M3 with 75mm framelines, possible?
Old 04-26-2012   #1
david.elliott
Registered User
 
david.elliott is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,568
M3 with 75mm framelines, possible?

Hello all,

Just wondering... is it possible to get 75mm framelines installed in a m3? I wouldn't mind going with a 28/75 two lens combo with the 28mm on my .58 mp and a 75 on my m3, but not sure if it is something that can be done.

Anybody have any experience with this?

As a side question, if I were to get a 75mm lens, would it bring up 50 or 90mm lines on the m3?

Thanks.
__________________
My Website - Rendered In Silver

  Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2012   #2
MikeL
Go Fish
 
MikeL's Avatar
 
MikeL is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by david.elliott
Hello all,

Just wondering... is it possible to get 75mm framelines installed in a m3? I wouldn't mind going with a 28/75 two lens combo with the 28mm on my .58 mp and a 75 on my m3, but not sure if it is something that can be done.

Anybody have any experience with this?

As a side question, if I were to get a 75mm lens, would it bring up 50 or 90mm lines on the m3?

Thanks.
Hi David,
Roland is the one to answer this, but in the meantime, I'm pretty sure the the 75 brings up the 50 framelines. Roland modified his M3 to show the 90 framelines. If I remember right from his tests, the 90 framelines are pretty accurate at infinity, and conservative up close.

I use a 0.85 M6 with my 75, and the extra magnification helps me focus it consistently.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2012   #3
Phil_F_NM
Camera hacker
 
Phil_F_NM's Avatar
 
Phil_F_NM is offline
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 42
Posts: 3,906
You could have a skilled craftsman drill 75mm framelines into the mask of your choice. It would still probably go well with the 50mm framelines but there would also be a good amount of line separation if you had them placed alongside the 135. You could even have the 135 omitted and 75 visible full time.

Phil Forrest
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2012   #4
sleepyhead
Registered User
 
sleepyhead's Avatar
 
sleepyhead is offline
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasw_ View Post
i use my 75 lux on a m3 quite often, although not on a dedicated m3 as roland does. i find a m3 works better than any other RF for focusing -- including the new mp .85x VF -- but it takes some practice with regard to close focus framing/composing. Often I use my lux 75 on a m4p; and i find that I do really well with this combo.
Ditto, and ditto for me.
I have a 75mm Summilux on my M3 lots of the time - I just guess the framing based on the 50mm frame.

And, and M4-P is good as well, but I prefer the M3 with the 75mm Summilux.
__________________
__________________
Film for B&W, digital for colour
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2012   #5
Archlich
Registered User
 
Archlich is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,259
Isn't this an alternative form of the eternal "is there a way I could have 40mm frame line in my M6" question?
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2012   #6
david.elliott
Registered User
 
david.elliott is offline
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,568
Thanks guys. I wouldn't mind at all if the camera was modified so that 90mm framelines show when a 75 is mounted. I may ask DAG if he can do that and how much it costs.
__________________
My Website - Rendered In Silver

  Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2012   #7
EZfan
RF Shooter
 
EZfan's Avatar
 
EZfan is offline
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Lone Star state
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by david.elliott View Post
Thanks guys. I wouldn't mind at all if the camera was modified so that 90mm framelines show when a 75 is mounted. I may ask DAG if he can do that and how much it costs.
I would like to know what Don is going to say too.
__________________

Camera/lens accumulator and seasonal painter.
________________________


<img src=http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=28907&dateline=1235974840 onload=if(this.width > 1024) {this.width=1024;this.alt='Click here to see a large version';} onmouseover=if(this.alt) this.style.cursor='pointer'; onclick=if(this.alt) window.open('http://www.rangefinderforum.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=28907&dateline=1235974840'); border=0 />
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-26-2012   #8
MikeL
Go Fish
 
MikeL's Avatar
 
MikeL is offline
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,190
David, I'm pretty sure the 50 and 75 bring up the same frameline (similar mount).

Roland's M3 is dedicated to the 75 or 90mm, and he's modified it so the 90mm frame is always showing.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-27-2012   #9
Phil_F_NM
Camera hacker
 
Phil_F_NM's Avatar
 
Phil_F_NM is offline
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 42
Posts: 3,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by david.elliott View Post
Thanks guys. I wouldn't mind at all if the camera was modified so that 90mm framelines show when a 75 is mounted. I may ask DAG if he can do that and how much it costs.
I don't think this can be done without sacrificing the 50mm frameline mask and putting it in another "slot" like the one meant for the 90mm.
There is only a very small amount of movement necessary to key up different framelines but one frameline position per frameline or pair. In your case you might want to get a replacement flange for your 75mm and have it be a 90mm one. I don't believe there is a way to key up the 90mm framelines without either modifying your 75mm lens or permanently modifying your camera at the cost of the 50mm framelines.

Phil Forrest
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-28-2012   #10
Wetzlarfan
Registered User
 
Wetzlarfan's Avatar
 
Wetzlarfan is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 16
It may not want to be the way you want to go, but I have a late M3 DS that I bought on eBay, described as having M6 framelines. In reality, it has 35-135, 50, and 90. I don't miss the 75 and 28 as I don't use these lenses, but it does allow me to use my beloved 35. If you get complete M6 framelines, you'll have the 75.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-28-2012   #11
huntjump
Registered User
 
huntjump's Avatar
 
huntjump is offline
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 743
Id recommend talking to youxin as well. I just had him custom install an m2 viewfinder in my m3 bp.

Maybe he has some creative ideas or parts to swap
__________________
RFF Gallery
Flickr

-Adam
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-28-2012   #12
Rob-F
Likes Leicas
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Age: 78
Posts: 5,899
Oh, just do what I do: slide a 75mm CV finder in the cold shoe and be done with it. It is surprisingly good to use.

__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 04-28-2012   #13
Pablito
coco frío
 
Pablito's Avatar
 
Pablito is offline
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Salsipuedes
Posts: 3,481
Well this is refreshing. A thread about adding frame lines instead of taking them out.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 19:51.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.