Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Leica M10, 240 family, M-P, M60

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Leica M-P : The preview lever returns to the M.240
Old 08-21-2014   #1
FrozenInTime
Registered User
 
FrozenInTime's Avatar
 
FrozenInTime is offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here and there
Posts: 1,766
Leica M-P : The preview lever returns to the M.240

M-P ( M.240 with no red dot, preview lever , 2 GB , sapphire screen ) launched

http://uk.leica-camera.com/Photograp...ica-M-P/Detail

__________________
It's the weird colour scheme that freaks me. Every time you try to operate one of these weird black controls, which are labeled in black on a black background, a small black light lights up black to let you know you've done it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #2
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 46
Posts: 20,268
How much more cash?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #3
Vics
Registered User
 
Vics is offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California, USA
Posts: 3,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
How much more cash?
How much have you got?
__________________
Vic
Sony a200

My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #4
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 46
Posts: 20,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vics View Post
How much have you got?
Exactly... how much can we get away with seems to be Leica's thinking. I can't blame them...
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #5
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsrockit View Post
Exactly... how much can we get away with seems to be Leica's thinking. I can't blame them...
Until someone else makes an m-mount digital rangefinder camera - they're the only game in town.

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-22-2014   #6
jsrockit
Moderator
 
jsrockit's Avatar
 
jsrockit is offline
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Santiago, Chile
Age: 46
Posts: 20,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveleo View Post
So glad that I am poor.
If I had $$$, I'd be silly enough to throw it away on cult-ish & fashion items as the seasons change.
But if you have the money to throw away, it wouldn't necessarily be silly.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #7
furcafe
Registered User
 
furcafe's Avatar
 
furcafe is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Age: 53
Posts: 4,310
Good that they brought it back, though I shudder to think how much they'll charge.

For US-ians:

http://us.leica-camera.com/Photograp...ica-M-P/Detail
__________________
Five a Second. Chicago's Bell & Howell Co. (cameras) announced that it would put on sale this fall the world's most expensive still camera. Its "Foton" will take five 35-mm. pictures a second, sell for $700. Bell & Howell, which has found that "families of both low and high incomes now spend over $550" for movie equipment, hopes to sell 20,000 Fotons a year.
--Facts And Figures, Time magazine, Monday, October 4, 1948
My Photoblog

My Flickr stream

My RFF Gallery

My Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #8
Mackinaw
Think Different
 
Mackinaw is offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: One hour south of the Mackinaw Bridge
Posts: 3,667
I like the traditional Leica script on the top plate.

Jim B.
__________________
My fancy-schmancy gallery:
http://snowcountryphotography.com

My RFF Gallery:
http://www.rangefinderforum.com/phot...user=1453&sl=m
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #9
Spicy
Registered User
 
Spicy is offline
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DC
Age: 33
Posts: 672
i think the only thing more pathetic than the giant LEEEEIIICCCCAAAA screaming pimple adorning the M240 is its omission on the M240P.

FOR THE PRINCELY SUM OF AN ADDITIONAL $2K AND YOUR SECONDBORN IN ADDITION TO YOUR FIRST, HERE'S A GIANT #$%@ING SCREW. OH AND IT'S CRAFTED BY "ARTISANS..." ENJOY

--LEICA DIGITAL



edit: also, using only a hyphen to differentiate your products is a bit of a marketing whoopsie... unless they're strategically doing it to try and make it REALLY hard for people to find information about the film cameras they offer.
__________________
ID7P0M2F854Ior+50PdV3MSFcC05MNC00
[:] ['☼║]
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #10
furcafe
Registered User
 
furcafe's Avatar
 
furcafe is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Age: 53
Posts: 4,310
Haterz gonna hate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spicy View Post
i think the only thing more pathetic than the giant LEEEEIIICCCCAAAA screaming pimple adorning the M240 is its omission on the M240P.

