacing M3 sync

I have occasionally seen M3's with standard PC sync terminals such as are found in M4 and later cameras. Is this a simple swap of either the terminal part or the block that holds the two terminals? I am looking for an excuse to take the top off my recently-acquired M3 to bang some dings out, and changing the terminals looks like a nice little DYI project while I'm at it.

Cheers,
Dez
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-2014   #2
alphonse2501
Registered User
 
alphonse2501's Avatar
 
alphonse2501 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 154
Why don't looking for Leica M3 PC sync adapter:
http://photo.net/gc/view-one?classified_ad_id=1362652
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-2014   #3
Dez
Bodger Extraordinaire
 
Dez's Avatar
 
Dez is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota North Woods
Posts: 1,531
Because they poke me in the eye.

Cheers,
Dez
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-2014   #4
alphonse2501
Registered User
 
alphonse2501's Avatar
 
alphonse2501 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 154
How about ask Don or Youxin Ye for possibility to swap PC sync to standard on M3/M2? If they say it can be done by them so there will no problem for you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-2014   #5
Dan Daniel
Registered User
 
Dan Daniel is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,562
I bought an M3 which had standard PC sockets installed. When I took off the top, the flash sync area came apart as described and shown for old-style sync connectors.

I don't have photos or remember exact details, but it sure looked pretty simple. Maybe there was more than I could understand going on further inside? I don't know the history of my camera, but it had new-ish shutter curtains, and it was double stroke converted to single stroke, so someone had been deep inside the camera at least once.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-12-2014   #6
rolfe
Registered User
 
rolfe's Avatar
 
rolfe is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Egremont, MA
Posts: 391
Either DAG or Sherry can easily do this for you -- I've had it done on my M3.

DAG can also install M4/M6 loading into an M3 -- I don't think Sherry does this.
__________________
My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-12-2014   #7
Dez
Bodger Extraordinaire
 
Dez's Avatar
 
Dez is offline
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minnesota North Woods
Posts: 1,531
No problem- replacing these parts is a simple DIY. I typically won't go to top (and expensive) expert camera technicians for a very simple mod where it's unlikely I will break anything. I checked with Don on the necessary parts- he has them, but they are expensive, and I am shall we say rather frugal when it comes to minor upgrades. Maybe I'll just do the X-sync, as the probability I'll ever be using flashbulbs is remote.

Cheers,
Dez
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:50.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.