I've got a Nikon 9000ED on the way, a few questions...
Old 05-08-2017   #1
andrewnelles

I've got a Nikon 9000ED on the way, a few questions...

I've been using a Nikon 5000ED for about 10 years and have been very happy, but I've been shooting more 6x9 these days so I decided to finally pull the trigger on a used 9000ED, it should be here in a few days.

I scored one that luckily includes the FH-869GR rotating glass holder. This looks perfect for my medium format needs, but for 35mm can it handle regular 24x35 frames? The 35mm masks only appear to be for panoramic ratios. Is there any harm to using the pano masks and just cropping to the regular format?

Also, with my 5000ED I've stuck with the old Nikon software, keeping an ancient laptop solely for that purpose. It's kept me happy, but I was thinking maybe it's time to switch to VueScan so I can use my newer computer. Will the results be of equal quality? I tried VueScan once years ago but hated the interface...

Finally, I hear the 9000ED is less likely to over-emphasize grain as my 5000ED does. Has this been anyone's experience has used both models?

Thanks!

Old 05-08-2017   #2
Chris101
summicronia

Hi Andre,

I am sooo jealous! I too have been using a 5000ED for a while, and I love it. I have slacked off considerably with medium format because I use a microTek i800 for that, and ... well it's not as good as the Nikon scanner.

When I switched from Nikon's scanner software to Vuescan I hated it too. All the features seemed to be hidden, as if Hamrick wants you to stick with the defaults. Once you figure out a workflow though, it does a really good job.

I also know what you mean about the 5000 making grain super-evident. I mean, I like grian, so it's great and all, but c'mon! I found a work around by fine-tuning my scanning resolution. It turns out 4000dpi is not the ideal pitch to keep grain in it's place. I've come down to 3200ish, and everything looks better. It prints fine up to 20 inches.