FOR THE PRINCELY SUM OF AN ADDITION $2K AND YOUR SECONDBORN IN ADDITION TO YOUR FIRST, HERE'S A GIANT #$%@ING SCREW. OH AND IT'S CRAFTED BY "ARTISANS..." ENJOY

--LEICA DIGITAL
__________________
Five a Second. Chicago's Bell & Howell Co. (cameras) announced that it would put on sale this fall the world's most expensive still camera. Its "Foton" will take five 35-mm. pictures a second, sell for $700. Bell & Howell, which has found that "families of both low and high incomes now spend over $550" for movie equipment, hopes to sell 20,000 Fotons a year.
--Facts And Figures, Time magazine, Monday, October 4, 1948
My Photoblog

My Flickr stream

My RFF Gallery

My Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #11
wintoid
Back to film
 
wintoid's Avatar
 
wintoid is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 1,331
So they called it the M-P as opposed to the MP. Sheesh, it's like the Canon 500D all over again...
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #12
x-ray
Registered User
 
x-ray's Avatar
 
x-ray is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tennessee USA
Age: 71
Posts: 4,624
After my M9 / NJ lack of service experience, no more leica digital, ever.

I'm delighted with Nikon and NPS if ever needed.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #13
judsonzhao
Registered User
 
judsonzhao is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 267
500 Euro more, dunno what will happen in US
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #14
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,708
Like I said in the other thread.... left kidney = paying for a camera.

Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #15
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,368
What the heck is with that screw on the front?!
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #16
furcafe
Registered User
 
furcafe's Avatar
 
furcafe is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Age: 53
Posts: 4,310
It covers the hole through which you adjust the RF patch alignment. It's underneath the big red dot on the non-P bodies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corran View Post
What the heck is with that screw on the front?!
__________________
Five a Second. Chicago's Bell & Howell Co. (cameras) announced that it would put on sale this fall the world's most expensive still camera. Its "Foton" will take five 35-mm. pictures a second, sell for $700. Bell & Howell, which has found that "families of both low and high incomes now spend over $550" for movie equipment, hopes to sell 20,000 Fotons a year.
--Facts And Figures, Time magazine, Monday, October 4, 1948
My Photoblog

My Flickr stream

My RFF Gallery

My Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #17
erikhaugsby
killer of threads
 
erikhaugsby's Avatar
 
erikhaugsby is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Innsbruck
Age: 31
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by furcafe View Post
It covers the hole through which you adjust the RF patch alignment. It's underneath the big red dot on the non-P bodies.
I don't think the question is "What's it for?" but rather "Why's it so big?" because I know that it's not so big on the M3/2/4.
__________________
Hello World
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #18
Ronald M
Registered User
 
Ronald M is offline
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikhaugsby View Post
I don't think the question is "What's it for?" but rather "Why's it so big?" because I know that it's not so big on the M3/2/4.
Because the a small hole was all that was needed to access a simple almost jewelers screw.

I have seen the hole behind the big red dot and I submit it is large to accommodate the special big oversize tool now required to make the adjustment. To plug a big hole, one needs a big screw.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #19
Kwesi
Registered User
 
Kwesi is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Sparrow View Post
They're probably using existing Leica M bodies, which likely have a large hole for the appropriately larger roundel.

I think a large hex bolt would look bad ass.
It would!
Especially if you could use it to directly adjust the vertical alignment without first removing it.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #20
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by furcafe View Post
It covers the hole through which you adjust the RF patch alignment. It's underneath the big red dot on the non-P bodies.
Funny thing is I have never noticed the screw on the front of M3 and other non-red dot bodies. But the giant one on this is just disconcerting.

I have an M9 and M6 and have no problem with the red dot, and nor do I have tape over it. Frankly I don't know what the obsession is with removing or hiding the Leica logo. Big deal.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #21
bennyng
Benny Ng
 
bennyng's Avatar
 
bennyng is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tokyo/Singapore
Posts: 906
So.... everytime Leica launches a new digital M, they will upgrade it with a P model thereafter. Wait for it (whilst they fix the bugs). That's the trick right?
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #22
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,708
Apparently the price of the M.240 is going up too

As to Leica releasing a P model to fix bugs... well.. I don't know what bugs there are in the M.240 because, at least so far *touches wood* I haven't seen any.

