Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > SLRs - the unRF

SLRs - the unRF For those of you who must talk about SLRs, if only to confirm they are not RF.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Nikon F2 Focus screen issue.
Old 09-14-2017   #1
mlyonrubio
Registered User
 
mlyonrubio is offline
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Nikon F2 Focus screen issue.

Hello
Im new to the forum and I've been dealing with an issue regarding my F2 focus screen.
For the F2, Nikon made several models of focusing screens.

I recently lost my focus screen. When I went to the camera shop (in Paris) to buy a new one they only had de G4 model.
As you can see below, taken from mir.com I found out the G4 was specially made for 300mm lens.

I own a 50mm lens and my question is if by using the G4 focus screen with my lens, will it make my photos be out of focus?

Thanks!

Type G (G1, G2, G3, G4)
Nikon description: Clear Fresnel field with extra-bright 12mm-diameter microprism focussing spot for use in poor light. Four models correspond to lenses with different focal lengths:

[​IMG]
G1 for fisheye
G2 for wideangles
G3 for 50f/1.2 and 300f/2.8
G4 for 300f/2.8
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #2
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 955
No, focus has nothing to do with focus screen variants, but seeing the image/DOF might be a problem. The G focus screens are specialty screens that work best with the listed lenses. I don't have a G4 but my guess is that it might have unexpected issues with "wrong" lenses. I do have a G3 and it works beautifully with my 50mm f/1.2, but it blacks out very easily in the center spot with slow lenses.

Instead of relying on local shops for decades-old accessories, try eBay. I wanted to try different focus screens and I bought about a dozen various types for a few dollars a piece.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #3
mfogiel
Registered User
 
mfogiel's Avatar
 
mfogiel is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Monaco
Posts: 4,661
"No, focus has nothing to do with focus screen variants" - this is incorrect, in fact it has, you can verify this by checking the focus on a chart and changing the screens, and this is also one of the reasons for making various screens and "matching" them to specific lenses. It has to do with the angle, at which the rays hit the screen, and also with the maximum aperture of the lens. There is good news though - you can also use screens from Nikon F3 on F2, by flipping the F3 screen upside down. Just look for one of the mainstream screens.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #4
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 955
Why would the focus change? If the screens in question are not matched to the lens, I understand microprism blackout and such can happen, but if the focus is off it seems like it is a defective screen. I don't have any really oddball screens, like the ones for very long telephotos, so I have no way of testing really wacky combinations. I have used A, B, D, E, H, G, J, and K screens interchangeably with various lenses and never seen such a phenomenon.

My favorite screens for all types of photography are the J screens or similar microprism spot screens. Can't stand the pseudo-RF split-image screens, they drive me nuts.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #5
largedrink
Registered User
 
largedrink's Avatar
 
largedrink is offline
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 48
This focus screen selector chart may help:
http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography...creenimage.gif
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #6
mfogiel
Registered User
 
mfogiel's Avatar
 
mfogiel is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Monaco
Posts: 4,661
Corran, As stated above, having a lens that actually focuses precisely on an SLR, is in fact, an exception. Convince yourself: place your camera on a tripod and shoot a target chart at 45% from 1 meter or so, and then observe the results with various lenses and screens. It has to do with the way the screen interacts with the angle of rays from lens. You will notice, that the differences get smaller as the focal length becomes longer.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #7
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 955
I'm afraid my ability to focus wide angles through a squinty viewfinder is suspect, so that would be nothing more than a sobering reminder of such. Perhaps instead you can provide a link to someone else's test and perhaps more explanation about how the angle of rays changes the focus on a wide angle, thanks. As it stands I have never seen any problems in focus among my focus screens and normal lenses. Wide angles haven't seemed to be a problem either but larger apparent DOF could be the reason.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #8
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 6,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corran View Post
Why would the focus change? If the screens in question are not matched to the lens, I understand microprism blackout and such can happen, but if the focus is off it seems like it is a defective screen.
Split prisms and microprisms ease focusing by selecting the edge rays of the lens, thus creating a wide focus base. But as a direct consequence, you focus on the worst possible zone on any basic lens type. If the lens does not have a perfectly flat field (very few do) or has the edges moustache-corrected to return back into the main plane of focus (a common trick of SLR lens manufacturers), the prism focus will inevitably be off. Hence the rather puzzling compatibility tables issued by Nikon - both aperture compatibility and the best possible focus location have to be taken into account when picking a screen to match a lens.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-2017   #9
JMQ
Registered User
 
