Looking for a new scanner.
Old 11-02-2018   #1
jmpgino
Registered User
 
jmpgino is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ga U.S.A now, England before.
Posts: 343
Looking for a new scanner.

Would you please help me by suggesting some good scanners for 120 roll film.
I have been out of touch for some years. I would pay up to $1,500 but I believe that there are very good models for around $400 now I may be wrong there but I obviously need some help please.
Cheers,
James.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #2
Dan Daniel
Registered User
 
Dan Daniel is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,561
Give thought to getting an Epson 600 for 'contact print' scanning. Then using a digital camera for specific frames for high-end scans. Assuming you already have a good digital camera and a good macro lens. Much better bang for the buck.


I know someone who uses an Epson 600 for scanning 120 film, exhibits and sells the prints on a regular basis. So it is capable of very good work. He just started using a full-frame DSLR and is having a kick with the extra detail and tonal range, but also having to deal with real grain in ways the 600 didn't give him.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #3
jmpgino
Registered User
 
jmpgino is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ga U.S.A now, England before.
Posts: 343
Nah, I want something that will do it all in one. I have aNikon 8000 ED and I can not find a FireWire connector that works it on a new pc.
I think I will post a Nikon Scanner question. Thanks for advice.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #4
Swift1
Registered User
 
Swift1's Avatar
 
Swift1 is online now
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Talent, Oregon.
Posts: 1,904
I don't think there are any dedicated 120 film scanners that sell for under $500.

Your options are pretty much limited to ,

Coolscan 8000 or 9000
Minolta Multi Pro
Braun/Pacific Image 120
Plustek 120
Polaroid Sprintscan 120

Braun has something fairly new called the NovaScan 120, which appears to be basically a 14mp digicam.
__________________
Colton

If you're gonna shoot, shoot, don't talk. The Ugly
My Flickr
My Website
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #5
brbo
Registered User
 
brbo's Avatar
 
brbo is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,462
You may feel otherwise for some reason, but I would NEVER replace a really good scanner just because your new computer doesn’t have a FW connection. Spend $100 (or less) on an old PC or notebook and use it for scanning...
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #6
ASA 32
Registered User
 
ASA 32's Avatar
 
ASA 32 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Coastal Connecticut
Age: 74
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by brbo View Post
You may feel otherwise for some reason, but I would NEVER replace a really good scanner just because your new computer doesn’t have a FW connection. Spend $100 (or less) on an old PC or notebook and use it for scanning...
I agree; using my old Mac G5 to run my Minolta Multi Pro w/ FW 400 works fine.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #7
aizan
Registered User
 
aizan's Avatar
 
aizan is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Age: 37
Posts: 4,597
Hope you’ve got the room for another computer!
__________________
Ugly Cameras
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #8
Dan Daniel
Registered User
 
Dan Daniel is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by aizan View Post
Hope you’ve got the room for another computer!
A laptop? Like this one?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-iBook...UAAOSwD~FbuGKh

All the OP needs to do is get the scan off of the 8000. From there he can pull it over to a 'real' computer for work.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #9
brbo
Registered User
 
brbo's Avatar
 
brbo is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by aizan View Post
Hope you’ve got the room for another computer!
A computer to run Nikon CS 8000 can be one fifth of the size of the scanner itself...
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #10
RObert Budding
Registered User
 
RObert Budding is offline
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Arlington, Massachusetts
Posts: 1,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgino View Post
Nah, I want something that will do it all in one. I have aNikon 8000 ED and I can not find a FireWire connector that works it on a new pc.
I think I will post a Nikon Scanner question. Thanks for advice.
Have you tried a Firewire PCI-Express card?
__________________
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true."
~Robert Wilensky

"He could be right, he could be wrong. I think he's wrong but he says it in such a sincere way. You have to think he thinks he's right."
~ Bob Dylan
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #11
bayernfan
Registered User
 
bayernfan's Avatar
 
bayernfan is offline
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 742
i agree with the others that recommend setting up a computer dedicated to an excellent scanner. i'm fortunate in that my coolscan V has USB that my Win7 virtual machine can communicate with. If I had a coolscan 8000, i'd definitely setup an older machine with firewire capability to make it work.
__________________
M_V instagram
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #12
jmpgino
Registered User
 
jmpgino is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ga U.S.A now, England before.
Posts: 343
Been looking on the bay, will this PC work for me ???

https://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-Pavilion...0/173617437301
  Reply With Quote

Looking for a new scanner.
Old 11-02-2018   #13
maigo
Registered User
 
maigo is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 300
Looking for a new scanner.

If you need a basic Mac with FireWire for scanning then this might suit you:

https://m.newegg.ca/products/9SIAA7R8829545

Otherwise perhaps check with Hogarth Ferguson here on RFF for 120 scanning recommendations.
__________________
---------------------------------
My Flickr Photostream
My Flickr Albums
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #14
maigo
Registered User
 
maigo is offline
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 300
If you need a basic Mac with FireWire for scanning then this might suit you:

https://m.newegg.ca/products/9SIAA7R8829545

Otherwise perhaps check with Horgarth Ferguson here on RFF for 120 scanning recommendations.
__________________
---------------------------------
My Flickr Photostream
My Flickr Albums
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #15
jmpgino
Registered User
 
jmpgino is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ga U.S.A now, England before.
Posts: 343
Mango,
I just looked at this and it just seems to be a monitor. Now I am certainly not a computer wizz, at 61 I feel I do rather well but is this the correct link ???
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-2018   #16
jmpgino
Registered User
 
jmpgino is offline
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ga U.S.A now, England before.
Posts: 343
Sorry this bloody iPad likes to change my typing Maigo. I just lost my dear Gino recently, a daily mourn at the moment and I want to scan my images of my late four legged son and the wife is pushing me to get moving on this project.
Cheers, bed time for me now,
James.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2018   #17
BernardL
Registered User
 
BernardL is offline
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 134
Quote:
I have aNikon 8000 ED and I can not find a FireWire connector that works it on a new pc
Go to amazon.com. Type in the search bar "firewire pci". Many choices starting at $10. And you would instead dump a Coolscan 8000 ?? I'll get it off your hands. I'll even pay shipping.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2018   #18
brbo
Registered User
 
brbo's Avatar
 
brbo is offline
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,462
OP, you haven’t said what kind of computer you now have. Maybe you can get away with simply buying a cheap Firewire card or a Thunderbolt-to-Firewire adapter (if your new computer is a Mac). Next option is buying a cheap used PC or Mac Mini (you can get them used for about $100), Mac Mini will have a FW already built in and you will probably have to buy a FW card for the PC.

The scanning computer can then run headless (no need for extra display, mouse and keyboard; only needed for initial setup), you connect to the scanning computer through RDP or VNC.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 15:01.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.