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #23
f16sunshine
Moderator
 
f16sunshine's Avatar
 
f16sunshine is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Age: 52
Posts: 6,255
If Leica wanted to sell these cameras they would lower the standard M240 price and price the M-P version at the price of the original.
It seems with their trade in incentive spoken of in another thread they are not selling up to expectation.
Why now will an uglier upgrade improve that?
That's a big ol zit right on the forehead of that camera (the RF cover screw).
Is this someones PS mock up or an official image of the new body offered?

Edit
It's the real image not a mock up. I think I would take the red dot over the zit!
In seriousness though. 2gigs of Ram should actually be a real improvement. COnsidering how little that actually costs it should be in the camera already.
Wonder if they will upgrade the original M240's for a fee?
__________________
Andy
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #24
rscheffler
Registered User
 
rscheffler is offline
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by f16sunshine View Post
2gigs of Ram should actually be a real improvement. COnsidering how little that actually costs it should be in the camera already.
This is the only thing that seriously interests me about the M-P and is exactly what I thought - it should have been in the M to begin with.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #25
Hsg
who dares wins
 
Hsg is offline
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by rscheffler View Post
This is the only thing that seriously interests me about the M-P and is exactly what I thought - it should have been in the M to begin with.
So if that internal RAM goes bad, which is a common thing, you'd have to send the camera back for repair... While every other sane camera maker leaves the RAM to the buyer...
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #26
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hsg View Post
While every other sane camera maker leaves the RAM to the buyer...
Huh? Are you talking about memory cards??
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #27
Duane Pandorf
Registered User
 
Duane Pandorf's Avatar
 
Duane Pandorf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I'm currently in Brevard, North Carolina.
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hsg View Post
So if that internal RAM goes bad, which is a common thing, you'd have to send the camera back for repair... While every other sane camera maker leaves the RAM to the buyer.......
Please explain what camera manufacturer lets the buyer choose their RAM? And also tell me about cameras that have internal memory problems? Huh?
__________________
Duane Pandorf
--------------------
Blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #28
f16sunshine
Moderator
 
f16sunshine's Avatar
 
f16sunshine is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Age: 52
Posts: 6,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hsg View Post
So if that internal RAM goes bad, which is a common thing, you'd have to send the camera back for repair... While every other sane camera maker leaves the RAM to the buyer...
Well not really no. The RAM is not user servicable in any camera I'm aware of. The Storage (SD or Flash card) is user changeable. The buffer is internal and integrated with the CPU.
The point is that 2G of buffer is modest by 2013-2014 standards in most ways of looking at it.
Leica should provide this as a baseline not part of an uprgraded offering to an already expensive camera.

Cheers!
__________________
Andy
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #29
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by f16sunshine View Post
If Leica wanted to sell these cameras they would lower the standard M240 price and price the M-P version at the price of the original.
It seems with their trade in incentive spoken of in another thread they are not selling up to expectation.
Why now will an uglier upgrade improve that?
That's a big ol effin zit right on the forehead of that camera (the RF cover screw).
Is this someones PS mock up or an official image of the new body offered?

Edit
It's the real image not a mock up. I think I would take the red dot over the zit!
In seriousness though. 2gigs of Ram should actually be a real improvement. COnsidering how little that actually costs it should be in the camera already.
Wonder if they will upgrade the original M240's for a fee?
Leica sells every camera and lens they make. I think they know something about marketing their products. ;-)

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #30
f16sunshine
Moderator
 
f16sunshine's Avatar
 
f16sunshine is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Age: 52
Posts: 6,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
Leica sells every camera and lens they make. I think they know something about marketing their products. ;-)

