Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Leicas and other Leica Mount Cameras > Canon Leica Screw Mount Film Rangefinders

Canon Leica Screw Mount Film Rangefinders For classic Leica Screw Mount Canon Rangefinders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Canon P - ISO Setting?
Old 11-22-2019   #1
garrethpb
Registered User
 
garrethpb is offline
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Canon P - ISO Setting?

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and fairly new to shooting with Rangefinders. I've had a Canon VT-Deluxe that I've been shooting with for a few months but just recently acquired a Canon P that appears to be in excellent condition. I am a bit confused, however, by the lack of ISO setting. Am I missing something? How does one account for film ISO when using this camera?

Thank you!

Garreth
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #2
jim_jm
Registered User
 
jim_jm's Avatar
 
jim_jm is offline
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 288
The camera has no built-in meter. You need to add a meter to the hotshoe, or use a handheld meter, and set the ISO (ASA) of your film there. The dial on the back of the camera is just a reminder for the speed of the film you have loaded.
__________________
My Flickr
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #3
Swift1
Registered User
 
Swift1's Avatar
 
Swift1 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Talent, Oregon.
Posts: 2,024
The Canon P and VT have no built in light meter, so it's not necessary to be able to set film speed on the camera. The ISO "setting" on the VT is only to help you remember what film is loaded.
__________________
Colton

If you're gonna shoot, shoot, don't talk. The Ugly
My Flickr
My Website
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #4
garrethpb
Registered User
 
garrethpb is offline
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Jim, thanks for your quick answer. I understand that there's no light meter. I quite like this actually and have had pretty good results using the "Sunny 16" rule, which as I understand as follows: Shooting in full sun, if you set your F-Stop to 16, you'll have good exposure if your shutter speed matches your film's ISO. You can use the "exposure triangle" to make adjustments accordingly. Certainly I can still follow the same guidelines with this camera. The only difference is that with the VT-Deluxe I've been shooting with, you actually have a means to tell the camera what is the ISO of the film you're using. The P does not have this - there's nowhere to set the ISO on the camera. So... Do I just kinda load my film and continue to follow Sunny 16 and not worry about the fact that there's no where to set the ISO setting on the camera itself?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #5
garrethpb
Registered User
 
garrethpb is offline
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Swift, thanks! Got it! So the ISO "setting" on the VT doesn't actually do anything! Joke's on me... This will be fun. Thank you for your help!
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #6
AndersG
Registered User
 
AndersG's Avatar
 
AndersG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 275
Yes, the camera itself has no use for the ISO setting - it relies on you setting the speed, aperture and focus on the camera to whatever you choose as suitable.
__________________
My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #7
Swift1
Registered User
 
Swift1's Avatar
 
Swift1 is offline
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Talent, Oregon.
Posts: 2,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by garrethpb View Post
Swift, thanks! Got it! So the ISO "setting" on the VT doesn't actually do anything! Joke's on me... This will be fun. Thank you for your help!
Precisely
Good luck and happy shooting.
__________________
Colton

If you're gonna shoot, shoot, don't talk. The Ugly
My Flickr
My Website
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #8
maigo
Registered User
 
maigo is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 374
I had exactly the same questions a few years back when I got the Olympus Pen FV.
No shame in it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
---------------------------------
My Flickr Photostream
My Flickr Albums
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-2019   #9
mike rosenlof
Insufficient information
 
mike rosenlof is offline
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Age: 61
Posts: 379
My P has a reminder dial on the back door. It's of course labeled "ASA" because that and DIN were how film speeds were standardized at the time of the P's production.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:48.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.