Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Scanners / Scanner Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 12-08-2018   #841
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 348
Of course white LED is poor but how about RGB 1W? You will need manually change amplifier gains in Scanmate. Screen 1030ai also refuse balance orange mask.
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-2018   #842
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzagaja View Post
Of course white LED is poor but how about RGB 1W? You will need manually change amplifier gains in Scanmate. Screen 1030ai also refuse balance orange mask.
I don't think 1W would get even close to the output of the 75w halogen bulb.

Probably would need something more powerful. They do make professional LED lights for cinema, they have good light quality but they just cost a lot.

I think the particular bulb used on the scanner is quite high quality in the spectrum it produces. So matching something like that with LEDs is probably quite expensive.

There might be some projector LED light source assemblies that work well.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-2018   #843
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 348
Screen 1030Ai uses 35W bulb and is enough.
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #844
brbo
Registered User
 
brbo's Avatar
 
brbo is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,467
Howteks use 20W.
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #845
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 348
Howtek is designed in US?
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-12-2018   #846
brbo
Registered User
 
brbo's Avatar
 
brbo is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,467
I think so. Why?
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 12-13-2018   #847
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 348
I have a feeling that machines designed in US and Germany like film cameras, printers/copiers are good examples of simple/effective while Japanese (Ricoh/Toshiba, I service them) are over enginered - they do something and correct adding parts without correcting from ground. Howtek/Aztek good soft, drum supported both ends, don’t know rest.
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-2019   #848
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netsoft2k View Post
Thank you for posting this. Looking forward to hear how it works out for you because I am holding onto an older Win 7 machine just for my scanner. It would be nice to move everything to the new machine.

Pali
Sadly it does not seem to work, dont know why. It does the regular boot up thing, but simply does not find the scanner in windows. Even though the card is properly installed and shows up.

Ordered the pcie - pci adapter and will try my old pci card that worked just fine.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-07-2019   #849
Sjon
Registered User
 
Sjon is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Just to be sure, are you running the software as administrator? Does it show up in device manager at all?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-08-2019   #850
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjon View Post
Just to be sure, are you running the software as administrator? Does it show up in device manager at all?
Dang, good that you mentioned this, i had totally forgotten that administrator thing... i shall test it! Hope it works.

It does show up in device manger just fine.

Annnd it works, hah. Thanks a lot! Its been few years when i last set this up, so had totally forgotten that administrator thing!
  Reply With Quote

Michael
Old 01-11-2019   #851
btamas
Registered User
 
btamas is offline
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Budapest
Posts: 9
Michael

It is already on ABC Scan's website that the business is closed :-(

Is there anybody here on the forum who is in good relationship with him? Would it be possible to convince him to share some of his invaluable knowledge and/or documentation? CQ code, PCB schematics, service manuals, mods, etc . Now useless for him , priceless for us.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-2019   #852
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by btamas View Post
It is already on ABC Scan's website that the business is closed :-(

Is there anybody here on the forum who is in good relationship with him? Would it be possible to convince him to share some of his invaluable knowledge and/or documentation? CQ code, PCB schematics, service manuals, mods, etc . Now useless for him , priceless for us.
Might be good time to host CQ files somewhere, they won't be keeping that site up forever.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2019   #853
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 114
Anyone have any experience polishing drums? I have some scratches on a drum, nothing too major. Was thinking if there is some product that would do the job.

Or is it simply too hard to polish these even a tiny bit?
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-17-2019   #854
Sjon
Registered User
 
Sjon is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfist View Post
Anyone have any experience polishing drums? I have some scratches on a drum, nothing too major. Was thinking if there is some product that would do the job.

Or is it simply too hard to polish these even a tiny bit?
From reading through the entire history on this thread, make sure that if you decide to polish the drum you have a way to not polish too deep and not polish unevenly.


You'll have big focus issues if you polish to the point the drum surface is too far away from the neutral focus position. If you polish and the drum no longer has an even surface you'll have a lot of issues with uneven focus.


I don't know what you would use to polish acryl or whatever the actual material of these drums. I don't think I've ever heard success stories of drum polishing though.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-18-2019   #855
monkeyfist
Registered User
 
monkeyfist is offline
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjon View Post
From reading through the entire history on this thread, make sure that if you decide to polish the drum you have a way to not polish too deep and not polish unevenly.


You'll have big focus issues if you polish to the point the drum surface is too far away from the neutral focus position. If you polish and the drum no longer has an even surface you'll have a lot of issues with uneven focus.


I don't know what you would use to polish acryl or whatever the actual material of these drums. I don't think I've ever heard success stories of drum polishing though.
Yeah, i'm aware of all the dangers of polishing. This is why i was interested if anyone has done it, i mostly have hairline cleaning scratches. Nothing too major.

Ending up with uneven drum would be a bad thing, and it would be extremely hard to polish a drum evenly if you need to take out lot of material. Just wondering is it possible to take out hairline scratches without too much worries, as the negative cant really be never that flat against the drum that nanometers would be an issue.
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-19-2019   #856
Netsoft2k
Registered User
 
Netsoft2k is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfist View Post
Yeah, i'm aware of all the dangers of polishing. This is why i was interested if anyone has done it, i mostly have hairline cleaning scratches. Nothing too major.

Ending up with uneven drum would be a bad thing, and it would be extremely hard to polish a drum evenly if you need to take out lot of material. Just wondering is it possible to take out hairline scratches without too much worries, as the negative cant really be never that flat against the drum that nanometers would be an issue.
Yes, it absolutely is and there is literally nothing to worry about if it's just fine hairline scratches. Try a small area and you'll get the hang of it.

I use the Novus 7100 Plastic Polish Kit from Amazon for it and have saved several old drums using it. The only headache is that your arm will likely get a nice workout going in the circular motion repeatedly that is required.

