What could cause the weird blotches/streaks on this print?
Old 2 Weeks Ago   #1
Tijmendal
Young photog
 
Tijmendal is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Age: 28
Posts: 506
What could cause the weird blotches/streaks on this print?

Hi,



I found a Focomat IIc on the sidewalk some time ago, and I finally got around to installing it in the darkroom. I made a first print, and this is how it turned out. I've had similar results before, but that was because the lens was dirty. However, that doesn't seem to be the case here. Does anyone know what could cause this?



  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #2
Larry H-L
Registered User
 
Larry H-L is online now
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 579
Looks like a chemical problem rather than an enlarger issue.
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #3
Erik van Straten
Registered User
 
Erik van Straten's Avatar
 
Erik van Straten is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,054
Looks like it was too short in the developer or that the developer was contaminated by the fixer. If the developer is correctly prepared, the picture has to stay in it for at least three minutes. The temperature of the developer should be around 20 degrees C. Then the print must be rinsed in clean water and finally it must be fixed.

Remember that even one small drop of fixer can ruin your developer.

Start by making small prints, 13x18cm. If you master that format, you can make bigger prints. Good enlarging paper is very expensive.

Use a reliable exposure clock.

Erik.
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #4
Erik van Straten
Registered User
 
Erik van Straten's Avatar
 
Erik van Straten is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,054
With a Focomat IIc the tones can be like this:

Leica M3, Summicron 50mm f/2 rigid, Tmax400, printed on Adox MCC 110.

Erik.

  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #5
Chriscrawfordphoto
Real Men Shoot Film.
 
Chriscrawfordphoto's Avatar
 
Chriscrawfordphoto is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age: 43
Posts: 8,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik van Straten View Post
Looks like it was too short in the developer or that the developer was contaminated by the fixer. If the developer is correctly prepared, the picture has to stay in it for at least three minutes. The temperature of the developer should be around 20 degrees C. Then the print must be rinsed in clean water and finally it must be fixed.

Remember that even one small drop of fixer can ruin your developer.

Start by making small prints, 13x18cm. If you master that format, you can make bigger prints. Good enlarging paper is very expensive.

Use a reliable exposure clock.

Erik.



Erik is right. It is developer that is weak. Could be the chemicals are old and outdated, could be diluted too much, or could be contaminated.


To avoid contamination, I recommend keeping a tray that is used ONLY for developer. Also, keep a dedicated mixing graduate only for developers. Don't use the same tongs to remove prints from the developer, stop bath, and fixer. Tongs can contaminate developers. Keep one used only for developer and another used for stop and fix.


Make sure to fully develop the print. Do not pull it out early to keep it from getting too dark. If the print is too dark with full developing, make a new print using a shorter exposure time.
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #6
BillBingham2
Registered User
 
BillBingham2's Avatar
 
BillBingham2 is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ames, Iowa, USA
Posts: 5,875
It's been a LONG time since I've been in a darkroom, but gotta agree it's the developer. I was thinking it was too strong rather than too weak.

How long did you have it in the developer before you pulled it?

Are all your prints like this?

There are some fern-like white things that lead me to think your condenser lenses could use a cleaning. Make sure that they go back in the same order and direction they come out it. Use your smartphone to capture that information lens by lens (any digital camera will do).

B2 (;->
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #7
Steve M.
Registered User
 
Steve M. is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,321
It's not every day that you see a post that starts out "I found a Focomat IIc on the sidewalk some time ago....".

I think your print is either under developed or under fixed. Are you agitating the paper in the trays? The paper could be fogged too.

When you have problems like this, and it's been a while since you've made any prints, the best thing to do is go through the ck list. Do a safelight test, a clip test for the developer, get fresh fixer, and if necessary fresh paper. Like Bill said, make sure everything is clean and streak/dust free inside the enlarger too.
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #8
retinax
Registered User
 
retinax is offline
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 843
Did you move the print around in the developer or rock the tray? And develop until no change is visible and then a little more?
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #9
Tijmendal
Young photog
 
Tijmendal is offline
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Age: 28
Posts: 506
Thanks everyone. I'll check the developer. I think I used the same developer with the old enlarger in the darkroom, so I'm inclined to believe that's not the issue, but I'll have to make sure.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M. View Post
It's not every day that you see a post that starts out "I found a Focomat IIc on the sidewalk some time ago....".


Yeah. I got extremely lucky!



Quote:
Originally Posted by BillBingham2 View Post

There are some fern-like white things that lead me to think your condenser lenses could use a cleaning. Make sure that they go back in the same order and direction they come out it. Use your smartphone to capture that information lens by lens (any digital camera will do).

B2 (;->

Alright, I'll check that too!
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #10
Erik van Straten
Registered User
 
Erik van Straten's Avatar
 
Erik van Straten is offline
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tijmendal View Post
I think I used the same developer with the old enlarger in the darkroom, so I'm inclined to believe that's not the issue, but I'll have to make sure.

You'll absolutely need fresh developer, for instance Eukobrom, available in small bottles at Foto Fransen on the Beukenplein.


Erik.
  Reply With Quote

Old 2 Weeks Ago   #11
Ko.Fe.
Kostya Fedot
 
Ko.Fe.'s Avatar
 
Ko.Fe. is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MiltON.ONtario
Posts: 7,120
If it is enlarger, you should be able to see it with focused negative removed.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:48.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.