IIIc with "wind-on clutch"?
Old 03-12-2017   #1
davidnewtonguitars
Family Snaps
 
davidnewtonguitars's Avatar
 
davidnewtonguitars is offline
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 468
IIIc with "wind-on clutch"?

I've noticed on my recently-overhauled-by-DAG IIIc that when I'm trying to get 25 exposures from a 24 roll, instead of ripping the sprocket holes or pulling the film loose from the spool, it is like the advance has a "clutch" that won't allow too much pull.

Is this a feature of the IIIc, or is my particular camera just special?
__________________
Leica M2 / Leica IIIc / Leica Ie
5cm M Elmar 2.8 / 5cm Elmar 3.5 / 5cm Summitar f2
http://davidnewtonguitars.squarespace.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-2017   #2
Rob-F
It's Only a Hobby
 
Rob-F's Avatar
 
Rob-F is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Show Me state
Posts: 4,974
I don't believe I've ever experienced this with any of my IIIcs. Next time I load a 24 exposure roll in one of them, I'll try to pay attention to this.
__________________
May the light be with you.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-2017   #3
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 40
Posts: 3,631
It could be that the winding knob hasn't been tightend enough on its spindle.
Normally the film is pulled from the canister by the sprockets that turn with the winding knob. The take-up spool itself is supposed to slip a bit , but the winding knob should not.
__________________
Rick - In Tabulas Argenteas Refero
Loaded with film: The Fridge

Latest Toys: Summarit 50mm f/1.5
Latest Activity: Battle for the 11th Bridge
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-13-2017   #4
davidnewtonguitars
Family Snaps
 
davidnewtonguitars's Avatar
 
davidnewtonguitars is offline
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 468
I do believe you are correct Rick, the set screw that holds the winding knob wasn't loose, but it turned at least a full turn before it firmed up.
Thanks!
__________________
Leica M2 / Leica IIIc / Leica Ie
5cm M Elmar 2.8 / 5cm Elmar 3.5 / 5cm Summitar f2
http://davidnewtonguitars.squarespace.com/
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-2017   #5
Mr_Flibble
Registered User
 
Mr_Flibble's Avatar
 
Mr_Flibble is offline
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Lowlands
Age: 40
Posts: 3,631
Cheers.

If you had left it like that at a certain point the winding knob would have screwed down far enough on the spindle to jam it....don't ask me how I know
__________________
Rick - In Tabulas Argenteas Refero
Loaded with film: The Fridge

Latest Toys: Summarit 50mm f/1.5
Latest Activity: Battle for the 11th Bridge
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-2017   #6
davidnewtonguitars
Family Snaps
 
davidnewtonguitars's Avatar
 
davidnewtonguitars is offline
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 468
I thought of that, and turned it back a little, it was already tightening down.

I watched Nobby Sparrow, and he mentioned it was very important not to remove the screw, to unscrew it just enough to loosen the top knob.
I wonder why?
__________________
Leica M2 / Leica IIIc / Leica Ie
5cm M Elmar 2.8 / 5cm Elmar 3.5 / 5cm Summitar f2
http://davidnewtonguitars.squarespace.com/
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 16:15.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All content on this site is Copyright Protected and owned by its respective owner. You may link to content on this site but you may not reproduce any of it in whole or part without written consent from its owner.