Any camera with separated AF/Shutter release button?
Old 10-19-2015   #1
paniolo
Registered User
 
paniolo is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 195
Any camera with separated AF/Shutter release button?

Hello Photographers,
finaly I came in the mood to get a compact P&S wonder package to replace it with my mostly mechanical every day carry around cameras like my Barnacks and Olympus XA's.
The main reason I was always afraid in buying a Contax T2/tvs, Minilux/CM, Nikon 35ti, etc. was that I couldn't imagine to deal with the way the Autofocus works. (I have never handled one of these)
I am correct that they all have a link between shutter and AF?
I imagine to have a separate AF button like on my fine Canon eos 20d to make sure it only focusses when I want it.

So the big question is: Is there any compact camera with that ability?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #2
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by paniolo View Post
Hello Photographers,
finaly I came in the mood to get a compact P&S wonder package to replace it with my mostly mechanical every day carry around cameras like my Barnacks and Olympus XA's.
The main reason I was always afraid in buying a Contax T2/tvs, Minilux/CM, Nikon 35ti, etc. was that I couldn't imagine to deal with the way the Autofocus works. (I have never handled one of these)
I am correct that they all have a link between shutter and AF?
I imagine to have a separate AF button like on my fine Canon eos 20d to make sure it only focusses when I want it.

So the big question is: Is there any compact camera with that ability?
Nearly all AF point and shoots focus with focus lock on the shutter half press, make the exposure by following through to a full press. So it's very easy to separate focus and exposure by learning how to half press, hold it there, frame and make the exposure.

More advanced compact cameras, like Olympus Pen E-Pxx models, have an AF/AE Lock button which allows you to define several different ways that the button and shutter release can interact, with respect to both AF and AE.

The way I usually have my E-PL7 set up, I dedicate the AF/AE Lock to exposure control as a toggle. I have the AF/MF toggle set to a function button nearby the shutter. So to focus, I half press the shutter release then press the AF/MF toggle. That locks the focus. To set exposure, I half press the shutter release and press the AELock. That locks exposure. After that I'm free to make exposures whenever I want, tweaking focus as needed. A press on the two function buttons restores the camera to full automatic operation.

That's just one way to set it up. It works for me, but several other configurations are possible.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #3
paniolo
Registered User
 
paniolo is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 195
Hello and thank you.
Sure I know about focus lock, but thats realy not the thing I want.
As I said, I want to know if there is a camera with a separate button only for AF, so the shutter release is only for the shutter release.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #4
JP Owens
Registered User
 
JP Owens is offline
Join Date: Dec 2014
Age: 69
Posts: 360
I'm not familiar with all P&S digitals; but, the Sony A6000 and Panasonic GH3 both can be set up like DSLRs, with back button focus, separating focus from the shutter release.
__________________
_______

"Nothing exists beyond the edges of the frame."
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #5
paniolo
Registered User
 
paniolo is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 195
btw, i am looking for an analogue camera. ;-)
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #6
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by paniolo View Post
btw, i am looking for an analogue camera. ;-)
You mean a film camera. I'm afraid you're completely out of luck there. No film point and shoot I've ever seen had separate AF and shutter release buttons. They were either automated with half-press focus-and-lock, or manual (or fixed) focus entirely.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #7
f16sunshine
Moderator
 
f16sunshine's Avatar
 
f16sunshine is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Age: 51
Posts: 6,257
There are some with ae lock or manual exposure but that's about as close as you get (contax g models for example). I believe the contax t-2/3 have ael as well which accomplishes your goal.
You will have to work backwards from your 20D method.
Expose where you want and lock. Then focus.
It's not so different really.
__________________
Andy
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #8
Axel
Registered User
 
Axel's Avatar
 
Axel is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Germany, north
Posts: 638
I´m shure there are ...

Have a look at the Hexar AF for example.

Regards, Axel
__________________
my photos here
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #9
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel100 View Post
I´m shure there are ...

Have a look at the Hexar AF for example.

Regards, Axel
Nothing different about the Hexar AF with respect to AF that I can glean from the manual. It does have manual focus.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #10
f16sunshine
Moderator
 
f16sunshine's Avatar
 
f16sunshine is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Age: 51
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
Nothing different about the Hexar AF with respect to AF that I can glean from the manual. It does have manual focus. G
It has manual exposure as well which also achieves op's purpose.
__________________
Andy
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #11
anerjee
Registered User
 
anerjee is offline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 280
Contax G2, while not technically a point-and-shoot, has what you are looking for.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #12
pvdhaar
Zoom with your feet!
 
pvdhaar's Avatar
 
pvdhaar is offline
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel100 View Post
I´m shure there are ...

Have a look at the Hexar AF for example.