JMQ is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 796
mlyonrubio, you can also use the Nikon F3 screens. Just file down the small ledge -- I have done this before and it's a very simple procedure. I find the B screen the best general screen.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #10
iphoenix
Registered User
 
iphoenix's Avatar
 
iphoenix is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 100
[quote=mfogiel;27 you can also use screens from Nikon F3 on F2, by flipping the F3 screen upside down. Just look for one of the mainstream screens.[/QUOTE]

Does this work the other way as well?

Can I use my F2 screens on my F3?
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #11
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 6,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfogiel View Post
"No, focus has nothing to do with focus screen variants" - this is incorrect, in fact it has, you can verify this by checking the focus on a chart and changing the screens, and this is also one of the reasons for making various screens and "matching" them to specific lenses. It has to do with the angle, at which the rays hit the screen, and also with the maximum aperture of the lens.
It is a bit more complex than that - optical focusing aids (split and microprisms) have to account for aperture, exit pupil and curvature of field. The screen plane itself must invariably be in the same position as the film.

Quote:
There is good news though - you can also use screens from Nikon F3 on F2, by flipping the F3 screen upside down. Just look for one of the mainstream screens.
Not upside down - but that is self evident as it won't fit that way. Front to back will often work. If the fit is too tight, you must file off a bit of the F3 registration tab, or the screen won't sit flat in the proper position.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #12
sevo
Fokutorendaburando
 
sevo is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 6,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphoenix View Post
Does this work the other way as well?

Can I use my F2 screens on my F3?
Yes. Many of mine had a very loose fit, though - don't use it without a finder that way!
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #13
Highway 61
Revisited
 
Highway 61's Avatar
 
Highway 61 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlyonrubio View Post
I recently lost my focus screen. When I went to the camera shop (in Paris) to buy a new one they only had de G4 model.
There are tons of Nikon F/F2 focusing screens, all types, for sale on eBay.
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #14
Ronald M
Registered User
 
Ronald M is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,241
Can not flip upside down. Screens are actually two parts, the focus aid on the bottom piece and glass on the top with a "hill' on it facing up. The two are held together with tape around the edges. Then they are placed in the frame.

To take them apart, you need very small screwdrivers, good tweezers to hold the tiny screws when reassembling.

Flipping will place the actual focus screen way out of position.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #15
Dwig
Registered User
 
Dwig's Avatar
 
Dwig is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Key West, FL, USA
Posts: 1,519
F3 screens work fine in F & F2 bodies if you file off the tab on the F3 screen. Personally, when I did this (I did a number of such "conversions") I would always disassemble the screen before filing so that I could properly clean the frame and not risk getting filings onto the screen itself or between it and the condenser lens (these are not always "sealed" with tape).

The optical elements of most of the common versions of the early F3 screens will actually file inside of an F/F2 screen frame. The later "dot" (brighter) F3 screens will not fit properly into F/F2 screen frames. Also, the G and H series, and a few others, need their own special frames and can't be swapped into other frames.
__________________
----------
Dwig
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #16
Contarama
Registered User
 
Contarama is offline
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 909
As per recommendation of Brian Sweeney I went to an A screen and an E screen. They are great. I got rid of the other screens I had.
__________________
Art is the ability to make something...even if it is a big mess...
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-2017   #17
Highway 61
Revisited
 
Highway 61's Avatar
 
Highway 61 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwig View Post
The later "dot" (brighter) F3 screens will not fit properly into F/F2 screen frames.
This is not true. As any F2 and F3 screens they won't fit in the first series of F screen frames only. This is the same for Nikon F4 focusing screens (which are identical to the "red dot" Nikon F3 screens). If you use late Nikon F screen frames (with either yellow or red markings) you can do the swap with no problem, were you using regular F3 screens of "red dot" F3 screens or F4 screens.

See this :

http://www.destoutz.ch/typ_focusing-screens.html
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:30.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.