Go Back   Rangefinderforum.com > Cameras / Gear / Photography > Classic Film RangeFinders & Other Classics > TLR Forum - Twin Lens Reflex

TLR Forum - Twin Lens Reflex another alternative to the dreaded SLR way of seeing, this forum for all format TLR cameras

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Strange protrusion jammed into PC sync terminal
Old 11-03-2015   #1
helvetica
Registered User
 
helvetica's Avatar
 
helvetica is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 239
Strange protrusion jammed into PC sync terminal

I purchased this Rolleiflex on the great 'bay quite some time ago, and have never been able to figure out what this thing is sticking out of the PC sync port. I assumed it was perhaps the end of a PC sync cable that had become rusted or otherwise stuck into the port, and when the previous owner tried to remove the cable, the end was left in the camera? Alternatively, it even looks like maybe the previous owner removed the PC sync port, put it in upside down, and somehow made that permanent?



I have tried to remove it multiple times now, including firm but not excessive pressure with pliers, hence the mangled appearance of whatever is sticking out of the camera.

Note that of the two circular components in the bottom right of this picture, the PC sync port is the lower left port, and the upper right circle is the base for the X/M sync switch.

Anyone want to wager a guess as to what it is and how to get it out?
Thanks!
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2015   #2
colyn
ישו משיח בנו של אלוהים
 
colyn's Avatar
 
colyn is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CowTown, Texas
Age: 66
Posts: 4,463
Can you push it down and turn it?
__________________
Colyn

The Lone Star State....

Leica M2 | M3 x 2 | IIIa x 2 | IIIc | IIIf black dial | Kodak Retina IIIc | Kodak Retina IIIC |


Flickr

My website

My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2015   #3
helvetica
Registered User
 
helvetica's Avatar
 
helvetica is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by colyn View Post
Can you push it down and turn it?
I can push that inner most brass colored rod down, yes, and the outer assembly with the "prongs" or "wings" turns, yes, but neither result in vertical movement of the apparatus. Do you think it's a kind of solenoid remnant?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2015   #4
kymar
Registered User
 
kymar's Avatar
 
kymar is offline
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 170
I'd say its the inner most part of the PC terminal which has somehow slipped outward (maybe jammed onto a PC plug). Can you push it back in? Does a plug then still fit on it?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-03-2015   #5
JP Owens
Registered User
 
JP Owens is offline
Join Date: Dec 2014
Age: 69
Posts: 358
Yeh. Looks like the some violent event led to the inner parts of the sync terminal being pulled almost out of the casing.
__________________
_______

"Nothing exists beyond the edges of the frame."
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2015   #6
helvetica
Registered User
 
helvetica's Avatar
 
helvetica is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 239
Sounds like this elevates the next round of questions to a new, different in scope thread.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2015   #7
Spavinaw
Registered User
 
Spavinaw is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Rocket City
Posts: 585
Looks to me exactly like an ASA sync connector. Simply get an ASA to PC adapter.
__________________
Are we having fun yet?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2015   #8
Doug
Moderator
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Doug is offline
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Posts: 13,018
Yes, this appears to be the older bayonet sync connector favored by some pros as more secure from accidental disconnect as one moves about the set.
__________________
Doug’s Gallery
RFF on Facebook
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2015   #9
MrFujicaman
Registered User
 
MrFujicaman is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 61
Posts: 698
Yup...it's a PC to ASA sync adapter. There are 2-3 ASA to PC adapters listed on Ebay right now along with a few ASA to PC sync cords.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2015   #10
colyn
ישו משיח בנו של אלוהים
 
colyn's Avatar
 
colyn is offline
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CowTown, Texas
Age: 66
Posts: 4,463
I just looked at one of my old Kodak cameras with the asa flash connector and the end is round but yours could be a different make but it does have the two ears. My asa to pc bayonets onto the same style of ears as yours has..

In order to use flash, you'll need a asa to pc adapter so you can plug a regular pc cord into it unless you can find the very hard to find asa cable..