Pali
__________________
Pali K | Tumblr | Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 01-20-2019   #857
btamas
Registered User
 
btamas is offline
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Budapest
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyfist View Post
Anyone have any experience polishing drums? I have some scratches on a drum, nothing too major. Was thinking if there is some product that would do the job.

Or is it simply too hard to polish these even a tiny bit?


Yes, it is possible to polish . Forum member NagyA was able to remove even significant crazing, however he had focus issues after that.

Re. focus issues: it is possible to reposition focus motor in case you remove too much from drum wall and have focus problems. You will need an oscilloscope and focus target to get optimal result. Care should be taken if you change back to normal size drum.

I also use Novus plastic polish, especially the finest one (No1) just to clean and buff drums.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-23-2019   #858
Sjon
Registered User
 
Sjon is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
I am doing some digging through the old documents I got with my scanmate. I was wondering if anyone has these disks imaged already? If not I'd gladly make some backups of them if I can find a floppy drive somewhere. I also have CDs.


The CDs seem to be one for 4.41, "CQ MacOS 9.2.2 upgrade", and a 5.0 upgrade CD.



Images of the floppies:
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-06-2019   #859
Kamph
Registered User
 
Kamph is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 183
Anyone had any succes using an Adaptec 2940U under Windows 10? I recently upgraded and would like to get back to drum scanning again

EDIT: Nevermind, found a working driver.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-06-2019   #860
jzagaja
My website www.horns.pl
 
jzagaja is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjon View Post
I am doing some digging through the old ...
Can you post them? My friend needs them very much.
__________________
Jack
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-07-2019   #861
Sjon
Registered User
 
Sjon is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzagaja View Post
Can you post them? My friend needs them very much.
I'll try and find a working floppy drive in that case.
  Reply With Quote

Stitching files from the ScanMate 11000
Old 03-28-2019   #862
pkr1979
Registered User
 
pkr1979 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Stitching files from the ScanMate 11000

Hei hei,

Im trying to avoid photoshop. Does anyone have any suggestions to a software for Mac that could do this (stitch photos)? Im doing the post processing in another application (that cant stitch) so Im keen to avoid loosing any data from the scanned file in the stitching process.

Cheers
Peter
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-28-2019   #863
AndersG
Registered User
 
AndersG's Avatar
 
AndersG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Age: 41
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkr1979 View Post
Does anyone have any suggestions to a software for Mac that could do this (stitch photos)?
Perhaps Hugin http://hugin.sourceforge.net/ ? It is free software and available for Mac.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-29-2019   #864
pkr1979
Registered User
 
pkr1979 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Thanks for that :-)

Its come to my understanding that some prefer to scan at 8 bit to gain a higher resolution instead of stitching due to color shift between the 2 scans. What kind of experiences do you guys have regarding this with the ScanMate 11000? I will be scanning both positives and negatives (120 and 8x10).

Also, is a potential color shift that much more likely when scanning in 2 turns, then during an individual scan?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-02-2019   #865
Sjon
Registered User
 
Sjon is offline
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkr1979 View Post
Thanks for that :-)

Its come to my understanding that some prefer to scan at 8 bit to gain a higher resolution instead of stitching due to color shift between the 2 scans. What kind of experiences do you guys have regarding this with the ScanMate 11000? I will be scanning both positives and negatives (120 and 8x10).

Also, is a potential color shift that much more likely when scanning in 2 turns, then during an individual scan?
I have only ever done a few tests on this topic as an experiment, I don't normally scan at 5000DPI so I avoid the issue.
While trying it though I found it to be impossible to get exactly matching exposure when stitching the scanned sections. This can most likely be mended in modern software for creating panoramas but you certainly can't just align the images and expect no edge seperation. Also I often got slight differences in focus when scanning different areas of a 6x7 image. I am not sure how that would work out for large format film.


This might depend on a lot of different factors though and exposure might be more even if you give the bulb appropriate warm up time.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-03-2019   #866
pkr1979
Registered User
 
pkr1979 is offline
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
Hey,

And thanks. I actually made the effort to figure out what kind of resolution I would get with 10500 on the short side on various formats (which I should have done some time back really). And its gonna produce files large enough for me. If I ever need to print bigger I'll deal with it then :-)

Cheers
Peter
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-25-2019   #867
nagya
Registered User
 
nagya is offline
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 30
Please help!
My drum after the spinning starts shaking, vibrating. (SM 11000)
There is one way as in the service manual, test and adjust drum, or any other way fix the problem?
Thank you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-26-2019   #868
anyone01
Registered User
 
anyone01 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Glad to see that here are so many knowledgeable people around the Scanmate scanners.. I am thinking of buying one, which apparently has the following issue:

I have problems with the Scanmate 11000. When I switched on the scanner, everything worked. After about 5 minutes, the scanner has switched off by itself. After switching the scanner off and on again with the main switch, the lights "LOCK, READY, BUSY" are flashing and the scanner can not be opened anymore.

Do you have an idea what the issue could be? Apparently there is no service for these scanners anymore, at least not in Germany.

Thank you very much!
  Reply With Quote

Scanmate 1100 HELP !!!
Old 08-20-2019   #869
zylbersztajn_photo
Registered User
 
zylbersztajn_photo is offline
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Scanmate 1100 HELP !!!

Hi there,

I've bought a scanmate 1100 and I'm having issues to use the scan software .. .as I dont have a dongle, the scans comes with a watermark. Any possibility to buy a license, dongle, a free software ? anything that may help ???

Thank you for any support or suggestion !!!

Gustavo
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-22-2019   #870
meloV8
Registered User
 
meloV8 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 96
You can turn the system clock back and the program will run without a dongle. ColorTrio is free but scan only 8bit.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:33.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.