Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Rangefinder Forum > Image Processing: Darkroom / Lightroom / Film > Photo Software

Photo Software Discussions of all the photo software - except scanning software which is in the forum with scanners.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Fuji OOC Film 'recipes'
Old 12-28-2019   #1
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,376
Fuji OOC Film 'recipes'

For those that shoot JPEG on their Fuji's this site has a bunch of film 'recipes' for a variety of different looks.

https://fujixweekly.com/recipes/

Going to try out this one but with grain turned off as a walk around camera.

https://fujixweekly.com/2018/08/19/m...lation-recipe/

Only tricky part is I don't think you can save customized versions of Auto WB in the custom user settings so it takes more work to switch between them. Going to shoot JPEG only but with the front button set to RAW. That way if I have a shot I think I will want a RAW file for I just press that button and take the shot and the camera will take a JPEG+RAW for that shot.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-29-2019   #2
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,376
Just to add onto this... if you haven't tried Fuji X Raw Studio yet (and your camera supports it) you should really try it out. I just tried it out and am annoyed at myself for not trying it before.

It lets you adjust all the image parameters and see the changes real time on your computer for RAF files on your computer. Very handy to learn how the settings effect the JPEG outcomes and also lets you create your own profiles to apply to RAW files later. I built profiles for a bunch of the recipes up top. Hit convert and it uses the camera to convert it to a JPEG with the setting you chose. More flexible than using Film Simulation Bracketing as you still have the RAF file.

This video shows how it works...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=De8xUjlWJC4

Shawn
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-29-2019   #3
twvancamp
Thom
 
twvancamp's Avatar
 
twvancamp is offline
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 59
This makes me sad my Xpro1 doesn't have all the new simulations
__________________
Instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-30-2019   #4
nightfly
Registered User
 
nightfly is offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,943
These are interesting but I wish someone could do a convincing Kodachrome.

If you look at some of the Kodachrome simulations here and browse the images linked to in the Saul Leiter thread of actual Kodachrome:

http://sharevid.ru/index.php?s=rayle...ul-leiter.html

There isn't a whole lot of similarity even given the huge amounts of variables.

Also, with regards to Fuji X Raw Studio, I don't understand why the profiles wouldn't be built into the software (like they do in the Capture 1 Fuji version) rather than requiring you to connect the camera? Surely the processor in your computer would be capable of anything that is built into the camera even if there is secret Fuji mojo going on.
  Reply With Quote

Old 12-30-2019   #5
shawn
Registered User
 
shawn is offline
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightfly View Post
These are interesting but I wish someone could do a convincing Kodachrome.

If you look at some of the Kodachrome simulations here and browse the images linked to in the Saul Leiter thread of actual Kodachrome:

http://sharevid.ru/index.php?s=rayle...ul-leiter.html

There isn't a whole lot of similarity even given the huge amounts of variables.

Also, with regards to Fuji X Raw Studio, I don't understand why the profiles wouldn't be built into the software (like they do in the Capture 1 Fuji version) rather than requiring you to connect the camera? Surely the processor in your computer would be capable of anything that is built into the camera even if there is secret Fuji mojo going on.

I never shot Kodachrome but I have thousands of my fathers old Kodachrome slides and they don't look like what you linked to either except for a couple of those. The Kodakchrome II 'recipe' has some of the feel of the Kodachrome I have.

Part of this is there just isn't one Kodachrome look. It looks like it varied a lot over the years and also seems like its look varied quite a bit with exposure and lighting. Check any of the Kodachrome groups on flicker and there is a wide variety to the shots there.

For X Raw Studio it is a way of getting you exactly what the camera would do since it actually has the camera perform the processing. On my Macbook Pro (2015) the processing is *much* faster in X Raw Studio than in any of my applications. What is also cool about it is seeing the changes real time on your files. If one wanted to develop their own look this is dramatically easier than developing it in camera. Once you have the settings you like you could then just transfer them into the camera to have what you want.

Just for fun I tried the same boring picture in a few different 'Kodachrome' looks. This was shot on my M240 with a Summitar wide open.

Lightroom with a 'Kodachrome' preset


RPP64 K64 Film Emulation


DXO Filmpack 5 Kodachrome 64


DXO Filmpack 5 Kodachrome 25


DXO Filmpack 5 Kodachrome 200


DXO Filmpack 5 Kodachrome Generic


This is also altered by the DXO shots using the camera as shot WB. LR and RPP64 both were autoWB which is better than the cameras WB but FilmPack doesn't have that as an option.

Shawn
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:12.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.