Or you can get a tech to convert it to the standard pc sync.
__________________
Colyn

The Lone Star State....

Leica M2 | M3 x 2 | IIIa x 2 | IIIc | IIIf black dial | Kodak Retina IIIc | Kodak Retina IIIC |


Flickr

My website

My Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2015   #11
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac's Avatar
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 6,213
Too bad you've mangled it.

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2015   #12
helvetica
Registered User
 
helvetica's Avatar
 
helvetica is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by farlymac View Post
Too bad you've mangled it.

PF
Oh it was quite pre-mangled, but I certainly haven't helped that little guy out. Unfortunately it was not clear from the low-resolution pictures at the auction site, but there may not be a single surface on this camera that was not scratched, dented, pitted, chipped, or otherwise pre-abused.

That is fine by me, as I also have a Nikon F2 that I am hesitant to use as it looks as if it just came off of the dealership shelves. Justifiable if you have a collection of them with "users" to use and "shelf queens" to look at, but not incredibly useful if you only have one!
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2015   #13
photomoof
Fischli & Weiss Sculpture
 
photomoof's Avatar
 
photomoof is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 786
You are obviously missing some parts (sync switch), this is what the camera should look like. Must have been converted?



The adapter should come out, but considering the condition of the camera, why worry?
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2015   #14
JP Owens
Registered User
 
JP Owens is offline
Join Date: Dec 2014
Age: 69
Posts: 358
Cameras are lousy collectibles. And Nikon F2's, in general, even in nice shape, aren't rare. Use that bad boy!
__________________
_______

"Nothing exists beyond the edges of the frame."
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2015   #15
helvetica
Registered User
 
helvetica's Avatar
 
helvetica is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by photomoof View Post
You are obviously missing some parts, this is what the camera should look like.

<img>

The adapter should come out, but considering the condition of the camera, why worry?
Exactly! Early on I accepted that the entire PC port was likely soldered, glued, rusted, or otherwise ruined with the unknown protrusion.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-07-2015   #16
farlymac
PF McFarland
 
farlymac's Avatar
 
farlymac is offline
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 6,213
You'd need to get the front panel off to remove that ASA connector, and then replace the whole port. Also a sync switch lever. It all depends on if you want to use a flash with it, or are going for a complete restoration. I don't take many flash photos, so it wouldn't bother me. Of course, a rough looking camera makes for a less likely target for thieves.

PF
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-07-2015   #17
MrFujicaman
Registered User
 
MrFujicaman is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 61
Posts: 698
Okay...have you tried unscrewing the adapter...some of them were threaded it seems.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-09-2015   #18
helvetica
Registered User
 
helvetica's Avatar
 
helvetica is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by farlymac View Post
You'd need to get the front panel off to remove that ASA connector, and then replace the whole port. Also a sync switch lever. It all depends on if you want to use a flash with it, or are going for a complete restoration. I don't take many flash photos, so it wouldn't bother me. Of course, a rough looking camera makes for a less likely target for thieves.

PF
That is what it ended up being - not a part jammed into a port, but the entire PC sync port was replaced with an ASA port. Case Closed! Thanks for all of the suggestions.

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-09-2015   #19
MrFujicaman
Registered User
 
MrFujicaman is offline
Join Date: Apr 2012
Age: 61
Posts: 698
Okay, that's a totally new one on me. I've NEVER seen that done to any camera before.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-09-2015   #20
Greyscale
Registered User
 
Greyscale's Avatar
 
Greyscale is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Dodge Iowa
Age: 59
Posts: 4,617
I think that this one has had a similar modification.

__________________
my flickr

My RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-09-2015   #21
Greyscale
Registered User
 
Greyscale's Avatar
 
Greyscale is offline
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Dodge Iowa
Age: 59
Posts: 4,617
I guess there, the PC sync has replaced the cable release socket.
__________________
my flickr

My RFF Gallery
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:23.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.