G
They should I hope!
If not they can hire me. My consultatin rates are on a scale.
They are usually for assessing missed potential water conservation methods and soil deficiencies but hey! ... dirt is dirt right?
__________________
Andy
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #31
Duane Pandorf
Registered User
 
Duane Pandorf's Avatar
 
Duane Pandorf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I'm currently in Brevard, North Carolina.
Posts: 433
Just use the same tape all of you already use to cover your Leica dots on the screw that's replaced the dot.
__________________
Duane Pandorf
--------------------
Blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #32
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,368
By the way, no one has mentioned the new thumb wheel. An interesting addition.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #33
DavidKKHansen
Registered User
 
DavidKKHansen is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corran View Post
By the way, no one has mentioned the new thumb wheel. An interesting addition.
What, that's it's black now?
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #34
aizan
Registered User
 
aizan's Avatar
 
aizan is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,801
the "p" stands for polka dots.
__________________
Ugly Cameras
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #35
dcsang
Canadian & Not A Dentist
 
dcsang's Avatar
 
dcsang is offline
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 4,708
$7950 USD based on the "La Vida Leica" story..

Don't forget the current M(240) is going up in price too.. by $300.. that would be a 4.3% increase - which is well more than current Canadian inflation.. but who knows what inflation is like over where Leica lives

Dave
__________________
I own a Leica and I am NOT a dentist (I don't even portray one on TV!!!)

I have an idea what I'm looking for but it only becomes real once I see it - Constantine Manos

ITS THE MAGIC I SEE IN THE Light, Texture, & Tone
that Intoxicates Me - Helen Hill

My Flickr - it's where I post my RF and P&S shtuff
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #36
aeturnum
Registered User
 
aeturnum is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 159
I'm quite surprised that Leica didn't come up with anything better than that big screw. It's ultimately a small detail, but from a company that sells a premium product and claims to care about the details. They couldn't use a black dot, or a small piece of metal, or simply a smaller screw?
__________________
Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #37
f16sunshine
Moderator
 
f16sunshine's Avatar
 
f16sunshine is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Age: 52
Posts: 6,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeturnum View Post
I'm quite surprised that Leica didn't come up with anything better than that big screw. It's ultimately a small detail, but from a company that sells a premium product and claims to care about the details. They couldn't use a black dot, or a small piece of metal, or simply a smaller screw?
How about just a hole with a self closing teflon plug on the back side.
You can find such hidden closures used for charging ports on many waterproof devices it's elegant, invisible, and inexpensive.
One would see a small indentation of black. If you push a tool into it it would slide in and then self close upon removal.
Where do these designers research ?

I imagine it is some sort of steampunk lab that Leica designers inhabit.
Trying to splice old televisions onto Bellows cameras to create prototypes
__________________
Andy
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #38
Samoura´
Registered User
 
Samoura´'s Avatar
 
Samoura´ is offline
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeturnum View Post
I'm quite surprised that Leica didn't come up with anything better than that big screw. It's ultimately a small detail, but from a company that sells a premium product and claims to care about the details. They couldn't use a black dot, or a small piece of metal, or simply a smaller screw?
Is there a post or screw of somesort underneath the vanilla-240's red dot logo? If the screw serves some sort of structural function, I don't mind; looks kind of cool.
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #39
Duane Pandorf
Registered User
 
Duane Pandorf's Avatar
 
Duane Pandorf is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I'm currently in Brevard, North Carolina.
Posts: 433
I'm actually interested in this update and what interests me is the added buffer with 3 frames per second. I've been shooting some nightclub musician performances in my little town and have hit my M-E's buffer limit a couple times. The wait can seem like forever.

The new M's video and Liveview would seldom ever get used. Plus I've heard the arguments of CCD versus CMOS but I have an X-Rite color checker and would create my own profiles just as I've done with my M-E.
__________________
Duane Pandorf
--------------------
Blog
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-21-2014   #40
Corran
Registered User
 
Corran is offline
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1,368
Oops, didn't realize that the M240 had that. Never really looked.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:15.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.