Leica IIIA - take up spool stuck
Old 06-23-2016   #1
Blavbec
Registered User
 
Blavbec's Avatar
 
Blavbec is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Paesi Bassi
Age: 54
Posts: 11
Leica IIIA - take up spool stuck

Hello, I'm a new Leica-owner since I received a beautiful IIIA (1938) with Summar, bought on an auction. Unfortunately there seems to be a problem: I can't get the take up spool out of the camera. What am I doing wrong? I tried to pull it out with a pair of tweezers, the spool came out a bit, but plopped back again as if something is holding it. Is it not supposed to just fall out of the camera as you open it up? Regards, Wim
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #2
alistair.o
Registered User
 
alistair.o's Avatar
 
alistair.o is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 698
Make certain that all of the film is rewound on to it i.e. not catching on the edge. Get your tweezers and ease it right out: if you lose a little film so be it.

Yes it comes out with fingers pulling as a rule, but old cameras can be quirky.
__________________
Best Wishes - Alistair
________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #3
David Hughes
David Hughes
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,516
Hi,

They sometimes get stuck but should yield. The spring back suggests it is well and truly stuck as the spring is (from memory) part of the clutch mechanism.

In your shoes I'd get a technician to sort it out. It no big deal and there's lots of accidents you could have and spoil the camera if attempting it yourself. Hope this doesn't sound rude...

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #4
Blavbec
Registered User
 
Blavbec's Avatar
 
Blavbec is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Paesi Bassi
Age: 54
Posts: 11
Thanks for the advice, that's a good idea, better not spoil the camera. There is no film in it, it is brand new (for me).
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #5
presspass
filmshooter
 
presspass is offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,228
Just to make sure there's not a bit of film stuck to the spool from the previous owner, take the lens off, set the shutter to time using the slow speed dial, and open the shutter. The other thing you could try is make sure the rewind/advance lever is set to advance, wind it on and fire the shutter. Do this a couple of times and see if that helps.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #6
Jerevan
Recycled User
 
Jerevan's Avatar
 
Jerevan is offline
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,120
Is the camera set to rewind? I've no idea if that hinders the process of getting the spool out, but ...
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #7
Blavbec
Registered User
 
Blavbec's Avatar
 
Blavbec is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Paesi Bassi
Age: 54
Posts: 11
Thanks, Presspass, I tried but couldn't see any film rests. I fired the shutter a lot of times, but still... Thanks, Jerevan, I tried to take the spool out with the camera set to rewind, and set on advance, but it didn't make any difference so far.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #8
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,874
My Leica If did that. The take out spool was stuck. I removed it with a pair of needle nose pliers. It needed more grab than a pair of tweezers would have afforded. I then lubricated it lightly with WD40 and inserted and removed it numerous times until it became easier. Once that happened, I wiped away any excess oil , loaded film and took pics.
It has always been tight since, but at least not stuck. Camera has shown no issues in performance, takes great pics.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #9
David Hughes
David Hughes
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,516
Hi,

If it will help, the take-up spool is hollow and slips over a long, thin barrel shaped spring. It's a barrel designed to be thin or thinner with the spool on it.

It is mounted on a spindle that connects directly to the wind on knob and turns with it, obviously. But the barrel is not directly connected to the wind on knob although mounted on the spindle.

Inside the barrel shaped spring is another conventional coil spring around the spindle that pushes them up against the end of the wind on knob so that it will turn with it by friction and stop when enough (one frame) has been taken up and the sprockets stop turning but the rewind knob continues.

Because of the blind and the changing diameter of the film on the spool the wind on knob turns round the same amount each time; the blinds move the same amount but the take up spool can only turn enough for the single frame to go around or half way around it. In other words a slipping clutch.

The coiled spring pushing the spool etc against the wind on knob is what I think flicked the spool back for you. There's a cross section showing it all here:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/herita...ol-camerawiki/

but it's a little complicated without someone pointing to the various bits and pieces (and this is a very rough and ready explanation). FWIW, I worry because whatever caused the spool to jam may also have jammed the clutch in place: mostly the clutches work loose and the film spews off the spool and jams the camera and/or rips the film.

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #10
Dralowid
Michael
 
Dralowid's Avatar
 
Dralowid is offline
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,627
They do get very stiff with age, I'd go for the 'needle nosed' or 'rat nosed' pliers approach.Once it is out all will become obvious.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-2016   #11
Bill Clark
Registered User
 
Bill Clark's Avatar
 
Bill Clark is offline
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minnetonka, Minnesota
Age: 71
Posts: 2,558
I had a condition like yours.

Used a pliers to get the spool off.

Changed spools. Now it works just fine.

I haven't examined the culprit, the take up spool, but I plan to!
__________________
I make photographs as a return ticket to a moment otherwise gone.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-2016   #12
davidnewtonguitars
Family Snaps
 
davidnewtonguitars's Avatar
 
davidnewtonguitars is offline
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 1,416
I think Bill's suggestion is best, if you have the luxury of switching out spools until you find one that fits better.
Always having to pull the spool with pliers to load the camera is a pain, and I keep one in my kit just for this.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-2016   #13
Blavbec
Registered User
 
Blavbec's Avatar
 
Blavbec is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Paesi Bassi
Age: 54
Posts: 11
Thanks, David, for the explanation. Thank you all for the advices. Using pliers, though, makes me fear crushing the spool or pulling out part of the mechanism. Better ask a technician to have a look at it. Kind regards, Wim
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-2016   #14
David Hughes
David Hughes
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,516
Hi,

All part of the service.

I just hope I'm right about it all, meaning the detail. It's a long time since I had one in bits and they all (FED and Zorki too) start to blend into one after a while.

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-2016   #15
Huss
Registered User
 
Huss is offline
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 7,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blavbec View Post
Thanks, David, for the explanation. Thank you all for the advices. Using pliers, though, makes me fear crushing the spool or pulling out part of the mechanism. Better ask a technician to have a look at it. Kind regards, Wim
Ask the tech how he pulled out the spool.


Good luck and enjoy the camera when you get it back. These things are wonderful.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-28-2016   #16
Blavbec
Registered User
 
Blavbec's Avatar
 
Blavbec is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Paesi Bassi
Age: 54
Posts: 11
A little update: I went to a very experienced tech (thanks to Erik). The tech tried to pull it out with a pliers, but that didn'n't work. He had to remove the rewind knob, and carefully hammer the shaft/spindle out of the spool. It was badly corroded, as if it was glued to the spool. All is cleaned now, I can start taking pictures with it! Thanks for the advices!
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-28-2016   #17
David Hughes
David Hughes
 
David Hughes's Avatar
 
David Hughes is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,516
Thanks for the feedback, you've no idea how rare it is...

Enjoy the camera and let us know how you get on.

Regards, David
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:01.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.