Regards, Axel
Yep, correct.. the Hexar comes closest to what the OP needs. It allows separate setting of auto focus distance, auto exposure and completely unrelated subject..

But the way to get there is not entirely obvious. Still you can do absolutely insane stuff like this:

With the Hexar in autofocus mode, aim at something, press shutter halfway, while doing that, tap the MF button just once. This locks focus. You can now take your finger away from the shutter, aim at something else, press shutter halfway to lock exposure, recompose to somewhere else again and shoot.
__________________
Kind regards,

Peter

My Hexländer Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-19-2015   #13
btgc
Registered User
 
btgc's Avatar
 
btgc is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,755
I think I've seens some early Yashica AF compact with AF button on front of body. Like this:



http://www.jollinger.com/photo/cam-c...YashicaAF.html

Another variant of it
http://blog.bkspicture.com/review_Ya...uto_Focus.html
__________________
MyFlickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-20-2015   #14
Godfrey
somewhat colored
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Godfrey is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silly Valley, California, USA
Posts: 9,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by f16sunshine View Post
It has manual exposure as well which also achieves op's purpose.
Well, if it's manual exposure that's wanted, my Minox 35GT-E does that beautifully. :-)

I thought the desire was a point and shoot with AF but back-button AF initiation.

G
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-20-2015   #15
David Hughes
David Hughes
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,538
Hi,

I guess at this point I'll have to point out again that most of them have focus locks but not on a special button dedicated to that purpose. So the question is, what's wrong with the half push of the shutter to lock the focus...

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-20-2015   #16
Mudman
Registered User
 
Mudman's Avatar
 
Mudman is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saratoga Springs
Posts: 1,136
I have an olympus infinity (af-1) for free to a good home that has the focus lock on a separate button. The kicker is I've never tested it as the battery is a bit hard to find.
__________________
"Dodging and burning are steps to take care of mistakes God made in establishing tonal relationships."
~Ansel Adams
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-20-2015   #17
peterm1
Registered User
 
peterm1's Avatar
 
peterm1 is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5,690
If you are talking about film cameras, some such as the Contax T2 have a manual focus mode from memory (its been a while) if this helps. As others have pointed out they will typically also allow you to use a "half press" of the shutter button to lock focus (and also in at least some cases, lock exposure as well. I know of none that has a separate AF/AE button of the sort some current DSLRs have.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-20-2015   #18
Greyscale
Registered User
 
Greyscale's Avatar
 
Greyscale is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Dodge Iowa
Age: 59
Posts: 4,625
The Samsung ECX-1 and ECX-2 have a manual focus mode, but you would need to know or guess the focus distance, as they do not have focus confirm in this mode. And without knowing the exact aperture and shutter speed that the camera will select, scale-focusing would be iffy at best.
__________________
my flickr

My RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-20-2015   #19
CK Dexter Haven
Registered User
 
CK Dexter Haven is offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,444
I'm curious. Why do you want this...in a P&S-type camera? How often do you really need your exposure set on something that isn't your focus point? Is there some other reason?
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2015   #20
paniolo
Registered User
 
paniolo is offline
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 195
I want to prefocus on something and release later, without keep halfpressing the shutter release button. And without the need to focus again when I want to take my shot. But ok, looks like the Contax G is the only one. Not realy a compact ;-)
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2015   #21
jamin-b
Registered User
 
jamin-b is offline
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 443
Some P&S cameras allow you to manually set focus distance...
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2015   #22
Greyscale
Registered User
 
Greyscale's Avatar
 
Greyscale is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Dodge Iowa
Age: 59
Posts: 4,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by paniolo View Post
I want to prefocus on something and release later, without keep halfpressing the shutter release button. And without the need to focus again when I want to take my shot. But ok, looks like the Contax G is the only one. Not realy a compact ;-)
Some of the later Canon compacts have what they refer to as "RTS (Real-time shutter)", which I think would do what you need, for much less than a G1 would cost. But a compact rangefinder would do the same, why even use a point and shoot for this? There are different tools for different jobs.
__________________
my flickr

My RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-2015   #23
Peter_S
Registered User
 
Peter_S is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narvik (Norway); Tbilisi (Georgia)
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by paniolo View Post
But ok, looks like the Contax G is the only one. Not realy a compact ;-)
But pretty awesome, and in many was still the best analog system I have used. Fast, snappy really solid and reliable. And fun!
I miss mine occassionally.
The Contax T3 has AF-lock, that may work for you. And I cannot praise that camera highly enough.

PS - I agree with Greyscale, a small all-manual RF (Leica CL, VL Bessa) with a small lens may work better for your purposes.
__________________
Contax T3
Leica Monochrom + VL lenses
Sigma DP2 Merrill
--------------------------
www.ps-photo.net
On instagram
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 23:22.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.